The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   5 point play in NFHS? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30777-5-point-play-nfhs.html)

Jimgolf Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:31am

5 point play in NFHS?
 
On "Making the Call with Ronnie Nunn" the other day, they showed an unsual play from an NBA game and I was wondering what the penalty would be if this happened in a HS game.

A1 was near the low block on the right, driving to the hoop. As he shot, he was fouled by B1. B2 is on the opposite block and runs over to block the shot, grabbing the rim as he goes by it, then blocking the shot.

Would the penalty for this be:
count the basket, due to basket interference for 2 points
one shot for the foul on B1
another 2 foul shots, plus the ball for a technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim to block the shot?

Raymond Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
On "Making the Call with Ronnie Nunn" the other day, they showed an unsual play from an NBA game and I was wondering what the penalty would be if this happened in a HS game.

A1 was near the low block on the right, driving to the hoop. As he shot, he was fouled by B1. B2 is on the opposite block and runs over to block the shot, grabbing the rim as he goes by it, then blocking the shot.

Would the penalty for this be:
count the basket, due to basket interference for 2 points
one shot for the foul on B1
another 2 foul shots, plus the ball for a technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim to block the shot?

Why are we counting the basket? You said B2 grabbed the rim and blocked the shot.

NFHS: Personal foul on B1 and Technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim. A1 gets 2 shots for the personal foul. Any Team A member(s) shoot 2 free throws for the technical foul. Team A gets ball at division line.

NCAA: Personal foul on B1 and Technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim. Any Team A member gets 2 shots for the technical foul. Then resume from POI, which is A1 on the free throw line (for 2 shots) with members of Team B occupying the lower 2 blocks.

Jimgolf Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Why are we counting the basket? You said B2 grabbed the rim and blocked the shot.

So this is not basket interference or goaltending? The only penalty is the technical foul?

What if the ball were in the cylinder? I didn't really notice, I'll have to check the tape later.

IREFU2 Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
On "Making the Call with Ronnie Nunn" the other day, they showed an unsual play from an NBA game and I was wondering what the penalty would be if this happened in a HS game.

A1 was near the low block on the right, driving to the hoop. As he shot, he was fouled by B1. B2 is on the opposite block and runs over to block the shot, grabbing the rim as he goes by it, then blocking the shot.

Would the penalty for this be:
count the basket, due to basket interference for 2 points
one shot for the foul on B1
another 2 foul shots, plus the ball for a technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim to block the shot?

I would think you would have a T on B2 for grabbing the rim. I dont think it would be BI because the ball is not on or in the imaginary cylinder. If the ball is on it was down or at its apex, then you would also have Goaltending.

bigdogrunnin Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:37pm

You CAN have a 5-pt. play though. Anyone know how?

tjones1 Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
You CAN have a 5-pt. play though. Anyone know how?

Intentional foul on a three-point successful try. Makes both free throws...5 points.

cmathews Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:43pm

hmmmmmm let's see here......
 
I am guessing it involves a foul on a made attempt when the penalty for the foul is always at least 2 shots, and the ball nearest the spot of the foul

bigdogrunnin Thu Jan 11, 2007 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Intentional foul on a three-point successful try. Makes both free throws...5 points.

DING, DING, DING, DING . . . THANK YOU! I kicked this one BAD two years ago. Won't ever miss it again though.

Junker Thu Jan 11, 2007 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
DING, DING, DING, DING . . . THANK YOU! I kicked this one BAD two years ago. Won't ever miss it again though.

I'm impressed you saw it happen. That's a goofy one. I'm just mad I didn't check this thread and get the answer first.

Adam Thu Jan 11, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
DING, DING, DING, DING . . . THANK YOU! I kicked this one BAD two years ago. Won't ever miss it again though.

What do you mean you kicked it bad? To me, kicking it bad would mean not blowing the whistle at all. Just giving one free throw instead of two would be a minor kick; unless the shooting team was down by 5 and time expired while the shot was in the air. :D

TriggerMN Thu Jan 11, 2007 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Intentional foul on a three-point successful try. Makes both free throws...5 points.

I actually had this happen in a college game about 5 years ago. I fully do not expect to ever see it again on a game I am working.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 11, 2007 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
I would think you would have a T on B2 for grabbing the rim. I dont think it would be BI because the ball is not on or <font color = red>in the imaginary cylinder.</font>

Grabbing the rim while the ball is <b>IN</b> the cylinder has <b>never</b> been BI. The ball has to be on or within the basket when the rim is grasped to have BI.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 11, 2007 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
What if the ball were in the cylinder?

Again, grabbing the rim while the ball is in the cylinder is not a BI violation under FED and NCAA rules, and never has been.

Jimgolf Fri Jan 12, 2007 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Again, grabbing the rim while the ball is in the cylinder is not a BI violation under FED and NCAA rules, and never has been.

Thanks. I get confused by the conditions of the four articles of the definition, as some mention the cylinder and some mention the ring, but they're also talking about where the defender's hand is. I also misinterpreted "within the basket" to mean "within the cylinder".

Gotta learn how to read one of these days.

FrankHtown Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:00am

5 point play???? A1 attempts a 3 pointer. While in the act of shooting, gets fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time. Shot goes in. A1 get one free throw for each foul, 2 total. The dreaded multiple foul penalty.

Also, if A1 attempts a 3 pointer, and is fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time, and the try is not successful, A1 gets 4 free throws, as the multiple foul penalty.

Of course, I did forget the 2 free throws on the coach after you attempt to explain this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1