The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball hits the coach (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3221-ball-hits-coach.html)

PP Thu Nov 15, 2001 06:41pm

Hi gang,

This situation happened in my game (senior girls HS). Team A scores. They are very happy and so is the coach. He jumps out of his chair in excitement but his momemtum carries him to the side of the court. He is half out of bound and the half on the court. Team B, being very alert, takes the ball out of bounds, after the hoop, and player B1 passes to B2 who is located by now in her frontcourt. The pass hits the coach. Oh! oh! My partner blows his whistle and tells the coach that since he was on the court, which he is not suppose to be, a technical foul is assess. Did my partner make the right call ?

Just Curious Thu Nov 15, 2001 07:34pm

Hmmmm Which Rule to use....
 
I'd had given him a T.... But for which infraction....
1. Too many coaches on the court would be good
2. Or maybe the "But my inbounds foot was in the air so I was really OOB" would negate #1.
3. How about delay of game?
:)

Tim Roden Thu Nov 15, 2001 08:23pm

If you have a coaches box, you can nail him for being out of the box. It doesn't extend onto the floor. If you are in a seatbelt state. This would be very tricky. After all a coach may rise to acknowledge a good play. But he cannot go onto the floor during a live ball. So by the book, you are correct. In this situation you have to call a T because the coach is not part of the court as an official is and he definitely interfered with play. So the call is a good one.

Oz Referee Thu Nov 15, 2001 10:43pm

The spirit of the rules....
 
I think we all need to remember the spirit and intent of the rules.

If B2 regains control, then play on (no advantage/disadvantage). If not, then blow the whistle and give the ball to B out of bounds.

Since it was an "honest" mistake made by the coach, then why penalise them with a Techincal foul?

BktBallRef Thu Nov 15, 2001 10:51pm

You gotta be kidding!
 
The spirit of the rules don't <B>ever</B> allow the coach to come onto the court during a live ball. This is not an advantage/disadvantage situation. The coach has a respponsibility to conduct himself as an adult, which includes being responsible for his mistakes. The coach gets a T and he never, ever does this again.

Art N Thu Nov 15, 2001 11:01pm

I agree with the T. The spirit of the game does not allow the coach to cause the other team to avoid him while bringing the ball up the floor... Let's buy them all seatbelts for Christmas.

Mark Dexter Thu Nov 15, 2001 11:04pm

Re: The spirit of the rules....
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
I think we all need to remember the spirit and intent of the rules.

If B2 regains control, then play on (no advantage/disadvantage). If not, then blow the whistle and give the ball to B out of bounds.

Since it was an "honest" mistake made by the coach, then why penalise them with a Techincal foul?

You say to give B the ball OOB if B2 doesn't "recover." That would actually put B at a disadvantage - where originally team B had a fast break, team A now has a chance to set up on defense. Final answer - the "T" needs to be called.

Oz Referee Fri Nov 16, 2001 02:06am

I'm sorry, but I disagree with giving a T. The coach was obviously showing elation at scoring, he wasn't showing disrespect to the officials by entering the court.

Oz Referee Fri Nov 16, 2001 02:07am

Woo Hoo! I'm a senior member now!

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 16, 2001 05:10am

Oz Referee,you said you should play on if B2 recovers the ball.That's completely against the rules.When the pass by B1 strikes the A coach who is OOB,the ball is now OOB by Fed rules(7-1-2b).If you don't T up the A coach,you have to give the ball to A for a throw-in,because B1 threw the ball OOB.Try selling that one(good luck).The only possible call you got in this sitch is a T on the A coach.If not,then you are penalising Team B for the A coach's "honest mistake".

RecRef Fri Nov 16, 2001 08:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by PP
Hi gang,

He is half out of bound and the half on the court. Team B, being very alert, takes the ball out of bounds, after the hoop, and player B1 passes to B2 who is located by now in her frontcourt. The pass hits the coach. call ?

First, I too would T the coach for being on the court. Mistake or not T him. Besides being a longstanding rule the coach is now the 6th defender on the floor. He is cutting off the sideline.

Notice something else in the original post. Coach A is standing half on and half off the court. So, if he is not Td, the ball is OOB on B. Ball to A. Talk about a disadvantage.

Art N Fri Nov 16, 2001 09:02am

Oz, I know trying to look at this "logically", but it basketball..lol
The spirit of the law is used in soccer officiating. Basketball is officiated a little differently. (i.e. whistles need to quicker in hoops, in soccer you delay more to watch the advantage)
Where do you draw the line on the coach showing his "elation"? Stopping the fast break? When his arm (while cheering...) hits or knocksout, a player going down the floor. If the player has to even "flinch" or stop dead in there in his tracks, the coach has interfered. That goes for all the bench personal.
T'm up, sit 'em down...Rawhide
(sorry got carried away)

Mark Padgett Fri Nov 16, 2001 03:56pm

You call the T based on the rule which states, "Howler monkeys are not allowed on the court at any time."

Oz Referee Sun Nov 18, 2001 04:15pm

OK, I missed the bit about the coach being half OOB, so I agree there is no way you can let Team B recover and continue with the ball.

As far as the T.... I can see everyone's arguement, but I think it would really depend on the situation, the way the coach has behaved so far in the game, and other factors as to whether or not I would call a T.

Art N I certainly disagree about your comment that in Basketball we do not use the "spirit" of the rules as opposed to soccer (real football!). I think the spirit of the rules is just as important in basketball as when officiating any other sport.

Mark Dexter Sun Nov 18, 2001 05:19pm

I think this is a clear case for a T.

Whether intentional or not, the coach clearly interfered with the play. To simply call the ball OOB would negate B's pseudo-fast break situation, giving A time to set up defensively, and A would gain the advantage.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1