The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tricky Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/33080-tricky-error.html)

Nevadaref Mon Mar 26, 2007 08:30pm

Your monkey should write the NFHS rules book. It appears that he could do a better job in certain areas than the current people have done.

This play should have a similar case book ruling to 10.1.8

Zoochy Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmaellis
If it was the same situation being discussed in this thread, why were the officials not happy with the scorekeeper?

Scorers table told official that team A has commited 10 fouls. Double bonus. B1 shoots and misses the 1st free throw. Only A1 attempts and secures the rebound. Table blows the horn. Referees approach the table. Scorer informs them that it is only the 9th foul. Thus a 1 and 1. What do you do? Go with the AP. Arrow points to Team B.
Now do you see why the officials were not too happy with the scorekeeper?

TRef21 Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
Scorers table told official that team A has commited 10 fouls. Double bonus. B1 shoots and misses the 1st free throw. Only A1 attempts and secures the rebound. Table blows the horn. Referees approach the table. Scorer informs them that it is only the 9th foul. Thus a 1 and 1. What do you do? Go with the AP. Arrow points to Team B.
Now do you see why the officials were not too happy with the scorekeeper?

They used the arrow. I would be pissed to

Adam Tue Mar 27, 2007 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
They used the arrow. I would be pissed to

????<iiiiiii>

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 27, 2007 02:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TRef21
They used the arrow. I would be pissed to

Why? The rules say that you should. Case book play 8.6.1 is the exact same play.

CoachP Tue Mar 27, 2007 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Why? The rules say that you should. Case book play 8.6.1 is the exact same play.

I think maybe he was pissed at the "OUTCOME" of the rule.

I'd be pissed, too, not because of the rule or at the officials, but because I had a 4-2 player rebounding advantage lost to an official scorers mistake and an AP arrow. But that's the rule.....

Basically, I'm mad if:
A) My book is official and she screwed it, or
B) She is not official and didn't say anything to question it

Wellll.....not "angry" mad, that's not me......


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1