The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   5 point play in NFHS? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30777-5-point-play-nfhs.html)

Jimgolf Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:31am

5 point play in NFHS?
 
On "Making the Call with Ronnie Nunn" the other day, they showed an unsual play from an NBA game and I was wondering what the penalty would be if this happened in a HS game.

A1 was near the low block on the right, driving to the hoop. As he shot, he was fouled by B1. B2 is on the opposite block and runs over to block the shot, grabbing the rim as he goes by it, then blocking the shot.

Would the penalty for this be:
count the basket, due to basket interference for 2 points
one shot for the foul on B1
another 2 foul shots, plus the ball for a technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim to block the shot?

Raymond Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
On "Making the Call with Ronnie Nunn" the other day, they showed an unsual play from an NBA game and I was wondering what the penalty would be if this happened in a HS game.

A1 was near the low block on the right, driving to the hoop. As he shot, he was fouled by B1. B2 is on the opposite block and runs over to block the shot, grabbing the rim as he goes by it, then blocking the shot.

Would the penalty for this be:
count the basket, due to basket interference for 2 points
one shot for the foul on B1
another 2 foul shots, plus the ball for a technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim to block the shot?

Why are we counting the basket? You said B2 grabbed the rim and blocked the shot.

NFHS: Personal foul on B1 and Technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim. A1 gets 2 shots for the personal foul. Any Team A member(s) shoot 2 free throws for the technical foul. Team A gets ball at division line.

NCAA: Personal foul on B1 and Technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim. Any Team A member gets 2 shots for the technical foul. Then resume from POI, which is A1 on the free throw line (for 2 shots) with members of Team B occupying the lower 2 blocks.

Jimgolf Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Why are we counting the basket? You said B2 grabbed the rim and blocked the shot.

So this is not basket interference or goaltending? The only penalty is the technical foul?

What if the ball were in the cylinder? I didn't really notice, I'll have to check the tape later.

IREFU2 Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
On "Making the Call with Ronnie Nunn" the other day, they showed an unsual play from an NBA game and I was wondering what the penalty would be if this happened in a HS game.

A1 was near the low block on the right, driving to the hoop. As he shot, he was fouled by B1. B2 is on the opposite block and runs over to block the shot, grabbing the rim as he goes by it, then blocking the shot.

Would the penalty for this be:
count the basket, due to basket interference for 2 points
one shot for the foul on B1
another 2 foul shots, plus the ball for a technical foul on B2 for grabbing the rim to block the shot?

I would think you would have a T on B2 for grabbing the rim. I dont think it would be BI because the ball is not on or in the imaginary cylinder. If the ball is on it was down or at its apex, then you would also have Goaltending.

bigdogrunnin Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:37pm

You CAN have a 5-pt. play though. Anyone know how?

tjones1 Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
You CAN have a 5-pt. play though. Anyone know how?

Intentional foul on a three-point successful try. Makes both free throws...5 points.

cmathews Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:43pm

hmmmmmm let's see here......
 
I am guessing it involves a foul on a made attempt when the penalty for the foul is always at least 2 shots, and the ball nearest the spot of the foul

bigdogrunnin Thu Jan 11, 2007 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Intentional foul on a three-point successful try. Makes both free throws...5 points.

DING, DING, DING, DING . . . THANK YOU! I kicked this one BAD two years ago. Won't ever miss it again though.

Junker Thu Jan 11, 2007 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
DING, DING, DING, DING . . . THANK YOU! I kicked this one BAD two years ago. Won't ever miss it again though.

I'm impressed you saw it happen. That's a goofy one. I'm just mad I didn't check this thread and get the answer first.

Adam Thu Jan 11, 2007 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
DING, DING, DING, DING . . . THANK YOU! I kicked this one BAD two years ago. Won't ever miss it again though.

What do you mean you kicked it bad? To me, kicking it bad would mean not blowing the whistle at all. Just giving one free throw instead of two would be a minor kick; unless the shooting team was down by 5 and time expired while the shot was in the air. :D

TriggerMN Thu Jan 11, 2007 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1
Intentional foul on a three-point successful try. Makes both free throws...5 points.

I actually had this happen in a college game about 5 years ago. I fully do not expect to ever see it again on a game I am working.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 11, 2007 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
I would think you would have a T on B2 for grabbing the rim. I dont think it would be BI because the ball is not on or <font color = red>in the imaginary cylinder.</font>

Grabbing the rim while the ball is <b>IN</b> the cylinder has <b>never</b> been BI. The ball has to be on or within the basket when the rim is grasped to have BI.

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 11, 2007 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
What if the ball were in the cylinder?

