The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Over-and-Back"....or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/32180-over-back-not.html)

imaref Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:47pm

"Over-and-Back"....or Not?
 
Here you go rule buffs..... :confused:

Situation: Dribbler A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to teammate A2 who has jumped in the air from his team's frontcourt to catch the pass. A2 catches the pass while he is in the air and lands in his backcourt. Is this an "over-and-back" violation by A2? If not.....would you explain why it isn't, and/or cite the rule application for the 50% who don't know. :o

Rich Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
Here you go rule buffs..... :confused:

Situation: Dribbler A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to teammate A2 who has jumped in the air from his team's frontcourt to catch the pass. A2 catches the pass while he is in the air and lands in his backcourt. Is this an "over-and-back" violation by A2? If not.....would you explain why it isn't, and/or cite the rule application for the 50% who don't know. :o

Violation. Ball attains frontcourt status when caught in the air because A2 has frontcourt status until he touches in the backcourt.

You are where you are until you get where you're going.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
Here you go rule buffs..... :confused:

Situation: Dribbler A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to teammate A2 who has jumped in the air from his team's frontcourt to catch the pass. A2 catches the pass while he is in the air and lands in his backcourt. Is this an "over-and-back" violation by A2? If not.....would you explain why it isn't, and/or cite the rule application for the 50% who don't know. :o

The fact that A2 is airborne is really of no consequence. What is it important is that he has FC status. It's no different than if A2 caught the ball while standing in the FC and then stepped with one foot into the BC.

GarthB Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
Here you go rule buffs..... :confused:

Situation: Dribbler A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to teammate A2 who has jumped in the air from his team's frontcourt to catch the pass. A2 catches the pass while he is in the air and lands in his backcourt. Is this an "over-and-back" violation by A2? If not.....would you explain why it isn't, and/or cite the rule application for the 50% who don't know. :o

Think of it as being similar to a player leaping out of bounds and slapping an airborne ball back inbounds before he touches the floor. He keeps his inbound status as long as he is airborne.

MJT Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
Think of it as being similar to a player leaping out of bounds and slapping an airborne ball back inbounds before he touches the floor. He keeps his inbound status as long as he is airborne.

That is a great way to describe his status to a coach!

cmathews Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:17am

saw it this weekend
 
Had this call exactly in a regional semi final game Friday night.....yep I nailed it :) LOL

WhistlesAndStripes Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmathews
Had this call exactly in a regional semi final game Friday night.....yep I nailed it :) LOL

We also had this play last night. I was C in front of home bench who committed the violation. My partner that was T on the opposite side of the floor made the call. Coach called a TO and questioned the call. I told him why. He understood it, even though he still didn't like it.

Zoochy Sun Feb 25, 2007 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
Here you go rule buffs..... :confused:

Situation: Dribbler A1 is in his backcourt and passes the ball to teammate A2 who has jumped in the air from his team's frontcourt to catch the pass. A2 catches the pass while he is in the air and lands in his backcourt. Is this an "over-and-back" violation by A2? If not.....would you explain why it isn't, and/or cite the rule application for the 50% who don't know. :o

The only BC exceptions are in Rule 9-9-3.
Throw-in, Jump Ball and Defensive play. All require that Team Control does not exist and the player jumps from front court and both feet are off the ground.

TimTaylor Sun Feb 25, 2007 09:24pm

Absolutely a violation. Easy way to remember it is "you are where you are until you get where you are going". Location of an airborne player is same as where he/she last touched the floor.

shave-tail Sun Feb 25, 2007 09:44pm

A2 leaping from front court secures the ball before it crosses the half court line. Still have back court?:eek:

Mark Padgett Sun Feb 25, 2007 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
A2 leaping from front court secures the ball before it crosses the half court line. Still have back court?:eek:

Yes - the ball is deemed to have achieved frontcourt status because it touched a player in the frontcourt (remember, A2 is considered in the frontcourt until he touches in the backcourt).

HawkeyeCubP Sun Feb 25, 2007 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
A2 leaping from front court secures the ball before it crosses the half court line. Still have back court?:eek:

Yes. A2 and the ball's position in the air relative to the half court line are of no consequence. Still a violation.

