The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31150-backcourt-violation-not.html)

BigJoe Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:01am

Backcourt violation or not?
 
Had a strange one the other night. Girls varsity game. A1 close to the division line passes the ball across court. The ball hits in the backcourt and has spin on it. A2 catches the pass with both feet in the front court. Violation or not? Rule reference would be appreciated. I have looked it up myself, but it was a strange play. After some comments, I will let you know what my partner called.

BigJoe Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:03am

A1 was in the frontcournt. I didn't make that clear in the thread.

Terrapins Fan Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:11am

Backcourt
 
It looks like back court to me, but I wouldn't call it. The ball has backcourt status. If a player jumps from front court and touches the ball, he has front court status and it's a back court violation.

But if you call this....the coach and the crowd are going to go nuts....JMO

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigJoe
Had a strange one the other night. Girls varsity game. A1 close to the division line passes the ball across court. The ball hits in the backcourt and has spin on it. A2 catches the pass with both feet in the front court. Violation or not? Rule reference would be appreciated. I have looked it up myself, but it was a strange play. After some comments, I will let you know what my partner called.

Violation as per rule 9-9-1, if A1 was in the front court when he passed the ball.

If your partner didn't call the violation, he was wrong.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan
It looks like back court to me, but I wouldn't call it. The ball has backcourt status. If a player jumps from front court and touches the ball, he has front court status and it's a back court violation.

But if you call this....the coach and the crowd are going to go nuts....JMO

Are you serious? You're not going to make the <b>RIGHT</b> call because you're worried about what the coach and the freaking fans think?

That's completely ludicrous!

I hate to tell you this but there's quite a few coaches out there that do know and understand the rule. If you fail to call that one, the <b>other</b> coach is gonna be on your butt. And I don't blame him one bit.

Btw, the player doesn't have to jump from the front court either to have a violation. It's a violation if the player is in the front court when he's the first to touch the ball after it was in the back court.

Raymond Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan
It looks like back court to me, but I wouldn't call it. The ball has backcourt status. If a player jumps from front court and touches the ball, he has front court status and it's a back court violation.

But if you call this....the coach and the crowd are going to go nuts....JMO

Sooooo...A1, FC status, is trapped in the corner near the division line. He purposely throws a pass into the backcourt with spin on it so that it bounces one-time and a) goes directly to A2 who is standing in the frontcourt or b) then bounces one time in the frontcourt before going directly to A2 who is standing in the frontcourt.

You (and other folks from previous threads) WOULD NOT call this a backcourt violation? :confused:

BigJoe Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:03am

Partner called backcourt violation. We discussed it without rule book. Just thought it was an odd sit. No one said a word. They probably didn't know one way or the other.

Zoochy Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:29am

I have called that play a BC violation.
But isn't this being examined by NFHS?
See http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...4&postcount=13
Until then, it is a BC violation.

Raymond Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Sooooo...A1, FC status, is trapped in the corner near the division line. He purposely throws a pass into the backcourt with spin on it so that it bounces one-time and a) goes directly to A2 who is standing in the frontcourt or b) then bounces one time in the frontcourt before going directly to A2 who is standing in the frontcourt.

You (and other folks from previous threads) WOULD NOT call this a backcourt violation? :confused:

kycat1, What's your call on the above situations?

kycat1 Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:25pm

Same answer as always!
 
You know how I'll answer!:D

a) When the ball hits the division line or the backcourt and goes directly to A2 in the air, the ball still has backcourt position since it touched the backcourt last before A2 catches it, so you have an over and back violation.

b) When the ball hits the division line or backcourt and then bounces in the front court and is then picked up by A2, the ball now has front court position and since A2 has front court position, I have no violation. Play on!:D

BktBallRef Tue Jan 23, 2007 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan
It looks like back court to me, but I wouldn't call it. The ball has backcourt status. If a player jumps from front court and touches the ball, he has front court status and it's a back court violation.

But if you call this....the coach and the crowd are going to go nuts....JMO

That's not a reason to not make the correct call.

BktBallRef Tue Jan 23, 2007 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
b) When the ball hits the division line or backcourt and then bounces in the front court and is then picked up by A2, the ball now has front court position and since A2 has front court position, I have no violation. Play on!:D

Really? So you believe it's okay to ignore this rule?

A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Where does it say it's okay for A2 to touch the ball if it comes back into the FC?

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 23, 2007 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Where does it say it's okay for A2 to touch the ball if it comes back into the FC?

In Mary Struckoff's email. :(

SmokeEater Tue Jan 23, 2007 02:43pm

Is this an actual reference? Can you show it to us?

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
In Mary Struckoff's email. :(

Not to worry. There is nowayinhell that the officials on the Rules Committeee will ever allow that one to change. It's been the same interpretation under both NFHS and NCAA rules forever.

Mary Struckhoff is the rule book <b>editor</b>. That position sureasheck doesn't mean that she has a good knowledge of the rules.

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Is this an actual reference? Can you show it to us?

Here is the main part of Ms. Struckoff's email that was posted by kycat1 in another thread. Please note that I did not receive this email and I cannot vouch for its authenticity (although I do believe that it is authentic). I am merely copying from another post.

Quote:

I do believe the intent of the rule is that where the ball is touched is important. If it comes back to the frontcourt after touching the official in the backcourt and the offensive player regains control in the frontcourt, both have frontcourt status and no violation has occurred. They just got lucky that the ball hit the official and came back....that can be true of an errant pass about to fly out of bounds and hits the official and stays inbounds.....In order to be a violation, it must be touched in the backcourt.

I will run this by the committee in April to make sure they agree and see if they want to make any editorial changes to the rule itself.

Mary

Mary Struckhoff
NFHS Assistant Director
Basketball Rules Editor/National Interpreter
On a related topic. . .

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic
Mary Struckhoff is the rule book editor. That position sureasheck doesn't mean that she has a good knowledge of the rules.

Take a look at how she "signed" the email. "Basketball Rules Editor/National Interpreter". And don't forget that the Rules Committee is not made up only of officials. The ADs/Coaches might not care if the change is made.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1

Take a look at how she "signed" the email. "Basketball Rules Editor/National Interpreter". And don't forget that the Rules Committee is not made up only of officials. The ADs/Coaches might not care if the change is made.

National Interpreter? What? Was Old School busy that day?

Btw, they'd better be prepared to delete case book 9.9.1SitC. It's exactly the same-reversed.

kbilla Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:25pm

backcourt violation. 9.1 "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt." A1 caused the ball to go into the back court and it was touched first by A2. the rule does not make a provision for where A2 is on the court when she touches it.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 23, 2007 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
backcourt violation. 9.1 "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt." A1 caused the ball to go into the back court and it was touched first by A2. the rule does not make a provision for where A2 is on the court when she touches it.

We know that.

Mary Struckhoff doesn't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1