The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legit or Self-Pass? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3429-legit-self-pass.html)

Jay Thu Dec 13, 2001 12:54pm

I am doing a game where player A1 dribbles for a lay-up on the left side of the basket. Player A1 then throws up what appeared to be a shot attempt but the ball sails clear over the rim touching nothing. Player A1 meets the ball on the right side of the rim, catches it with both his feet still on the floor, takes another dribble, then lays the ball in succesfully. Is this a travel and can anyone possibly explain why it is or not? Thanks.

BigDave Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:03pm

This is not a travel. It is a rebound and a made basket.<p>If A1's first shot is deemed a shot by you, then he can get the rebound and dribble, shoot or pass just like normal. If the "shot" is deemed a pass, then you have a violation.

ScottParks Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:03pm

Not a violation. If, in your judgement, this was a shot attempt, then there is no player control, and no team control.... can't then have a traveling or double dribble violation.

daves Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:04pm

No call. It is considered a rebound of a try. See 4.43 situation B in the casebook.

Larks Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:06pm

My thoughts
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jay
I am doing a game where player A1 dribbles for a lay-up on the left side of the basket. Player A1 then throws up what appeared to be a shot attempt but the ball sails clear over the rim touching nothing. Player A1 meets the ball on the right side of the rim, catches it with both his feet still on the floor, takes another dribble, then lays the ball in succesfully. Is this a travel and can anyone possibly explain why it is or not? Thanks.
I'm going to say this is NOT traveling or double dribble.

NFHS rule 4-12-6 sez: "Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, throw-in, jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal." . I think you need to have "player control" of the ball in order to call a travel or double dribble. Since this was in your judgement a legit "TRY" , I say play on, basket counts.

At least IMRHO (In my Rookie Humble Opinion).

Ok, now its time for the old guys to comment!

Larks


ScottParks Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:06pm

Talk about quick answers at the same time!

devdog69 Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:08pm

As long as he takes a legit shot it is perfectly legal.
Case book 4.43 Situation B:A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Ruling: Legal. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12;4-40)

Larks Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by parkssa
Talk about quick answers at the same time!
We were on this one like white on rice on a paper plate in a snow storm.

Jay Thu Dec 13, 2001 01:11pm

Whew, thanks guys! Guess the reaming I got from the opposing coach was for nothing.

Mark Dexter Thu Dec 13, 2001 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Larks
Quote:

Originally posted by parkssa
Talk about quick answers at the same time!
We were on this one like white on rice on a paper plate in a snow storm.

You'll find this to be one of the most common questions that comes up - that's why the members are able to jump on it so quickly.

Mark Padgett Thu Dec 13, 2001 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay
Whew, thanks guys! Guess the reaming I got from the opposing coach was for nothing.
I hope you at least got the "pleasure" of a T out of it.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 13, 2001 06:38pm

Jay,

Scroll down the Basketball page and take my Traveling Quiz. It'll help you better understand some of the myths of traveling.

Tony


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1