The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T'd up (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31160-td-up.html)

soclueless Tue Jan 23, 2007 04:12pm

T'd up
 
I pulled a bonehead move Saturday. Called for a timeout when not in possesion of the ball. I was given the TO and assessed a technical. I had TO's available so that wasn't the issue. From what I can see in the book (5-8-3), I should not have been awarded the TO, and no T should have been assessed. Do I have this right?

Raymond Tue Jan 23, 2007 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by soclueless
I pulled a bonehead move Saturday. Called for a timeout when not in possesion of the ball. I was given the TO and assessed a technical. I had TO's available so that wasn't the issue. From what I can see in the book (5-8-3), I should not have been awarded the TO, and no T should have been assessed. Do I have this right?

No 'T' should have been assessed. Whether or not you should still have been granted a TO depends on which rule set you were using.

kbilla Tue Jan 23, 2007 04:18pm

you get your TO, no "T"
 
once the TO is granted you get it regardless of whether it should have been granted or not...there is no "T" in this case in any event..

Junker Tue Jan 23, 2007 04:18pm

What level of basketball are we talking about here? I agree that you should not have gotten the T for this one. The official should have ignored your request, however once they grant the time out, they have to eat it and go explain to the other coach why they granted a TO to you when you didn't have the ball.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by soclueless
I pulled a bonehead move Saturday. Called for a timeout when not in possesion of the ball. I was given the TO and assessed a technical. I had TO's available so that wasn't the issue. From what I can see in the book (5-8-3), I should not have been awarded the TO, and no T should have been assessed. Do I have this right?

Partially.

There shouldn't have been a technical foul issued. Once granted, you're going to be charged with the timeout and you can take it. Case book play 5.8.3SitE.

soclueless Tue Jan 23, 2007 04:39pm

NFHS. Our rec league (7/8 grade boys) uses CA High School rules which are "CIF" but they deffer to NFHS.

Ref Daddy Tue Jan 23, 2007 06:02pm

A referee can call an "inadvertant whistle" and resume play.

I trust your response, rection was professional during this event and did not make the T an option?

WhistlesAndStripes Tue Jan 23, 2007 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
A referee can call an "inadvertant whistle" and resume play.

Once you blow the inadvertant whistle though, the ball is dead, so he's entitled to a TO then.

EDIT: Entitled isn't really the word, but there's no reason now to not grant his request.

CaliOne Tue Jan 23, 2007 07:25pm

but if i did say it was an inadvertent whistle, I would still not let him have the time-out, and quickly put the ball back in play.. Not basing this on any rule, just probably what I'd do.

Ray_from_Mi Tue Jan 23, 2007 07:32pm

The only way I think you can receive the T along with the TO is issue the TO, the table will then tell you that team has no TO's to give, so you then give the T as well as the TO.

mplagrow Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ray_from_Mi
The only way I think you can receive the T along with the TO is issue the TO, the table will then tell you that team has no TO's to give, so you then give the T as well as the TO.

"Seeing as the VP is such a VIP, shouldn't we keep the PC on the QT? Because if it leaks to the VC, he could end up an MIA, and then we'd all be put on KP."

Got that movie?

Adam Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CaliOne
but if i did say it was an inadvertent whistle, I would still not let him have the time-out, and quickly put the ball back in play.. Not basing this on any rule, just probably what I'd do.

The problem is it runs counter to the NFHS desire on this. Once you blow it dead, B gets their TO.

j51969 Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:48pm

Seems like the bonehead was the official that blew the play dead. The T on top of it was completely stupid. Basically he's giving you a T for his mistake. I hope someone straightens him out.

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
Got that movie?

Too easy!!!

http://film.onet.pl/_i/film/g/good_m..._vietnam/d.jpg

Goooooooood Morning, Vietnaaaaaaaaaaaam!!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1