The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Instinct Kicks In (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30859-instinct-kicks.html)

rainmaker Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:52pm

Instinct Kicks In
 
We've talked about the play where the ball is shot and misses, is tipped around, tipped toward oob, and then saved back inbounds by A into their backcourt. What it takes for that to be a bc call, and when it's legal.

Well, I had the play last night, and I called it correctly, instinctively. Didn't realize until I was driving home that my partner, the coach, the crowd and all 10 players on the floor were wrong. I kinda like that feeling!

Adam Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:31am

Well done, Juules. It's nice when that groove sets in and you blow your whistle and then realize your instincts nailed the call.
BV game today, 5.0 seconds left in 1st quarter and I'm T. Ball gets passed in and the clock doesn't start. "Instinctively," I started my own count just in case. I get to 5, and kill the play and call the quarter with about 2.4 seconds on the clock.
It was a game I needed to do well in, and that play helped from what I could gather after discussing it with one of my partners (who was essentially there to evaluate me). Now, I'm going to need to remember to flex more as lead in three man.

mplagrow Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:35am

Isn't it fun when you get that odd call that never happens, but we always discuss on this forum? Last year, I had the legendary "foul on the shot at the wrong basket." Nobody in the gym knew quite how to respond, but we've discussed that enough here that I knew just what to do.

I gave the girl one free throw at each basket.:D

tjones1 Sun Jan 14, 2007 09:00am

Juulie,

It's certainly not suprising to me that you were right again! Way to be...it's certainly a great feeling.

rainmaker Sun Jan 14, 2007 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
Isn't it fun when you get that odd call that never happens, but we always discuss on this forum? Last year, I had the legendary "foul on the shot at the wrong basket." Nobody in the gym knew quite how to respond, but we've discussed that enough here that I knew just what to do.

I gave the girl one free throw at each basket.:D

You are a credit to the Officiating.com Basketball Discussion Forum!

Corndog89 Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
Isn't it fun when you get that odd call that never happens, but we always discuss on this forum? Last year, I had the legendary "foul on the shot at the wrong basket." Nobody in the gym knew quite how to respond, but we've discussed that enough here that I knew just what to do.

I gave the girl one free throw at each basket.:D

Now that's funny :)

swkansasref33 Sun Jan 14, 2007 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
We've talked about the play where the ball is shot and misses, is tipped around, tipped toward oob, and then saved back inbounds by A into their backcourt. What it takes for that to be a bc call, and when it's legal.

Well, I had the play last night, and I called it correctly, instinctively. Didn't realize until I was driving home that my partner, the coach, the crowd and all 10 players on the floor were wrong. I kinda like that feeling!




I must have missed the thread about this one... so would someone please explain what it takes for it to be a backcourt call?

bob jenkins Sun Jan 14, 2007 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by swkansasref33
I must have missed the thread about this one... so would someone please explain what it takes for it to be a backcourt call?

Four Requiremetns:

1) Team Control
2) ball in FC
3) A last to touvh before ball goes to BC
4) A first to touch afgter ball goes to BC

Three Exceptions -- Airborne player frist gaining control on a :

1) Jump Ball
2) Throw-In
3) Defensive Player

Zoochy Sun Jan 14, 2007 05:30pm

Rule 9-9
 
First, there must be team control. Now, in the described play, there is no team control due to fact that a try has been attempted. Ball is batted into the back court. Once the ball has gone into backcourt and A1 has back court status, then A1 can control the ball w/o a violation.
Also read Rule 4-12.

refnrev Sun Jan 14, 2007 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Well, I had the play last night, and I called it correctly, instinctively. Didn't realize until I was driving home that my partner, the coach, the crowd and all 10 players on the floor were wrong. I kinda like that feeling!

________________________________

Isn't it really cool when you're driving home, mentally replay and analyze it and know you GOT IT RIGHT!:D I love that feeling..... it's so much better than when you realize you booted it.

rainmaker Sun Jan 14, 2007 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
First, there must be team control. Now, in the described play, there is no team control due to fact that a try has been attempted. Ball is batted into the back court. Once the ball has gone into backcourt and A1 has back court status, then A1 can control the ball w/o a violation.
Also read Rule 4-12.

Actually, I ruled that it was a controlled throw, rather than just a bat. He got a hand under it, turned his body around and looked. THen he flung the ball. It didn't take long, but it felt like control to me. To my instinct. That was why I called it a violation.

Zoochy Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Actually, I ruled that it was a controlled throw, rather than just a bat. He got a hand under it, turned his body around and looked. THen he flung the ball. It didn't take long, but it felt like control to me. To my instinct. That was why I called it a violation.

Very good. If you determined that there was team control, then Backcourt violation is the correct call.
When I read 'bat' I thought that there was no control.
Keep up the good work!:D

Johnny Ringo Mon Jan 15, 2007 01:26am

missed the one about player shooting at wrong basket and got fouled ... ruling?

Adam Mon Jan 15, 2007 01:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
missed the one about player shooting at wrong basket and got fouled ... ruling?

The ball becomes dead on the foul, so the basket will not count unless the ball goes through the rim before the foul is committed (not before the whistle.) Furthermore, it's a common foul and free throws will only be shot if the offended team is in the bonus.

zebra44 Mon Jan 15, 2007 04:42am

I had this one with a minute left in OT between two rivals last Friday night. Red team center gets the ball in his lane area and turns to shoot a jumper. White team center is right there to block the shot, so Red center throws ball to the floor while airborne to start a dribble. I tweet the travel, and we go the other way. The call as you may imagine was not well received by the Red bench or crowd. It is the first time I have ever had this play in a game. I explained the rule to Red coach during the next time out and I think he trusts me enough to know it was the right call. It was a good feeling to know that a unique situation happened and we got it right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1