The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3233-backcourt-violation-not.html)

Peter Devana Tue Nov 20, 2001 07:02pm

We have gone back to Ed on this one. Will let you know his response. It's interesting that John Kirk, Co-ordinator of officials for the Great Lakes intercollegiate Athletic Conference ( GLIAC), also agrees with Ed on this one!
Pistol

mick Tue Nov 20, 2001 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Peter Devana
We have gone back to Ed on this one. Will let you know his response. It's interesting that John Kirk, Co-ordinator of officials for the Great Lakes intercollegiate Athletic Conference ( GLIAC), also agrees with Ed on this one!
Pistol


John Kirk is not an official.
He assigns officials.
mick

BktBallRef Tue Nov 20, 2001 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick

John Kirk is not an official.
He assigns officials.
mick

Does that mean he probably doesn't know what he's talking about? :D

IndianaUmpRef Mon Nov 26, 2001 12:55pm

Is frontcourt status obtained by the ball touching the frontcourt?

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 26, 2001 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IndianaUmpRef
Is frontcourt status obtained by the ball touching the frontcourt?
Yes - although this is not the only way. It can touch a player, the ring, the backboard or an official. I guess the net would qualify also.

ChuckElias Mon Nov 26, 2001 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by IndianaUmpRef
Is frontcourt status obtained by the ball touching the frontcourt?
Yes - although this is not the only way. It can touch a player, the ring, the backboard or an official.

Frontcourt status is not always established when the ball touches the frontcourt. Remember that a dribbler, moving from backcourt to frontcourt, must have all 3 points in the frontcourt for the ball to have frontcourt status. This is the only example I can think of in which the ball itself is in the frontcourt, but still has backcourt status.

Chuck

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 26, 2001 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by IndianaUmpRef
Is frontcourt status obtained by the ball touching the frontcourt?
Yes - although this is not the only way. It can touch a player, the ring, the backboard or an official.

Frontcourt status is not always established when the ball touches the frontcourt. Remember that a dribbler, moving from backcourt to frontcourt, must have all 3 points in the frontcourt for the ball to have frontcourt status. This is the only example I can think of in which the ball itself is in the frontcourt, but still has backcourt status.

Chuck

Yeah, Chuck. You're right. I forgot about that one. NF rule 4-4-6.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1