The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timeout during free throw????? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32753-timeout-during-free-throw.html)

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 15, 2007 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it.

Consider a completley different situation, but one that is covered clearly by the rules and cases.

A1 is awarded 2 FTs. A time-out is then granted. After the time-out, the official is ready to administer the FT, but A1 is not in the semi-circle. The official correctly places the ball on the floor inside the semi-circle. At this point, two things are true:

1) The ball is at the disposal of A1
2) A1 cannot go get the ball without violating.

Seems to me your point is not supported by the rules. JMHO.
__________________________________________________ _________

Edit: Jeez, Dan_ref beat me by about 3 minutes. :(

jritchie Thu Mar 15, 2007 08:40am

From what I have read and heard arguments from, I'm going to have to go with, that this was a legal play by the officials. All because of the word OR in the rule! It's says in possession OR at the disposal, so I'm going to give the time out, but I do agree I would have to try and get a whistle before the timeout is asked for to get the ball back to the shooter and reset the free throw!

Nevadaref Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Consider a completley different situation, but one that is covered clearly by the rules and cases.

A1 is awarded 2 FTs. A time-out is then granted. After the time-out, the official is ready to administer the FT, but A1 is not in the semi-circle. The official correctly places the ball on the floor inside the semi-circle. At this point, two things are true:

1) The ball is at the disposal of A1
2) A1 cannot go get the ball without violating.

Seems to me your point is not supported by the rules. JMHO.
__________________________________________________ _________

Edit: Jeez, Dan_ref beat me by about 3 minutes. :(

Since RPP isn't in effect in this case, it doesn't matter. Whether the FT can enter the semi circle and get a ball put there WHEN HE WASN'T IN THERE isn't relevant to this situation. So we don't need to discuss RPP, which is a specific procedure with its own quirks. For example, when RPP is not in effect one would call an immediate technical foul on a player for not being in the semi circle. RPP changes the rules.
You should ask:
Can a FT who refuses to accept the ball from the administering official later pick it up without violating after the official places it on the floor at the FT line? The answer is yes, and that's a better parallel to what we have here.

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Whether the FT can enter the semi circle and get a ball put there WHEN HE WASN'T IN THERE isn't relevant to this situation.

Of course it's relevant. Here's what you said, quoted from page 1 of this thread:

Quote:

The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it.
Dan_ref and I just gave you an example that shows that statement to be absolutely false. Whether the resuming procedure is in effect or not, the player cannot go to get the ball and yet the ball is at his disposal.

Whatever other point you'd like to make, I'm willing to listen; but the play I described for you is exactly on point and shows your original statement to be false.

Dan_ref Thu Mar 15, 2007 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Since RPP isn't in effect in this case, it doesn't matter. Whether the FT can enter the semi circle and get a ball put there WHEN HE WASN'T IN THERE isn't relevant to this situation.

Well of course it's relevant, unless you want to retract this statement:

Quote:

The ball is no longer at his disposal because it is somewhere where he cannot go to get it. In other words it is not like a throw-in placed on the floor. In that case the ball is somewhere where a player from the team may legally get it. In this case the player clearly cannot go get the ball.
In both plays the FTer cannot legally get the ball.

Scrapper1 Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:03pm

This time I beat Dan_ref! :)

Adam Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:03pm

FCOL, just blow it dead and give the ball back to the shooter. If he still wants a TO, he'll ask again.

Dan_ref Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
This time I beat Dan_ref! :)

Damn. I knew I shouldn't have wasted time underlining that passage!

Nevadaref Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:23pm

I still don't agree that your RRP example is relevant or that it makes my earlier statement false.

Dan asked me, "By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?"

The logic of my response was that the ball is no longer at the disposal of the FT shooter because he had the ball, but now it is gone. That seems pretty simple.

In your RPP example, the FT shooter was never allowed to have the ball in first place, thus it is impossible to argue that the ball, while still live, will at sometime no longer be at his disposal.

It's just not the same.

Furthermore, neither you nor Dan has responded to my point that the RPP creates special circumstances during a game of basketball during which some of the normal rules are suspended. The example I gave dealt with technical fouls. Therefore, using a RPP situation to argue by analogy is not appropriate. What happens under RPP is quite different.

Adam Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:26pm

Okay, how 'bout this?

After A1 bounces the ball of his foot, it rolls straight to A2, who is able to pick it up and throw it back to A1. Legal?

What if B1 picks up the loose ball and holds it for 10 seconds?

Dan_ref Thu Mar 15, 2007 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I still don't agree that your RRP example is relevant or that it makes my earlier statement false.

Dan asked me, "By what rule is the ball no longer at the disposal in this sitch?"

The logic of my response was that the ball is no longer at the disposal of the FT shooter because he had the ball, but now it is gone. That seems pretty simple.

Seems so simple that if the rules maker wanted it to work that way they would have written it that way.

But of course they didn't, and now you're making it up as you go along.

In fact, in the associated case play they want us to blow the whistle to prevent a violation. How can we have a violation if the FT has not ended yet the ball is not at the disposal?

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 15, 2007 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
This time I beat Dan_ref! :)

So I've heard......

Dan_ref Thu Mar 15, 2007 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
So I've heard......

Got any pix?

Mark Padgett Thu Mar 15, 2007 03:05pm

Gee, nobody picked up on my attempt to trap guys into a discussion of "calling" timeout. :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1