The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2001, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally posted by Just Curious
Sitch B... A1 driving down the sideline loses his balance and control of the ball. The ball remains in-bounds as A1 takes 2 steps out-of-bounds. A1 recovers and re-enters the court. With one foot on the court and the other in the air, A1 recovers the ball.
You were right on Sitch A. I hate sitch B, though. The point is (as I understand it) that this is not an interrupted dribble (4.15.5 ball loose after deflecting off the dribbler ... or gets away from dribbler) and so there is no loss of player control. Since the player demonstrates player control by being first to touch the ball after returning inbounds, the ball is ruled OOB by that act. However, I can't support that interpretation by 4.35 and rule 7. There might be an explanation in the archives....

I see that Camron responded while I was looking up stuff. The issue becomes why did A1 leave the court. Camron also read this as an interrupted dribble while I did not.

I think we need a case book entry for this....

[Edited by Richard Ogg on Nov 12th, 2001 at 05:24 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1