Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatter
Huh? This has nothing to do with false multiple fouls - the fouls were both called on the floor at the same time while the clock was running. Either that, or one was called, play stops, and there was more contact (but not flagrant or unsporting), another foul was seen and called (a split-second later), but only the first should be reported.
This is simply a multiple foul.
Art. 13. Multiple foul. A multiple foul occurs when two or more teammates commit personal fouls against the same opponent at approximately the same time.
The fouls were administered correctly by the book IF the foul was on the same person. In practice, it depends on the situation.
|
Nope, Tony is right. This is a FALSE multiple foul. You must have missed this part of the OP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruby
Definition for double, multiple or simultaneous does not fit 2 players of same team fouling 2 separate players.
|
Now how to administer that is unclear. POI is not the correct resumption of play. The ball should be awarded OOB at the nearest spot to one of the fouls. But which foul? I don't know. I would give the benefit to the offended team and award the ball at the location which is closer to their basket. I could even see giving the offended team the choice of which location.
If it is the bonus, then it gets really messy. If the fouls are 7 and 8 or 10 and 11 of the half, it isn't that hard. One player shoots his FTs with the lane clear and then the other with the lane spaces occupied and the game continues as normal.
However, if the fouls are 6 and 7 or 9 and 10 for the half, then how does one decide which offended player shoots the bonus (or the double bonus) and which does not? It seems that the referee will have to make a decision under 2-3.