SamIAm Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shave-tail
A2 leaping from front court secures the ball before it crosses the half court line. Still have back court?:eek:

Most officials here know of the exceptions, I am making sure you do. Mark posted the correct call if the pass is not an inbound pass. Your sitch does not say where the pass came from. If an inbounding pass, it is allowed.

imaref Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
Most officials here know of the exceptions, I am making sure you do. Mark posted the correct call if the pass is not an inbound pass. Your sitch does not say where the pass came from. If an inbounding pass, it is allowed.

In my original posting.....I described the situation as A1 "dribbling" the ball in his backcourt when he passes the ball to A2 who catches the pass while in-the-air having left his frontcourt....then landing in his backcourt with the ball.

It appears that most of the responses are as I would rule it.....I mentioned to the person posing the question to me....after reading the many responses....if maybe he left something out of his description of what happened.....like maybe the pass from A1 to A2 got tipped or deflected by a member of Team B. (Then we have nothing....just A2 regaining control and a new 10-second count beginning while he's in backcourt.)

Oh well.....it appears we are all in agreement with the original situation being a violation. :rolleyes:

Scrapper1 Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
.like maybe the pass from A1 to A2 got tipped or deflected by a member of Team B. (Then we have nothing....just A2 regaining control and a new 10-second count beginning while he's in backcourt.)

Simply tipping or deflecting the ball by the defense does not end Team A's team control in the backcourt. Therefore, the 10-second count continues.

SamIAm Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
In my original posting.....I described the situation as A1 "dribbling" the ball in his backcourt when he passes the ball to A2 who catches the pass while in-the-air having left his frontcourt....then landing in his backcourt with the ball.

It appears that most of the responses are as I would rule it.....I mentioned to the person posing the question to me....after reading the many responses....if maybe he left something out of his description of what happened.....like maybe the pass from A1 to A2 got tipped or deflected by a member of Team B. (Then we have nothing....just A2 regaining control and a new 10-second count beginning while he's in backcourt.)

Oh well.....it appears we are all in agreement with the original situation being a violation. :rolleyes:

Correct (the last sentence), which is why I did not quote your OP. I qouted Mr. Tail's post hoping to signify my post applied to his post.

Read on for further correction.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
like maybe the pass from A1 to A2 got tipped or deflected by a member of Team B. (Then we have nothing....just A2 regaining control and a new 10-second count beginning while he's in backcourt.)

A tip doesn't matter (in this play). A still had team control. The ball still reached the FC. (when A2 touched the ball) A was still the last to touch (when A2 touched the ball). A was still the first to touch (when A2 landed).

Adam Mon Feb 26, 2007 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
In my original posting.....I described the situation as A1 "dribbling" the ball in his backcourt when he passes the ball to A2 who catches the pass while in-the-air having left his frontcourt....then landing in his backcourt with the ball.

It appears that most of the responses are as I would rule it.....I mentioned to the person posing the question to me....after reading the many responses....if maybe he left something out of his description of what happened.....like maybe the pass from A1 to A2 got tipped or deflected by a member of Team B. (Then we have nothing....just A2 regaining control and a new 10-second count beginning while he's in backcourt.)

Are you talking about the airborne catch and land? Still a violation even if the pass is tipped.

BktBallRef Mon Feb 26, 2007 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by imaref
....if maybe he left something out of his description of what happened.....like maybe the pass from A1 to A2 got tipped or deflected by a member of Team B. (Then we have nothing....just A2 regaining control and a new 10-second count beginning while he's in backcourt.) :rolleyes:

Wrong. This is still a BC violation. Without regard to what happens in the BC, when A2 catches the ball, he has FC status. When he lands in the BC, it's a violation.

Rich Mon Feb 26, 2007 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Wrong. This is still a BC violation. Without regard to what happens in the BC, when A2 catches the ball, he has FC status. When he lands in the BC, it's a violation.

imaref,

Think of it as: Last to touch in the frontcourt, first to touch in the backcourt. No different than if B slaps the ball out of A's hands off A's body into the backcourt. If A touches first, it's a violation.

imaref Mon Feb 26, 2007 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
A tip doesn't matter (in this play). A still had team control. The ball still reached the FC. (when A2 touched the ball) A was still the last to touch (when A2 touched the ball). A was still the first to touch (when A2 landed).

Ahhhh....."good pick-up!" Bob. My mistake.....you are absolutely correct. :o

Now I've got everyone totally confused....:confused: You can see how this sitch got things stirred up when officials get-together and go over "war stories".

It still appears that most of us are still of the opinion that a violation occurred. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1