The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Question about Coach's Box (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31412-question-about-coachs-box.html)

benbret Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:52pm

Question about Coach's Box
 
If a coach gets a T in a state that uses a coaching box (coach can stand). When the coach gets a direct T he has to sit down the rest of the game. My question is can the coach sit anywhere he wants to in the bench area or does he have to sit inside the coach's box for the rest of the game.

JRutledge Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:09am

If you lose the box I do not think it matters where they sit. Now that is just my first take without reviewing the casebook. I do not know if this is even addressed specifically in the rule or casebook. The box is for the coach to have a place to stand. If you lose the box I do not see why it matters because a coach can only stand for a few reasons after that.

Peace

TimTaylor Fri Feb 02, 2007 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
If a coach gets a T in a state that uses a coaching box (coach can stand). When the coach gets a direct T he has to sit down the rest of the game. My question is can the coach sit anywhere he wants to in the bench area or does he have to sit inside the coach's box for the rest of the game.

And it's not just for a direct T on the coach.....any T charged to the HC, direct or indirect, and he loses use of the coaching box.

Ignats75 Fri Feb 02, 2007 08:44am

According to our rules interpretor, he can sit anywhere on the bench.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 02, 2007 09:27am

The logic used in Case Book play 10.5.1 Sit E would indicate that the coach's chair must be located within the coaching box, if it was used at anytime during the game. (BTW, I would not attempt to enforce this, but that is what the rule says.)

10.5.1 SITUATION E: The coach of Team B sits on the opposite end of the bench from where the optional coaching box is located. The coach rises only when permitted by rule. RULING: Legal. The coach is not required to use the optional coaching box even though it has been adopted by the state association. However, if the coach begins the game by sitting somewhere other than where the box is located, he/she may not use the box privileges any time during the game. The coach must begin the game in a position within the box if he/she wishes to stand when permitted under the optional coaching-box provisions. (10-5 Note 1)

bob jenkins Fri Feb 02, 2007 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The logic used in Case Book play 10.5.1 Sit E would indicate that the coach's chair must be located within the coaching box, if it was used at anytime during the game. (BTW, I would not attempt to enforce this, but that is what the rule says.)[/COLOR]

I disagree with this logic. The rule / case say, "If the coach is not in the box at the beginning of the game, the box doesn't exist." That's not the same as "if the box exists at the beginning of the game, the coach must remain in it."

Scrapper1 Fri Feb 02, 2007 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
does he have to sit inside the coach's box for the rest of the game.

What is this "coach's box" that you speak of? I think it's a mythical being, like JurassicRef's sense of humor or Dan_ref's hair.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 02, 2007 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
What is this "coach's box" that you speak of? I think it's a mythical being, like JurassicRef's sense of humor or Dan_ref's hair.

Or Chuck Elias' height......

Scrapper1 Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Or Chuck Elias' height......

Thanks for proving my point!

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Thanks for proving my point!

Hey, Dan's bald and I'm grumpy. Howinthehell could I argue with you?

I just threw that in about Chuck just because....well....I like to keep in practise.

swkansasref33 Fri Feb 02, 2007 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
If you lose the box I do not think it matters where they sit. Now that is just my first take without reviewing the casebook. I do not know if this is even addressed specifically in the rule or casebook. The box is for the coach to have a place to stand. If you lose the box I do not see why it matters because a coach can only stand for a few reasons after that.

Peace

What exactly are these few reasons that they can stand? I have never found out precisely what they are, but have been told they can stand DURING a timeout, and BETWEEN quarters. is that true?:confused:

tjones1 Fri Feb 02, 2007 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by swkansasref33
What exactly are these few reasons that they can stand? I have never found out precisely what they are, but have been told they can stand DURING a timeout, and BETWEEN quarters. is that true?:confused:

See 10-4-4

Yes, that's true, it's right there in (c).

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 02, 2007 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by swkansasref33
What exactly are these few reasons that they can stand? I have never found out precisely what they are, but have been told they can stand DURING a timeout, and BETWEEN quarters. is that true?:confused:

See rule 10-5NOTES1.

benbret Fri Feb 02, 2007 05:01pm

bench area
 
J Rutledge,
In most of our high schools the team sits on the bottom row of the bleachers. You are saying if the coach gets a direct T then he can sit anywhere. Can he move in front of the score table? Can he sit on the last seat on the end line? Anytime that he can stand ( timeout, end of quarter, hurt player) can he move to another location before he sits down? Just wondering how far would you let the coach go? I agree with Nevadaref. I believe if he is using the coaches box and gets a T then he should remain seated inside the box for the rest of the game.

deecee Fri Feb 02, 2007 05:22pm

hes not a caged animal -- all these coaches box discussions give me the impression that a lot of officials treat the coach like a hamster or gerbil --

Adam Fri Feb 02, 2007 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
hes not a caged animal -- all these coaches box discussions give me the impression that a lot of officials treat the coach like a hamster or gerbil --

I think "howler monkey" is the animal you're looking for.

BTW, it's not a "coach's box." It's a "coaching box." It doesn't belong to the coach, it's about what he can do in it.

Rich Fri Feb 02, 2007 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
J Rutledge,
In most of our high schools the team sits on the bottom row of the bleachers. You are saying if the coach gets a direct T then he can sit anywhere. Can he move in front of the score table? Can he sit on the last seat on the end line? Anytime that he can stand ( timeout, end of quarter, hurt player) can he move to another location before he sits down? Just wondering how far would you let the coach go? I agree with Nevadaref. I believe if he is using the coaches box and gets a T then he should remain seated inside the box for the rest of the game.

He must sit in the team bench area, which is designated prior to the start of the game.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 02, 2007 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret
J Rutledge,
In most of our high schools the team sits on the bottom row of the bleachers. You are saying if the coach gets a direct T then he can sit anywhere. Can he move in front of the score table? Can he sit on the last seat on the end line? Anytime that he can stand ( timeout, end of quarter, hurt player) can he move to another location before he sits down? Just wondering how far would you let the coach go? I agree with Nevadaref. I believe if he is using the coaches box and gets a T then he should remain seated inside the box for the rest of the game.

If an official doesn't wish to be so rigid as to restrict him to a seat within the length of the coaching box, the most one could reasonably allow is for him to remain seated with the confines of the team bench as defined by game management per 1-13-1. He is not allowed to go sit up in the stands with the crowd. Bench personnel must be on the bench.

BillyMac Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:17am

Coach May Stand To.....
 
Once the coach is "seatbelted" he or she is still allowed to stand up in certain specific circumstances: during a charged time out, during intermissions, to spontaneously react to an outstanding play by a team member, to acknowledge a replaced player, to request a timeout, to confer with the table personnel for a correctable error situation, and to confer with the table personnel to prevent or rectify a timing, scoring, or alternating possession mistake.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1