![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
goal tending. As of tonight they are awarded by convention when a fan runs out of the stands and tackles a player on a clear breakaway! ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
If you're gonna do nothing then do nothing.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Under FIBA rules (feel free to heckle now
![]() The reasoning is that the offensive team has been inadvertently punished by the stoppage, as they may have had the defense on the "back foot", so they shouldn't be punished further by allowing the defense to reset itself, and by playing with less time on the shot clock. Personally I think it makes a lot of sense.
__________________
Duane Galle P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee |
|
|||
Quote:
deflates during play??? Man, you guys are good! Anyway, I don't like it. Potentially gives the offense an entire new shot clock period they did not earn. Disadvantage to the defense.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
sit on the committee! But you have my permission to use this new rule whenever "crazy Joe" decides he's gotta be a part of the game. If they don't like it T 'em all up! ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
1. The defense has spent the last 21 seconds playing great "d" and it looks like it is unlikely that the offense would have got a "decent" shot off. Resetting the shot clock clearly disadvantages the defense. on the other hand: 2. The offense has just successfully broken the defensive pressure, and the stopage of play has allowed the defense to regroup and probably hold out for the next 3 seconds. Here the offense is obviously disadvantaged. There is no easy answer, and it would be a nightmare to call on a case-by-case basis, therefor FIBA has ruled that in ALL cases, the shot clock gets reset. This goes with the general principle that the offense has the benefit of the doubt in most cases. I would like to know how everyone else would handle such a situation, as by the sounds of things, the NFHS/NCAA rules don't cover this.
__________________
Duane Galle P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee |
|
|||
Quote:
But, if we did have a shot clock I would have to agree with Oz...Reset the shot clock, Have the jerk that tackled the player removed from the gym, Give the Team that was offended the ball for a throw at the spot of the "foul", and play on. Dan P.S. I would almost bet that I'll have a ball deflate before I have someone come out of the stands and tackle a player going for a lay up. ![]() |
|
|||
[QUOTE]Originally posted by DanIvey
Quote:
and deflates the ball??!! ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Just a suggestion...
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
![]()
Maybe this was the same gym that the Coach carried the gun.
now we know why !!!) Too bad we can't have a penalty layup like hockey. Give em the ball at the Division line and with everybody watching, see if they could make the layup. I think you have to tell the coach, sorry but we'll give you the ball back and hopefully you'll make a 3 pointer. What if Johnny is going in for a layup and his litte 3 year old brother comes running on the court to greet him or rolls his ball in from of him. Are you going to penalize a 3 year old?. Then you have him crying and a Mom upset at you.
__________________
(DrC) |
|
|||
SAME PLAY WAS JUST ON ESPN.
This same play was just on ESPN last week. The only difference was that on a fast break the player ran over the ballboy who was out wiping up some water that was on the floor. Did anyone else see this highlight??? I just heard about it and didn't see it myself and have no idea what the Ref's decision was. If anyone else saw this please let us know what the outcome was. It happened in a D-1 mens game.
|
|
|||
Re: SAME PLAY WAS JUST ON ESPN.
Quote:
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|