The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 24, 2000, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Tim Roden on 01-24-2000 12:13 PM
Yesterday, a coach and several parents approached me about the slapping the backboard rule.... So here is what happened according to the "witnesses" Player A1 goes up for a layup and B1 in trying to block the shot, gets a peice of the ball and then hits the backboard. The backboard is "flimsey" so it shakes like crazy from the slap. The official calls a T. Should this have been passed on or not?



A T is appropriate. You said "it shakes like crazy from the slap." It doesn't matter if it was intentional or not. Rule 10-3-6 says it is a T if the player causes the ring to vibrate while the ball is in flight (among other cases).

Many will say no T because it is not deliberate and they would be generally correct if it were simply contact on the board secondary to the block attempt. But, this case is different. The backboard shook "like crazy".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1