The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   making sure I'm thinking this through right (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31115-making-sure-im-thinking-through-right.html)

stewcall Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:59am

making sure I'm thinking this through right
 
A player sitting on the floor with the ball can not place the ball on the floor, stand up and then pick the ball up-- this is travelling. (did not begin a dribble)

If the above situation is correct-- then a player standing should not be able to place the ball on the floor, run around the ball then pick it back up; this too would be travelling--- not that I think this would happen- but this too whould be travelling??

ok strange monday morning for me

Stew in VA

deecee Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:02pm

let me ask you this -- a player is sitting and he has not had his dribble. he starts his dribble and stands back up while maintaining his dribble.

Travel?

A player starts his dribble however the ball counces funny and rolls down the court -- same player runs after it and picks it up.

Travel?

stewcall Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
let me ask you this -- a player is sitting and he has not had his dribble. he starts his dribble and stands back up while maintaining his dribble.

Travel?

A player starts his dribble however the ball counces funny and rolls down the court -- same player runs after it and picks it up.

Travel?

No legal on both
Stew in VA

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee
let me ask you this -- a player is sitting and he has not had his dribble. he starts his dribble and stands back up while maintaining his dribble.

Travel?

This is a very different scenario from the one originally posted. In the original question, there is no dribble. The ball is placed on the floor, the pivot foot is moved, and then control is re-established. Is that a travel?

jcarter Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:07pm

Here is the first part of your answer.


4.44.5 Situation B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
Ruling: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)

deecee Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:08pm

i would consider that his dribble -- albeit unconventional but how can you call a travel when he never had the ball?

he put the ball down -- no possession
he gets up -- and reacquires possession - if anything double dribble -- but thats assuming he dribbled or you didnt think it was a fumble (which it doesnt sound like).

jcarter -- nice citation -- i guess i would have been wrong


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1