![]() |
|
|||
I have a couple of questions on player control, mainly related to the mechanics - I spent over an hour looking around in the rulebook (NFHS) and had difficulty finding anything relative to what I was looking for.
1) There are no shots on PC, including when the team is in the bonus. Is this correct? (We're talking about B being in the bonus, and A having the PC) 2) PC Counts as a common foul would, as one of the 5 personal fouls, and one of the team fouls in the half. Correct? 3) Reporting to the scoretable - is a PC foul reported as PC, or as a charge (or other appropriate signal)? (Seems like a stupid question - I can't remember seeing anyone go to the table and report a foul with the hand behind the head... then again, it is called rarely in my area!) Not that the signal matters to the scorekeepers... I'm just trying to get it right. Thanks for any help you can provide to a newer ref! Dave
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
Quote:
PC fouls do count towards 5 personals and the team tally. The "hand behind the head" is not used while reporting. Hope this helps! |
|
|||
Whenever I have seen it as a timer/scorer or reported it myself, the official will use the PC hand behind the head when reporting the foul so the table and benches know there will be no free throws.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Signalling the foul while reporting
This seems to vary state to state. When I refereed in Washington State, we always indicated the signal for the foul when reporting the foul to the table.
When I moved to Oklahoma, that's one of the first things they told me I didn't need to do. My preference would be to always include the foul signal when reporting, especially on a call like a PC. Reduces any confusion.
__________________
Brian Johnson |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Did I miss something?
If the only time you use the hand behind the head is at the preliinary report you will have mass confusion. You have to tell the scoretable that it is PC. That way you know and they know that you are not shooting shots. If you go to table and signal push etc, then anybody who knows the NF (not NBA) rule will be asking for shots. If I remember right most of the NCAA refs do it the same way... |
|
|||
This is for all of those officials who live in areas where they have been told not to signal the type of foul when reporting the foul. SIGNAL the type of foul, the NFHS and CAA manuals require it. It makes me sick that there are assigners out there that do not want their officials following correct procedures. Please do not tell when in Rome do as the Romans, this has nothing to do with that. DO IT CORRECTLY.
The protocol for reporting a foul a the table (both NFHS and NCAA) after coming to a stop in the reporting area in order is (I think I just conjugated the verb to be correctly just now): 1) Verbally state the color of the team committing the foul. 2) Using only one hand visually show the number of the player committing the foul while verbally announcing the number. Verbally state fourteen, not one, four. Make distinct separate hand signals. Do not flip your hand around for double numbers and pump your hand back and forth toward the table. 3) Signal the type of foul. 4) Signal the number of fouls or the direction and the spot of the throw-in. 5) Replace any and all disqualified and injured players. 6) Bring in any substitutes. 7) Grant a time-out. 8) Take your appropriate spot on the floor and get the ball back into play. It should be noted that at one time when reporting a player control foul the official had to make two foul signals: 1) the type of foul (charging, holding, pushing, etc.) and then 2) the player control signal.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Do we get to pick the team if neither one volunteers? [Edited by Camron Rust on Nov 20th, 2001 at 12:10 PM] |
|
|||
Item (4): Meant number of free throws to be shot if any.
Item (7): This is the time to grant a time-out if one is reqested.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
I've always been taught to cup your hand behind your head when reporting the foul to signal player control. There is a big difference between a player control and a charge, so you have to signal it. I've worked games in 2 different states and both require the signal.
__________________
JD |
|
|||
If you only give the PC at the preliminary, it will be missed by the table many a time - ten tall basketball players in the paint, lead makes a call opposite the table, we don't have a clue what it is (except, maybe, by the fan reaction).
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
My 2 cents
Under FIBA a player control foul is signalled with one extended arm parallel to the ground, with the hand making a fist, point towards the offending team's offensive basket.
__________________
Duane Galle P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Around here, after giving the PC signal, we indicate that the ball will be going "the other way"; that is, we point toward the offending team's defensive basket. (Or toward the offended team's offensive basket. ![]() Chuck |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|