The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Mechanics Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/31084-mechanics-question.html)

Ron Giacoma Sun Jan 21, 2007 06:19pm

Mechanics Question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Teigan
In Federation 2 Person, when a violation ends in the result of a made basket, does the ball have to be handled?

Yes !!! This is a Traveling Violation !!!!! The ball becomes dead. No basket. First blow the whistle and raise open hand in the air as far as possible. Pause and then signal for traveling while saying "traveling". Next, point in the direction of the defenses basket and say "blue" (or whatever the color of the defense). Point to the nearest spot out of bounds and say "spot" -usually on the endline for this traveling violation situation. Have one of the players hand the ball to you. Let the defensive team get set i.e. subs, full court pressure, match-ups etc. Then hand the ball to the thrower at the spot and start a 5 sec count. Key: The basket does not count because of the traveling violation and is not relevant to the procedure for what will happen next (as if the ball was never shot)........... keep callin'

Jurassic Referee Sun Jan 21, 2007 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ron Giacoma
1) Pause and then signal for traveling while saying "traveling".

2) Let the defensive team get set i.e. subs, full court pressure, match-ups etc.

1) There is no real need to say anything. Just the signal is fine.

2) Completely wrong mechanic. You administer the throw-in as soon as the thrower is set. You do NOT allow the defense extra time to set up a press or get match-ups. The only time that you delay the throw-in is for substitution.

Btw, you only hand the ball to the thrower on the offensive endline too. Bounce the ball to the thrower at other throw-in locations.

BillyMac Sun Jan 21, 2007 06:40pm

Pepperridge Farm Remembers
 
Pepperridge Farm Remembers

Have you been watching Family Guy lately?

Yes. That's where I got it from.

kraz423 Thu Jan 25, 2007 03:56pm

Running Baseline
 
If the official calls a violation (defensive BI/Goaltending) can the team that offended run the baseline or is it a spot throw-in? Any references would be greatly appreciated.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 25, 2007 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kraz423
If the official calls a violation (defensive BI/Goaltending) can the team that offended run the baseline or is it a spot throw-in? Any references would be greatly appreciated.

They can run the base line. See NFHS rules 7-5-3&7.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1