The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   My Partner Asked Me If I Was T Happy (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31760-my-partner-asked-me-if-i-t-happy.html)

Ignats75 Tue Feb 13, 2007 08:27pm

OK...Proving that I am not infallible:D :p , I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.

I humbly bow to you others who were right.:cool:

Rich Tue Feb 13, 2007 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
OK...Proving that I am not infallible:D :p , I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.

I humbly bow to you others who were right.:cool:

So your assignor is always right then?

Junker Tue Feb 13, 2007 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
So your assignor is always right then?

Can't be. It's my assignor that is always right, at least in my area. :D Actually I'm lucky to have an excellent assignor, but I just had to jump in on that one.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
OK...Proving that I am not infallible:D :p , I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.

I humbly bow to you others who were right.:cool:

Glad that you finally came around. :) It is okay that we disagree with each other from time to time. It is often the stimulus for how we learn and improve.

We do however reserve the right to blast you with strange pictures of squirrels and other assorted items for your transgression. :D

Old School Wed Feb 14, 2007 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Nope, the count does not get suspended, by rule, during loss of player control. As long as team control remains, the count continues. Feel free to ask a real official in your area; you know, the guys in stripes who have actually read the rule book.

Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble. If players are scrapping for the ball, I'm not going to blow my whistle 3 seconds in the lane and he or a member of the offense doesn't have control of the ball.

Ignats75 Wed Feb 14, 2007 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
So your assignor is always right then?

You better believe it!!!:cool: Isn't that right sir?:p

Actually I have differnt assignors for each conference that I work. This one specifically is also an official rules interpretor for the OHSAA.

Quote:

Originally posted by Old School
Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble.
:eek: :eek: :eek:

Exactly where did you learn THAT piece of information????

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 14, 2007 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
<font color = red>Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble. </font>

You already know what to do? Yeah, right.

NFHS rule 4-12-2 --<i>"A team is in control of the ball when a player of a team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates <b>and during an interrupted dribble</b>".</i>

NFHS rule 4-12-3- "Team control continues until:
(a) the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
(b) The opponents secure control.
(c)The ball becomes dead."

NFHS rule 4-12-4-- "While a ball remains live, a loose ball <b>always</b> remains in control of the <b>team</b> whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal".

If you actually owned a rule book, you would have known that. It's a basic.


-Edited to remove the same comment that Bob J. removed....

Old School Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
This might work with rec league coaches, but I can virtually guarantee if you try this with a high school or college coach, you have at least an 82.5783468018% chance of moving to a technical foul within 3.7 seconds (not taking into account the time it takes tomegun to issue and retract his stop sign.)

That would be a bad guarantee. I have done this many of times with college coaches and the like and the results have always been the same. It ended the discussion and I didn't have to access a T. To me it is a unique and intelligent way to say, I'm done talking about this subject and we're going to move on. Now, in the rare case where we can't move on.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The obvious answer to "Tell you what, you ref the game and I'll sit down and coach" is "I might as well, seeing the sh!tty job you're doing". And in Old School's case, the coach would probably be right. :)

Yup, never say nonsense like that to any coach outside of rec leagues. Even in rec leagues, it's not a good idea because you're just baiting the coach right back. Either deal with it or ignore it.

This type of response doesn't surprise me coming from you JR. You have that throw an official under the bus mentallity. Now tell me, how does it feel? Go ahead and share.

However, in the rare event that a coach was to make a statement like this. He's done for the day. Doesn't matter how many technicals he got. If he has zero T's for the day, he's still ejected. Remember, you don't have to give a coach 2 technical before he's ejected. In fact, if he was to say something like that to me. I would go into my old baseball umpire routine and give him the hee-hoe, you're out of here! mechanic. And yes, I do have a flare for the dramatic when you get stupid with me.

Peace

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School

1) This type of response doesn't surprise me coming from you JR. You have that throw an official under the bus mentallity. Now tell me, how does it feel? Go ahead and share.

2) However, in the rare event that a coach was to make a statement like this. He's done for the day.

1) Not applicable in your case. You're not an official.

2) Great idea. Bait the coach into saying something and then toss him when he does. Excellent advice for the aspiring rec league official. Warning: Not to be used elsewhere though.

Adam Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
Disagree, there is no team control during a loss or interrupted dribble. If players are scrapping for the ball, I'm not going to blow my whistle 3 seconds in the lane and he or a member of the offense doesn't have control of the ball.

I've made this call, and guess what, I have the rules to back me up. One of maybe 4 3-second calls I've made this season; probably the only one I've made this year above the middle school level.

Adam Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
That would be a bad guarantee. I have done this many of times with college coaches and the like and the results have always been the same. It ended the discussion and I didn't have to access a T. To me it is a unique and intelligent way to say, I'm done talking about this subject and we're going to move on. Now, in the rare case where we can't move on.

First of all, it's not unique just because you haven't seen anyone else use it. It might just mean it's not effective. Second of all, just because you think it's witty doesn't mean it's intelligent. There's a difference, but when you grow up, you'll know that.

Thirdly, you misspelled intramural again.

Old School Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:44am

I'm going to throw this out here and then I'm going to leave it at that. I have better things to do than to spend my day argueing with referees who like to throw other referees under the bus. If you want to call a 3-second lane violation during an interrupted dribble, that is you. Do what you think is right. I'm not going there. However, the rule also states.

"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
I'm going to throw this out here and then I'm going to leave it at that.

Thank you.

Quote:

However, the rule also states.

"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control.
Note the wordds "following any of these acts" where "these acts" refers to dead ball, thorw-in, or jump. It doesn't refer to "interrupted dribble" or "loose ball during team control"

In practice, I agree that three-seconds is rarely called during an interrupted dribble. But, by rule the count continues.

Adam Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control.

Well, now that you've found a rule book, we need to work on your reading comprehension. It's a start.

Let's start with you first colorized statement. Team control continues; this influences rules such as three second violations. Guess what this means, three second counts continue as long as there is team control.

Now, your second colorized statement. Read what comes before it; "no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throwin or jump ball," it then continues to say, "nor during the period following any of these acts." This means, there is no team control following a throwin if players are still swatting at it trying to get it. It doesn't mean team control ends while players swat at the ball.

It's a valiant effort, but the rule book is apparently over your head.

SWMOzebra Wed Feb 14, 2007 09:58am

:eek: A 3-sec call during an interrupted dribble?

Wouldn't this, by some obscure definition somewhere, be labeled a "game interrupter?"

:D (sorry, couldn't help myself....!)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1