The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   fALLING OUT OF BOUNDS (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31810-falling-out-bounds.html)

jcarter Tue Feb 13, 2007 01:05pm

fALLING OUT OF BOUNDS
 
I know this was talked about several times but i did a search and can not find the threads.

I have been looking through the case book and can not find the case situation in regards to falling out of bounds and calling a time out.

anyone know what section it is in?

Thank you

JRutledge Tue Feb 13, 2007 01:10pm

Falling out of bounds in allowed at all levels. Being airborne and calling a timeout is not allowed in NCAA and the NBA. NF Rules has no such rule and maybe why you cannot find anything about this topic. All a player needs is control of the ball and the can call a timeout.

Peace

jcarter Tue Feb 13, 2007 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Falling out of bounds in allowed at all levels. Being airborne and calling a timeout is not allowed in NCAA and the NBA. NF Rules has no such rule and maybe why you cannot find anything about this topic. All a player needs is control of the ball and the can call a timeout.

Peace


You are correct, that is probably why I could not find it. I was working with a partner i had never worked with before the other night. He did not allow a time out asked for by a player as he was falling out of bounds. The coach got a little upset but is one of those rare quiet coaches.

During a time out I had asked my partner what his reasoning behind the call was. He said you cant call time out unless both feet were inbounds. I said that i had never heard of such a rule in NFHS rules.

Im not the type to fully believe someone spouting off rules unless they can back it up with a rule or case book number. So i thought i would ask here after not finding it.

Thanks for the information!

Nevadaref Tue Feb 13, 2007 02:58pm

How about this? :)

5.8.3 SITUATION D: A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1's throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1's disposal for a throw-in. RULING: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1