The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block Charge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/33291-block-charge.html)

TRef21 Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:25pm

Block Charge
 
It just happened the scenario we talked about. Double foul and AP

BktBallRef Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:33pm

And going to the AP was wrong.

The UCLA player was still holding the ball after the contact.

It should have been UCLA's ball, POI

All_Heart Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:35pm

Are you sure that they went to the AP Arrow? It should have been POI which would have been Florida's ball. I will rewind and see who started the 2nd half with the ball.

Mark Dexter Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:36pm

The shot clock was reset to 35 when Florida got the inbound. Maybe they thought the shot was off when the contact occurred.

All_Heart Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
And going to the AP was wrong.

The UCLA player was still holding the ball after the contact.

It should have been UCLA's ball, POI

It was the Florida player on offense.

All_Heart Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:43pm

According to this Play-By-Play UCLA started the second half with the AP arrow. So it looks like they went to the arrow b/c after this play the arrow is pointing to UCLA. Good catch Mark! The shot clock should not have been reset.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:48pm

You are correct, Florida was on offense.

But they did go to the AP arrow.

Before the play, Florida had the AP.

After the play, Florida got the ball, UCLA had the arrow and the shot clock was reset to 35.

Scrapper1 Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
So it looks like they went to the arrow b/c after this play the arrow is pointing to UCLA. The shot clock should not have been reset.

The issue is not so much the shot clock as the POI. They never should've gone to the arrow in the first place, because there was still team control. The correct POI was a throw-in to the team in control (and no reset); not the arrow.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
According to this Play-By-Play UCLA started the second half with the AP arrow. So it looks like they went to the arrow b/c after this play the arrow is pointing to UCLA. Good catch Mark! The shot clock should not have been reset.

The clock should not have been reset and the AP should not have changed. It should have been Florida's ball for a throw-in based on team control, POI.

All_Heart Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The issue is not so much the shot clock as the POI. They never should've gone to the arrow in the first place, because there was still team control. The correct POI was a throw-in to the team in control (and no reset); not the arrow.

I know that is what I said in post #3. I was just pointing out that the arrow had been changed so it is clear that they went with the AP, which is incorrect. ;)

All_Heart Sat Mar 31, 2007 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
The clock should not have been reset and the AP should not have changed. It should have been Florida's ball for a throw-in based on team control, POI.

:eek: Did I type something incorrectly? This is what I'm saying! :confused:

TRef21 Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
:eek: Did I type something incorrectly? This is what I'm saying! :confused:

Does anyone have there NCAA 2006 rule book? I know that exact play is in there. Can give a reference in the 2007 book with that rule. I have heard different things. Some say AP others say POI.

Mark Dexter Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
Does anyone have there NCAA 2006 rule book? I know that exact play is in there. Can give a reference in the 2007 book with that rule. I have heard different things. Some say AP others say POI.

Rule 4
Section 51. Point of Interruption
Art. 1. Point of interruption is a procedure used to resume play because of:
d. A double personal or simultaneous personal foul, as in Rules 4-26.10
and 4-26.16.

All_Heart Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:11pm

PG 177 Section 24. Summary - Administration of Double Fouls

Double Personal Foul - Resumption of Play: Point of Interruption

Mountaineer Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:27pm

Ahhh, but wasn't it just so refreshing to hear Billy Packer stammer over the fact that they did that because each official stuck to his guns and felt he had the right call?? He's such a moron!

Adam Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
Does anyone have there NCAA 2006 rule book? I know that exact play is in there. Can give a reference in the 2007 book with that rule. I have heard different things. Some say AP others say POI.

It's always POI. Sometimes, the POI is AP (when there's no team control).

WIRef Mon Apr 02, 2007 01:29pm

Just one question regarding this play that I have not seen any discussion on yet. Why did they opt to go with the double foul, instead of deciding which call to go with? I do not have a lot of experience in 3-man, but I have learned that there are more distinct coverage areas than in 2-man. From what I can remember of the play, I think the "C" should have had the call, as the play came from his area, and the "L" was on opposite side baseline. I do not think much of Billy Packer's explanation. Is is possible that the officials decided that in fairness to both teams they would go double foul? That seems to be a bail out for the officials. Any thoughts on this?

BBall_Junkie Mon Apr 02, 2007 01:39pm

because, by rule, if both officials signal conflicting fouls, a double foul is issued to both player and the ball is put back in play at the poi.

Mountaineer Mon Apr 02, 2007 01:53pm

By rule they have to go with the double foul. Not sure what the reference is, but someone will come back with it.

