The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31322-throw.html)

Bill from Minn Tue Jan 30, 2007 09:10am

Throw in
 
Red team makes a basket. White team takes ball to inbound, and coach calls a time out. Can the white team still run the baseline to throw the ball in?

Thanks

Raymond Tue Jan 30, 2007 09:23am

Bill, Bill, Bill...We need to get you a rulebook. I know you're new, but you seem like you want to learn and it really is so much easier when you start poring through the rulebook.

But to answer your question, yes, the privilege to run the baseline still exists after the time-out.

Old School Tue Jan 30, 2007 01:37pm

Also remember that once the white team grabs the ball, it is too late for the red team to call timeout. The red team must call the timeout before the opposition or white team, or team just scored on, gets control of the ball. If you do grant the timeout, endbound priviledges remain.

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 01:55pm

also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job

IREFU2 Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job

Can I get a rule number for this?? I have a co-worker wanting to know where the rule is......I swear I cant find it!

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:29pm

i do not have my rule book here -- but look under the section regarding throw ins after a made basket.

mick Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Can I get a rule number for this?? I have a co-worker wanting to know where the rule is......I swear I cant find it!

7.5.7 Sit C (d)

wildcatter Tue Jan 30, 2007 05:53pm

Okay, let's take this a little bit farther.

What are all the non-common-fouls can occur during the throw-in? (so violations and technicals, but not personal fouls like a push/hold)

Team A has the throw-in (player A1 throwing it in), Team B is defending (player B1 defending the throw-in).

1) A1 does not throw the ball in within 5 seconds
2) A1 steps over the line when throwing the ball in.
3) A1 leaves the designated spot during the throw-in (not a traveling, right?).
4) B1 breaks the plane of the OOB line. (Violation? T?)

What else?

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 05:56pm

#3 -- only applies for spot throw ins not for throw ins following a made basket

wildcatter Tue Jan 30, 2007 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
#3 -- only applies for spot throw ins not for throw ins following a made basket

Right - sorry, let's assume it is a spot throw-in.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 30, 2007 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
Also remember that once the white team grabs the ball, it is too late for the red team to call timeout. The red team must call the timeout before the opposition or white team, or team just scored on, gets control of the ball. If you do grant the timeout, endbound priviledges remain.

WRONG! Wrong again.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
also bill one more caveat -- should red commit a foul before the throw in is complete and the resulting spot throw in is still the endline -- white can STILL run the endline....

BTW -- OS -- I agree with your above post good job

deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

deecee Tue Jan 30, 2007 07:00pm

yes and from what he wrote we can assume that the official has started the 5 count -- no need to micromanage all responses.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 30, 2007 07:46pm

You can assume that if you wish. I'll assume that he doesn't know the rules.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 30, 2007 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You can assume that if you wish. I'll assume that he doesn't know the rules.

Has anyone ever seen Old School and deecee in the same room?:eek:

:D

mick Tue Jan 30, 2007 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
#3 -- only applies for spot throw ins not for throw ins following a made basket

Oops !
The in-thrower may violate by leaving the endline spot.
  • From the endline extended he takes a step up the sideline.
  • From the endline he takes a step onto the bleachers.
;)

rainmaker Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wildcatter
Okay, let's take this a little bit farther.

What are all the non-common-fouls can occur during the throw-in? (so violations and technicals, but not personal fouls like a push/hold)

Team A has the throw-in (player A1 throwing it in), Team B is defending (player B1 defending the throw-in).

1) A1 does not throw the ball in within 5 seconds
2) A1 steps over the line when throwing the ball in.
3) A1 leaves the designated spot during the throw-in (not a traveling, right?).
4) B1 breaks the plane of the OOB line. (Violation? T?)

What else?

I know this might seem kinda picky, but I just want to point out that #1, #2 and #3 are violations, not fouls. If A violates during the throw-in, they do lose the arrow (if it's an AP throw-in), and they lose the endline (obviously). If A fouls, they lose the endline privilege, again obviously, but they don't lose the arrow. For that reason, it's importnat to distinguish between fouls and violations, rather than lumping violations under fouls. For an over-arching word, use "infractions".

mick Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
For an over-arching word, use "infractions".

So, yer sayin' it's illegal to put a foot in one's mouth ? http://www.deephousepage.com/smilies/conf40.gif

wildcatter Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
I know this might seem kinda picky, but I just want to point out that #1, #2 and #3 are violations, not fouls. If A violates during the throw-in, they do lose the arrow (if it's an AP throw-in), and they lose the endline (obviously). If A fouls, they lose the endline privilege, again obviously, but they don't lose the arrow. For that reason, it's importnat to distinguish between fouls and violations, rather than lumping violations under fouls. For an over-arching word, use "infractions".

Oops again, very good catch - I meant to include violations when wording it, but couldn't think of a word that would exclude personal fouls - Thanks! Infractions work quite well.

That being said... what other infractions?

