![]() |
Buzzer OOPS
Varsity game Saturday. Very physical game. I call a pushing foul and partner becomes lead. As he is getting everthing ready, I check clock and see a 9 by team fouls and ask if this is 9th or 10th and told it is 9th. Partner gets ready to give ball to shooter and also looks at table askeing 1and 1 or 2. Table points at scoreboard so he tells lane its bonus and bounces ball to shooter.
Shooter gets ready to shoot and horn goes off - and immediately C's whistle goes off. Following whistle (about 1-2 seconds) shooter shoots and misses. Table informs that it really is the 10 team foul. Players line up and shooter is given ball for first of 2 throws. Coach goes nuts and I am trail. He thinks first missed shot should count. I explained to him that the horn did not stop play, but the C's whistle did when it sounded prior to the shooter making his try. Everything after the whistle was a moot point. He asked if the shooter had made the FT - would I have taken basket away and I replied yes, as long as the whistle sounded prior to the attempt. he was not happy as the shooter drained both attempts. What would you do? |
You were spot on. But I would also flog the table personnel.:D
|
Quote:
You did good; you nailed this play. MTD, Sr. |
You handled the situation correctly. When the whistle sounded, the ball became dead. A1's subsequent toss at the basket would not have counted. A delay of game warning could have been issued to the shooter for not returning the ball to the administering referee in a timely manner, but personally I would not do that. Coach B sounds as if he wants to whine.
And yes I would tell the table to get their head in the game. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02am. |