It's really the only fair way of doing it since both officials obviously saw something different.

WIRef Mon Apr 02, 2007 02:08pm

OK. I see the reasoning (ruling) behind the decision they made. Let me take it one question further. I know it is in the heat of a big game, but should have one official given way to the other before making a signal? My first reaction when they came back from commercial, to hear that neither official wanted to give up his call (as Billy Packer would say), was that it should be interesting in the locker room after the game. Would you use this ruling in the course of a regular high school season, or would you decide among officials which call to go with? Just trying to understand if/when I get in this situation. Thanks for the great information.

Jurassic Referee Mon Apr 02, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WIRef
Would you use this ruling in the course of a regular high school season, or would you decide among officials which call to go with?

Read NFHS case book play 4.19.8SitC. It tells you what to do.

Adam Mon Apr 02, 2007 02:44pm

Ideally, you withhold your preliminary signals and make sure there are no other whistles before signalling. Once you've both signaled, though, you have to go with both calls by rule.
Some refs will still get together and decide on one foul, but the casebook says you're supposed to go with both.

JoeTheRef Mon Apr 02, 2007 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Ideally, you withhold your preliminary signals and make sure there are no other whistles before signalling. Once you've both signaled, though, you have to go with both calls by rule.
Some refs will still get together and decide on one foul, but the casebook says you're supposed to go with both.


Well put. Definitely want to emphasize this sitch in your pregame. My rule of thumb is, the primary takes the call, ALWAYS, unless he gives it up to you. If he blew the call, he lives with it.

tmp44 Mon Apr 02, 2007 04:02pm

It's situations like this that NCAA-M officials "mechanics" drive me nuts sometimes. At times, they are so inclined to sell their call, that there is no fist in the air before anything else.

That being said, there's a reason these guys are in Atlanta this weekend and I'm here sitting on my couch....

refguy Mon Apr 02, 2007 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Ideally, you withhold your preliminary signals and make sure there are no other whistles before signalling. Once you've both signaled, though, you have to go with both calls by rule.
Some refs will still get together and decide on one foul, but the casebook says you're supposed to go with both.

See the UNC Tennessee game last night. At least 3 or 4 double whistles on these types of plays and no "blarges." Great job by the crew. And the lead gave it up to the center every time.

wildcatter Mon Apr 02, 2007 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refguy
See the UNC Tennessee game last night. At least 3 or 4 double whistles on these types of plays and no "blarges." Great job by the crew. And the lead gave it up to the center every time.

I thought they did a tremendous job too - just for clarification, in NCAA-W the rule is different I believe - you don't have to have a blarge, you can come in and discuss it...

Adam Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refguy
See the UNC Tennessee game last night. At least 3 or 4 double whistles on these types of plays and no "blarges." Great job by the crew. And the lead gave it up to the center every time.

I didn't see the game, but as wildcatter states, NCAAW does this different than the men and the FED. Did they give preliminary signals the conflicted? They are supposed to get together and make a decision, giving the foul to one player. I guarantee you NCAAM officials in this level of game will go with the double foul; and they'll be just as right as the women's officials who are going with one foul.
Look at it this way, it's a lot more incentive in the men's game and in the fed to withhold your preliminary signals and avoid the scenario altogether.

BktBallRef Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WIRef
OK. I see the reasoning (ruling) behind the decision they made. Let me take it one question further. I know it is in the heat of a big game, but should have one official given way to the other before making a signal?

That's great when they both go up with a fist but that's not what happened. The L immediately signalled block and the C immediatelu signalled PC.

No choice. Double foul.

WIRef Wed Apr 04, 2007 01:16pm

So I ask this question again. Who's call should this have been? I understand that in the heat of a big game that a double whistle could happen, and I don't have a problem with that. Ideally, one of the officials should have dropped their call before making a signal. That being said, they applied the correct procedure (other than the POI) by book rule, and that is why they are some of the best officials in the country. That fact that they did miss the POI goes to show that they very rarely have conflicting signals, and thus rarely have to apply the rule.

All_Heart Wed Apr 04, 2007 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WIRef
So I ask this question again. Who's call should this have been? I understand that in the heat of a big game that a double whistle could happen, and I don't have a problem with that. Ideally, one of the officials should have dropped their call before making a signal. That being said, they applied the correct procedure (other than the POI) by book rule, and that is why they are some of the best officials in the country. That fact that they did miss the POI goes to show that they very rarely have conflicting signals, and thus rarely have to apply the rule.

This is 100% C's call. The lead official called across the paint. If lead has a whistle he needs to hold his fist in the air!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1