The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Odd foul situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31879-odd-foul-situation.html)

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 15, 2007 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
1) Another thing you could have told the coach which is supported <font color = red>by rule</font> is to ignore the 2nd foul unless intentional.

2) The play is dead on the first whistle shooting foul.

3) The 2nd foul occurred after the whistle and is deem a dead ball foul which is ignored unless intentional or flagrant.

4) I would always try to keep things simple.

1) Wrong, by rule. Rule 4-19-1Note and case book play 4.19.9SitA.

2) Wrong, by rule.Rule 6-7-7EXCEPTION(c) and Case book play 6.7SitC.

3) Wrong, by rule. The rule that you are trying to cite(wrongfully)- rule 4-19-1NOTE does <b>NOT</b> apply to a foul by or on an airborne shooter. Also see case play 4-19-9SitA.

4) Yup, keep things simple and completely wrong.You don't have a clue when it comes to the actual rules, Old School.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 16, 2007 06:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by howie719
I'm the lead on 2 whistle. A1 drives into lane and is fouled while shooting from behind on B1. B2 has established a legal guarding position in the general area A1 is headed. This is the tricky part. It was my contentsion that the contact by B1 diverted A1 into B2 path. I no called this contact and we went with 2 at the line. It was a pretty decent collision as well. As expected the defensive coach called time out to ask me about the contact. He didn't like my explanation, but understood what I was saying. Any thoughts on how else this could have been handled. I.E. go with the false double foul, multiple foul because B's teammate caused the collision, or false double foul.

This is all you need.

If you had the opposite contension, you should call both the illegal use and the player control. A1 getting hit on the arm doesn't relieve his/her requirement for not train crashing with a person who had LGP.

ronny mulkey Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
This is all you need.

If you had the opposite contension, you should call both the illegal use and the player control. A1 getting hit on the arm doesn't relieve his/her requirement for not train crashing with a person who had LGP.

I know this is a casebook play, but I have never seen it called this way. And, I have seen this play exactly as you described it many times. I guess most officials can't assume that the PC foul would have occurred without the previous contact???

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 16, 2007 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronny mulkey
I know this is a casebook play, but I have never seen it called this way. And, I have seen this play exactly as you described it many times. I guess most officials can't assume that the PC foul would have occurred without the previous contact???

I had it once. A1's arm is being raised to release the ball. B1's arm is being lowered. Smack across the arm. Meanwhile, already airborne A1 is moving forward towards B2 who had roots. Shooting foul on B1. Train wreck on A1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1