The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical Foul?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3266-technical-foul.html)

Mark Dexter Sun Nov 25, 2001 04:29pm

I was going through NASO's 2001-2002 basketball quiz (http://www.referee.com/quiz/basketball.html) and was doing fine until I came to question #16.

Basically, A1 goes for a layup and, while the ball is on the rim, A2 and B2 both simultaneously brush the net.

I got everything right - double BI, don't count the basket, AP throw-in, except answer e which states A2 and B2 have a double technical foul. Can anyone tell me where that came from and if it is correct or not?

crew Sun Nov 25, 2001 09:33pm

mark, elaborate on brushing the net. do they grab the net and pull or do they incidently touch the net during an attempt for a rebound?

Mark Dexter Sun Nov 25, 2001 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by crew
mark, elaborate on brushing the net. do they grab the net and pull or do they incidently touch the net during an attempt for a rebound?
All it says is that they touch it - no pulling down and it's not during a FT.

crew Sun Nov 25, 2001 09:47pm

seems like if this happens in a game situation the officials would be to technical on this situation. brushing the net (from my exp.) occurrs often. i would hope that people really dont call this play.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 26, 2001 08:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
I was going through NASO's 2001-2002 basketball quiz (http://www.referee.com/quiz/basketball.html) and was doing fine until I came to question #16.

Basically, A1 goes for a layup and, while the ball is on the rim, A2 and B2 both simultaneously brush the net.

I got everything right - double BI, don't count the basket, AP throw-in, except answer e which states A2 and B2 have a double technical foul. Can anyone tell me where that came from and if it is correct or not?

The question doesn't say "brushed" the net, it says "snagged" the net.

So, it's a double BI (9-11, penalty 4) and a double T (for grasping the basket when there is no possibility of injury (10-3-5) -- you need to read that into the question).

Mark Dexter Mon Nov 26, 2001 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins


The question doesn't say "brushed" the net, it says "snagged" the net.

So, it's a double BI (9-11, penalty 4) and a double T (for grasping the basket when there is no possibility of injury (10-3-5) -- you need to read that into the question).

You get the technical even if it's incidental? I would think that would be a tough sell to the coaches - "He got a technical foul because his hand got caught in the net." Isn't the intent of the T to stop showboating?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1