![]() |
|
|
|||
What would you do.
Stole this from our local forum:
Team A has in-bounded the ball after a made basket. They request a time out as soon as they have player control after the throw-in was complete. There was 4.1 seconds on the clock at the time out. After the time out they take the ball on the endline and throw the ball to another player across the key who is also out of bounds. This is where it gets interesting. The throw-in violation was not called and the ball was allowed to be in-bounded. A2 was fouled as soon as they received the pass. When the foul was called the official that was with the in-bound play ran over and told his partner that they had a spot throw-in and that they couldn't run the play they had just done. Correctable error? Was it too late to fix the mistake after the clock had started? What would you do? Whatever your choice, you and your crew look like dolts! |
|
|||
Not a correctable error, but I think this is fixable (not by rule). Most important thing is to get it right and I do not think it would be wrong to fix it at this point. I would just "assume" that the other official came in and realized the violation when it occured.
![]() |
|
|||
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Your choice is to do nothing. It is too late.
I had this happen to me this season and it seemed like everything went into slow motion. It was one of those nights where there wasn't any other games being played and the two teams didn't like each other. The coaches had actually almost got in a fist fight last summer. The coaches didn't want to play each other, but the ADs said the games would be played. When I made the call, even the officials in the crowd (on the endline) paused for a second. I knew something wasn't right because I had just told the kid it was a spot throw in. BTW, I have the rematch at the other school this coming Thursday. This assigner has really been good to me considering I'm new. Maybe I can ref a little. ![]()
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
If it was a spot throw-in, and you missed the violation . . . NOTHING can be done. Once the throw-in is touched by a player inbounds, the throw-in is OVER. You cannot go back and correct this by rule.
Last edited by bigdogrunnin; Mon Jan 15, 2007 at 11:07am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|