The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2001, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to Dave Brost
Angry

Situation: Team A is suppose to shoot 2 free throws, but after the missed first free throw, the ball is allowed to remain in play. Team B rebounds, and proceeds to the other end. While still in Team B's possession, a held ball occurs. During the dead ball, before the alternating possession is administered, the officials recognize the missed free throw, and go to the dreaded correctable error situation. They go back and shoot the second free throw, and allow play to continue from that point. Right procedure? Does Case Book 2.10.1 Situation A apply here? Or has there been a change of possession because of the rebound of the first free throw?
__________________
Coach, Don't Shoot The Messenger!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2001, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 34
Thumbs up Correctable Error

Dave; Was that game held in the Midwest? I think that I was at that game in which you describe this situation. If I read this correct, as long as it was discovered before the alternating possesion procedure had been administrated then the officials did it correctly. If they would have gone ahead and done the PA and team control would have changed it would have been to late (?).
__________________
It's NOTHING until YOU call it!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2001, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
The officials were incorrect. The rebound is a change of possession. Give A1 his FT with no one along the lane. After the FT, go to the AP arrow, at the OOB spot nearest to the held ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 21, 2001, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
The officials were incorrect. The rebound is a change of possession. Give A1 his FT with no one along the lane. After the FT, go to the AP arrow, at the OOB spot nearest to the held ball.
Thats right. The rebound was a change of possession. The held ball does not have any bearing on the point here except that it is the first dead ball since the error occured. Because of the change of possession, 2-10-6 says we go back to the spot OOB nearest the point of interuption.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2001, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Question And just for confirmation....

If the A/P throw-in had been administered, the ball has become live after being dead (Resurrected? Oh never mind.) and the error is no longer correctable. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 27, 2001, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Re: And just for confirmation....

Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Ogg
If the A/P throw-in had been administered, the ball has become live after being dead (Resurrected? Oh never mind.) and the error is no longer correctable. Right?
Right.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1