The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another Basketball Question from a Baseball Guy (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31119-another-basketball-question-baseball-guy.html)

Striker991 Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:57pm

Another Basketball Question from a Baseball Guy
 
I have seen this more than once now, so it's clear that I probably don't understand the rule. Player A fakes a shot so Player B jumps up to block the shot and lands on Player A. Player A then immediately takes a shot and it goes in. Ref counts the basket. Why? The foul occurred before the shot; I don't understand why the shot would count. I'm not arguing the foul, it is obvious, but if the foul occurs before the shot, no basket, or so I think....

Please help me better understand this situation.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Striker991
I have seen this more than once now, so it's clear that I probably don't understand the rule. Player A fakes a shot so Player B jumps up to block the shot and lands on Player A. Player A then immediately takes a shot and it goes in. Ref counts the basket. Why? The foul occurred before the shot; I don't understand why the shot would count. I'm not arguing the foul, it is obvious, but if the foul occurs before the shot, no basket, or so I think....

Please help me better understand this situation.

If player A begins his/her "habitual shooting motion" before the foul, then s/he is allowed to finish the motion and the try counts.

Striker991 Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:09pm

Thanks, as always
 
You guys continue to be extremely helpful as my son has moved from baseball (of which I am very familiar) to basketball (which I know nothing about, but I am learning...).

JRutledge Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:16pm

Bob gave the rulebook answer I will give you the real world answer (which come to the same conclusion). If a ball handler has picked up the ball, that is the beginning of their motion to the basket if the official judges they where attempting a shot. So a player does not have to even get off the floor and you still should properly award a shooting foul if contact prevented a complete motion to the basket.

Peace

26 Year Gap Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Bob gave the rulebook answer I will give you the real world answer (which come to the same conclusion). If a ball handler has picked up the ball, that is the beginning of their motion to the basket if the official judges they where attempting a shot. So a player does not have to even get off the floor and you still should properly award a shooting foul if contact prevented a complete motion to the basket.

Peace

I concur, Rut. But don't those opposing coaches just HATE that call? ;)

Ref Daddy Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
I concur, Rut. But don't those opposing coaches just HATE that call? ;)

No question about it.

This weekend's game the Coach was calling for fouls and the offense was smart enough that as soon as the defense closed in and started to swarm (trap) their talented guard would start a shot.

That put an end to the deliberate fouling pretty quick - at least on the Point guard!

No question it was the right call, and no question coach's get real aggrivated about it.

JRutledge Mon Jan 22, 2007 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
I concur, Rut. But don't those opposing coaches just HATE that call? ;)

I just worked a game on Saturday morning and my partner made a call and continued to the basket. The comment I heard over and over, "This is not the NBA." While my partner was explaining the rule to the coach before the FT, I was explaining the rule to the kids. Little do most know the rule is basically the same at the NBA level to the HS level.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1