Again, grabbing the rim while the ball is in the cylinder is not a BI violation under FED and NCAA rules, and never has been.

Jimgolf Fri Jan 12, 2007 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Again, grabbing the rim while the ball is in the cylinder is not a BI violation under FED and NCAA rules, and never has been.

Thanks. I get confused by the conditions of the four articles of the definition, as some mention the cylinder and some mention the ring, but they're also talking about where the defender's hand is. I also misinterpreted "within the basket" to mean "within the cylinder".

Gotta learn how to read one of these days.

FrankHtown Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:00am

5 point play???? A1 attempts a 3 pointer. While in the act of shooting, gets fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time. Shot goes in. A1 get one free throw for each foul, 2 total. The dreaded multiple foul penalty.

Also, if A1 attempts a 3 pointer, and is fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time, and the try is not successful, A1 gets 4 free throws, as the multiple foul penalty.

Of course, I did forget the 2 free throws on the coach after you attempt to explain this.

tjones1 Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
5 point play???? A1 attempts a 3 pointer. While in the act of shooting, gets fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time. Shot goes in. A1 get one free throw for each foul, 2 total. The dreaded multiple foul penalty.

Also, if A1 attempts a 3 pointer, and is fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time, and the try is not successful, A1 gets 4 free throws, as the multiple foul penalty.

Of course, I did forget the 2 free throws on the coach after you attempt to explain this.

While very true by rule, if it happens, you better have a foul on B1 or B2. But I'm sure you know that! ;)

Scrapper1 Sat Jan 13, 2007 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
5 point play???? A1 attempts a 3 pointer. While in the act of shooting, gets fouled by B1 and B2 at the same time.

What if he gets fouled by B1, B2 and B3 at the same time? :eek:

mplagrow Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
What if he gets fouled by B1, B2 and B3 at the same time? :eek:

Then he has no business shooting, because A2 and A3 are wide open!

tjones1 Sun Jan 14, 2007 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
Then he has no business shooting, because A2 and A3 are wide open!

I completely agree!! :)

Jimgolf Tue Jan 16, 2007 11:48am

I re-watched the episode, and Ronnie Nunn said the basket counted because the defender was holding on to the rim while blocking the shot, and this is goaltending.

Raymond Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
I re-watched the episode, and Ronnie Nunn said the basket counted because the defender was holding on to the rim while blocking the shot, and this is goaltending.

Must be an NBA rule. Doesn't meet the NCAA criteria. (Don't have a FED book on me).

NCAA rule Section 32. Goaltending

Art. 1.
Goaltending shall have occurred when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try and each of the following conditions is met:
a. The ball is in its downward flight; and
b. The entire ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder.

Art. 2. It is goaltending to touch the ball outside the cylinder during a free throw, regardless of whether the free throw is on its upward or downward flight.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
I re-watched the episode, and Ronnie Nunn said the basket counted because the defender was holding on to the rim while blocking the shot, and this is goaltending.

That may be the case in the NBA, but it is certainly NOT true in either the NCAA or NFHS. Goaltending or BI would not be automatic because a player grasped the ring. The call depends upon where the ball is when either it or the basket is contacted.

In other words, these are two totally independent calls.

Scrapper1 Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
I re-watched the episode, and Ronnie Nunn said the basket counted because the defender was holding on to the rim while blocking the shot, and this is goaltending.

Jim, either you misunderstood him, or Mr. Nunn misspoke. Touching the rim while blocking a shot is not listed as goaltending or basket interference in the NBA rules (or there's been an unannounced change in the NBA's rules). From NBA.com:

Quote:

Section I-A Player Shall Not:
a. Touch the ball or the basket ring when the ball is using the basket ring as its lower base.
EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket.
b. Touch the ball when it is above the basket ring and within the imaginary cylinder.
c. For goaltending to occur, the ball, in the judgment of the official, must have a chance to score.
d. During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, whether the ball is considered on its upward or downward flight.
e. During a field goal attempt, touch a ball after it has touched the backboard below the ring level and while the ball is on its upward flight.
f. Trap the ball against the face of the backboard. (To be a trapped ball, three elements must exist simultaneously. The hand, the ball and the backboard must all occur at the same time. A batted ball against the backboard is not a trapped ball.)
g. Touch any live ball from within the playing area that is on its downward flight with an opportunity to touch the basket ring. This is considered to be a "field goal attempt" or trying for a goal.
h. Touch the ball at any time with a hand which is through the basket ring.
i. Vibrate the rim or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce.
The first provision is slightly different from the high school and college rule; but it doesn't seem to apply to the original scenario.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1