The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2001, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,252
Re: Same topic/different question

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Does a coach have to request that a last second shot be reviewed? Or does the referee review the play any time a shot is made in the final second of a game?

I'm asking b/c there's a question on this year's NCAA test about a head coach requesting a review of the final shot. The official's original call is confirmed by the video tape. Is the requesting coach's team then charged with a time-out, since his "challenge" (NFL lingo, sorry) was not upheld? OR is his request ignored, since the official is required to check the video anyway?

Chuck
First, the rule requires the use of "replay equipment, videotape or television monitoring" -- so, note that the TV monitor is different from, and treated differently than, the usual videotape equipment most of us will see at less than D1 games.

If it's a TV monitor, then just the monitor must be courtside. If it's a videotape system, then the tape and the replay equipment (TV, VCR, etc) must be courtside.

"Courtside" is defined as "within approximately 3 to 12 feet of the playing court." The key word is approximately -- I'm sure as heck not taking out my measuring tape and not reviewing something if the monitor happens to be 100" from the court. Heck, in some places, the scorers table, etc. is farther than 12' from the court.

It's required to look at the monitor (assuming it's available) if the last second shot is good and will affect the outcome of the game (i.e., the shot ties the game or puts the shooting team ahead). The coach does not need to request this -- but the coach *can* request a review for other things -- 2 or 3 point shot would be the most likely. The review of both these items can be simultaneous. If the official rules the coach's request was incorrect, then the team is charged with a TO. No TO is assessed for the review of whether the last-second shot was released in time.

Men's and Women's rules on this are the same (although the specific game-ending mechanics may be slightly different).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1