The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 23, 2001, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Re: Speaking of lines...

Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Changing the subject slightly, here's something that I've never gotten quite clear. During a free throw, one of the players in a lane space puts an arm into the lane. Is that a violation? What if he/she lifts a foot and starts to step into the lane before the release, crosses the plane, but doesn't actually touch the lane until after the release? Here's the relevant rules (NCAA). Part (h) is new this year, and just confuses me more. Can someone interpret these for me?

Thanks!

Rule 9-1, Article 2
g . Players occupying any of the legal marked lane spaces on each side of the lane may break the vertical plane of a lane-space boundary once the free-thrower has released the ball. (See Rule 8-1.)
h . Players occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of space (2 x 36 inches) designated by a lane space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the lane until the ball is released by the free-thrower.
What's confusing? If the FOOT crosses the plane, it's a violation. So, in your first example (arm into the lane), it's not a violation. In the second example, it's a violation, even thought the foot doesn't touch the floor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1