![]() |
I was checking out the NFHS rule book the other day and came across a section I don't understand at all.
Rule 2.3 states: "The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules." Can anyone think of a point or a situation that the referee would rule on that's not covered in the book? Thanks in advance. |
Read this board long enough and somebody will post one. :)
|
Quote:
U2: "Don't count it!" Ref: $$$ :) $$$ |
Mick-
Rule 2.5.3- Referee Duties - Decide whether a goal shall count if the officials agree. The point you covered is spefically outlined in the book. Can you think of a different one? ;) |
How about this one.
Varsity Boys game. Number 1 team in the state visits one of the most difficult places to play in the state called "The Pit." The game is in the middle of the winter and the gym has a capacity of about 8,000. Well this night the gym is packed, but because the home management let too many people in the gym to watch this game, condinsation collects on the floor and makes it difficult for the players to not fall. The vent fans are frozen because it is so cold outside it does not regulate the temperture inside the gym and makes the floor like a hockey rink. After several minutes of delay, officials come together to discuss what to do. They cancel the game and do not try to continue because of the condition of the floor.
Ironically, about a half and hour after the game had been cancelled, the fans begin to work. Now how long to the officials wait to cancel or continue the game? This is not in the rulebook. This actually happen about 5 years ago to some friends of mine in a varsity game. Peace |
try again
Quote:
Ref: Nope. Ump: Is the tape on her head okay? Ref: What tape? |
Here's one...A referee can give you a technical foul for thinking. Player A1 says to you after a so-so call against him/her...I think your an a......
|
Re: How about this one.
Quote:
inspect & approve all equipment including the court. The court didn't meet his approval, send everyone home, although I'll agree you might have something there with the amount of time needed before the game gets cancelled. How long did they wait anyway? |
Quote:
You`d give him a Tech for that? Boy, you really are strict! I know a ref here in town that almost T'd a parent in the stands for just THINKING that he was doing a bad job. He could see it in his eyes. Certainly, rule 2.3 could apply in that situation. I can imagine the scenario.... Ref: Coach, it`s a tech against your team because of that parent in the stands. Coach: What?!? What did he do?? What did he say?? Ref: He didn`t do or say anything. But I can tell what he`s thinking and it`s not pretty. He`s having all kinds of violent thoughts about me. Coach: You`ve got to be kidding! Ref: It`s rule 2.3 - Referee`s authority - look it up! Coach: Are you out of your mind? Ref: That will be another T coach. Please don`t think out loud. ------- Ren |
Actually the player ask another referee , not me, if he could get a technical foul for thinking. The referre replied ...no ? I guess..so then the player told the referee that he thought he was a a?????? and thereafter he got a flagrant technical foul..and bye bye..thinking player...Referee wins rule 2 section 3 ...don't think or you may get a technical foul ??!!
|
Therein lies the difference between thinking and THINKING OUT LOUD.
Ren |
Re: Re: How about this one.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Peace |
PP & rgaudreau,Rule 2-3 doesn't include technicals and crowd behavior.A flagrant technical such as you were talking about is covered in 10-3-8.Crowd behaviour is already covered under 2-8-1.Rule 2-3 doesn't apply to either as they are already covered in other sections.
|
Not thinking at all.
Quote:
Peace |
Here's an example, but from baseball. Randy Johnson threw a pitch this year that killed a bird. No where in either MLB rules or regs is pitches hitting and/or killing birds covered. Therefore, the UIC just had to do what he thought was fair. In this case a "do over."
The rule is there to cover unexpected situations which creep up on us. Hopefully no bird get killed by basketballs anytime soon! :) |
Here's an oldie but a goodie. I've posted this before, but it might fit under this thread's request for something not specifically covered under the rules.
You are officiating a game on a cruise ship. Immediately following an inbound pass after a basket, the ship crosses the international dateline and it is now yesterday !!! Does the dribbler get an additional 24 hours to get the ball across the division line? |
My thinking is that if I'm on a cruise in the Pacific Ocean, the dribbler can take as much time as he wants to bring the ball across the court - I'm going to be sitting in a lounge chair enjoying a nice cold beverage.
|
Quote:
game????!! Immediately following the basket I'm heading to the bar, maybe even get me a lobster dinner on the way (sure, I'll have some of that prime rib too, rare please! Yeah, throw in 6 of those oysters if ya don't mind.) What was the question again? :eek: |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am. |