Adam Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wildcatter
1) A1 does not throw the ball in within 5 seconds
2) A1 steps over the line when throwing the ball in.
3) A1 leaves the designated spot during the throw-in (not a traveling, right?).
4) B1 breaks the plane of the OOB line. (Violation? T?)

What else?

Off the top of my head:
1. The thrower steps over the OOB line and touches Inbounds territory.
2. anyone catches the throwin pass while standing OOB on any of the four lines.
3. The thrower releases the ball for a throwin pass and then proceeds to touch it before anyone else.
4. The thrower hands the ball to a teammate.

There's a few more in rule 9-2.

Zoochy Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
WRONG! Wrong again.



deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

Way to go Nevadaref!!!! When I first read OS's response, I had the same thought as you. I did not have my book to quote, plus I was leaving work to ref. So, I was going to wait until I came home. Never fear, you chimed in and set OS straight.
deecee, you should know not to give any credit to OS. Shame on you.

Catherinehoo Wed Jan 31, 2007 09:52am

follow-up
 
To follow-up on the initial question...

Say Red makes a basket, White takes it out, throws it in, and THEN the timeout is granted. The ball will be thrown in at the same spot; can white still run the baseline?

Thanks.

mick Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Catherinehoo
To follow-up on the initial question...

Say Red makes a basket, White takes it out, throws it in, and THEN the timeout is granted. The ball will be thrown in at the same spot; can white still run the baseline?

Thanks.

If the time-out request is recognized before the throw-in, then the right to use the end line remains.
If the time-out request is recognized after the throw-in, then a designated spot is used.
If the time-out request is recognized during the throw-in (after the release, but before player control) it should be ignored.

deecee Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:52am

i applogize and have learned my lesson -- shame on me...

Zoochy Wed Jan 31, 2007 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
i applogize and have learned my lesson -- shame on me...

Good boy.
:D

Four-Oh Wed Jan 31, 2007 05:42pm

More infractions!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wildcatter
Okay, let's take this a little bit farther.

What are all the non-common-fouls can occur during the throw-in? (so violations and technicals, but not personal fouls like a push/hold)

Team A has the throw-in (player A1 throwing it in), Team B is defending (player B1 defending the throw-in).

1) A1 does not throw the ball in within 5 seconds
2) A1 steps over the line when throwing the ball in.
3) A1 leaves the designated spot during the throw-in (not a traveling, right?).
4) B1 breaks the plane of the OOB line. (Violation? T?)

What else?

Hi, everyone! First time here in the basketball forum (been shot down once in the Baseball forum already, but that's my rookie sport!*)
Anyway, here goes...

4, above is a delay-of-game warning for the first offence, then a team technical foul after any warning for delay (9-2-11, penalties 1 and 2, 10-1-10).

Here are a couple more:

1) B1 contacts the ball on the OOB side of the line: technical foul (9-2-11, penalty 3, 10-3-11), charged directly to the player.

2) B1 fouls A1 on the OOB side of the line: intentional personal foul (9-2-11, penalty 4)

And, I suppose, the garden-variety T for unsporting conduct! :rolleyes:

As suggested in another post, lots more under 9-2!

Just a question, along with this, does anyone try to call the delay of game before either of my 1 or 2, above, happen? You'd have to be pretty quick with the whistle, I guess! :D
Andrew

*: which I picked up so that I could spend our all-too-brief summer outside in the sun, rather than in a (usually non-A/C) gym!

Old School Fri Feb 02, 2007 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
WRONG! Wrong again.



deecee, NEVER agree with anything that OS writes. It will only make you look bad when he is proven to be incorrect. As is the case here. Not only does he not have an NFHS Rules Book, but he is too lazy to read what's currently posted on the NFHS website.
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx

2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

I didn't know this either, that good info to know. Thanks for sharing and correcting me.

Old School Fri Feb 02, 2007 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
2006-07 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 9: With less than one minute to play in the fourth quarter, Team A scores a field goal to tie the game. B1, standing under the basket after the score, secures the ball and begins heading to the end line for the ensuing throw-in. A1 requests and is granted a time-out. RULING: Legal procedure. Team A may request and be granted a time-out until the ensuing throw-in begins. The throw-in does not begin until B1 has the ball at his/her disposal and the official has begun the five-second count.

Thanks for sharing and correcting me. I did not know that. I'm sure this made your day. Try not to gloat to much....:)

Nevadaref Fri Feb 02, 2007 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old School
I didn't know this either, that good info to know. Thanks for sharing and correcting me.

Perhaps you are starting to come around. :cool:

I'll stop picking on you if you agree to start reading the NFHS rules (starting with the Interps currently posted on the website) and stop posting incorrect rulings so decisively as if you know them. If you don't know, then put "I'm not sure, but I think..." or "I don't know for sure, but I believe the way it is done is..." in your response. That way newer refs don't mistakenly believe that the answer you provided is definitely correct.

If you truly want to learn the rules, I am willing to help you.

Best wishes. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1