The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   When can the C make an over and back call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30722-when-can-c-make-over-back-call.html)

iref4him Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:02pm

When can the C make an over and back call?
 
I am working on a 3-man crew. I am the C and the ball is in my primary just above the free throw circle extended. A1 is dribbling the ball with lots of pressure from B1. The ball deflects off of B1's foot and then goes off A1's foot into the back court. (THE BALL WAS IN MY PRIMARY). A1 goes to get the ball in the backcourt. I whistle the over and back. The T comes over and explains to me that over and back is his call to make and he did not see the ball go off of A1. He wants to give the ball back to A. I asked him where he was looking? I thought the ball was in my primary. He said it was, but he has the responsibility and it is his primary to call over and back. I said I am not going to argue with you, but the ball was in my primary and it did go off of A1 last. He then invoked the I am the Referee for this game, it's A's ball. I believe C can make an O&B call. Does anyone else?? Or am I mistaken.

(By the way, we gave the ball back to A and discussed the situation at halftime. He wouldn't back down from his position. I had a whole another half to work and did not want any animosity on the floor.)

SeanFitzRef Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:11pm

It is the T's call, but if you have information for him that will help him make the call, give it to him/her and keep going. Then discuss at next deadball break or halftime.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:11pm

You have the best look on the "last touched by". Once you've made the call, all bets are off anyway, no matter who calls it. The T can't overrule you. Whether he is the R or not has no significance either. Once you've made the call, only you can change it.

Junker Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:15pm

Good call by you. You had definite knowledge that the ball was off A so they should have not gotten the ball back. Sometimes the C has to take this because if you don't there won't be a stoppage of play to tell the T who the ball was last touched by. My only suggestion is to make sure you fade back with the play so you have a good look at the division line when you make the call. Obviously you won't be able to see over and back from your natural C position.

Ref Daddy Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:15pm

My answer - when you amke eye contact with the T and see where they are on it.

All officials need to get it right - balanced against assigned calls and areas of coverage.

Eye contact shows your T your aware of their existance - but if you haveclear and exact evidence - Make the Call.

GoodwillRef Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:18pm

This was a great call on your part, I would make the same call everytime.

Your Trail has an attitude problem that need adjusting.

Rich Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by iref4him
I am working on a 3-man crew. I am the C and the ball is in my primary just above the free throw circle extended. A1 is dribbling the ball with lots of pressure from B1. The ball deflects off of B1's foot and then goes off A1's foot into the back court. (THE BALL WAS IN MY PRIMARY). A1 goes to get the ball in the backcourt. I whistle the over and back. The T comes over and explains to me that over and back is his call to make and he did not see the ball go off of A1. He wants to give the ball back to A. I asked him where he was looking? I thought the ball was in my primary. He said it was, but he has the responsibility and it is his primary to call over and back. I said I am not going to argue with you, but the ball was in my primary and it did go off of A1 last. He then invoked the I am the Referee for this game, it's A's ball. I believe C can make an O&B call. Does anyone else?? Or am I mistaken.

(By the way, we gave the ball back to A and discussed the situation at halftime. He wouldn't back down from his position. I had a whole another half to work and did not want any animosity on the floor.)

The referee tosses the ball. It doesn't give him the right to overturn your call.

Rich Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
Good call by you. You had definite knowledge that the ball was off A so they should have not gotten the ball back. Sometimes the C has to take this because if you don't there won't be a stoppage of play to tell the T who the ball was last touched by. My only suggestion is to make sure you fade back with the play so you have a good look at the division line when you make the call. Obviously you won't be able to see over and back from your natural C position.

You frequently have to help each other when a ball is tipped in someone else's primary. Big whoop, right?

Last week I had a ball roll out of bounds on my sideline (I was the lead, 2-person). I had a feeling it was tipped, but wasn't looking there as the ball was tipped outside my primary. So I got help. And life went on.

Camron Rust Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:48pm

Good call. I'd do it everytime. The call is only his when the entire play happens in his view. When a situation requires knowledge of action from two primaries to determine, then either official can (and should) call it....and usually, it the official who's primary it started in that will have all the information.

rainmaker Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by iref4him
(By the way, we gave the ball back to A and discussed the situation at halftime. He wouldn't back down from his position. I had a whole another half to work and did not want any animosity on the floor.)

In a tough spot, you were the adult, and kept things flowing. Good job!

mick hasn't been around much lately, so I'll say it for him:

Get in
Get done
Get out.

JRutledge Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:58pm

If the ball started in your primary and all the action with the ball happen in your primary, the C better make the call when it is obvious. It would be very hard pressed for a T to make a call they did not see or did not know why something happen. The T has this as their primary, but that does not mean that the C never can make this call.

Another situation that would be common for the C to make a call is when the ball is near half court on a press or trap, if the ball handler steps on the line or near the line (on the C's side especially), I do not expect the T to look through bodies and make this call.

Peace

Junker Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
You frequently have to help each other when a ball is tipped in someone else's primary. Big whoop, right?

Last week I had a ball roll out of bounds on my sideline (I was the lead, 2-person). I had a feeling it was tipped, but wasn't looking there as the ball was tipped outside my primary. So I got help. And life went on.

Well said. That's the point I was trying to get across.

zebraman Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by iref4him
I am working on a 3-man crew. I am the C and the ball is in my primary just above the free throw circle extended. A1 is dribbling the ball with lots of pressure from B1. The ball deflects off of B1's foot and then goes off A1's foot into the back court. (THE BALL WAS IN MY PRIMARY). A1 goes to get the ball in the backcourt. I whistle the over and back. The T comes over and explains to me that over and back is his call to make and he did not see the ball go off of A1. He wants to give the ball back to A. I asked him where he was looking? I thought the ball was in my primary. He said it was, but he has the responsibility and it is his primary to call over and back. I said I am not going to argue with you, but the ball was in my primary and it did go off of A1 last. He then invoked the I am the Referee for this game, it's A's ball. I believe C can make an O&B call. Does anyone else?? Or am I mistaken.

(By the way, we gave the ball back to A and discussed the situation at halftime. He wouldn't back down from his position. I had a whole another half to work and did not want any animosity on the floor.)

I have no problem with you making this call in your primary. The T should have just left it alone.

If I am visualizing this correctly (and there was at least 2 more players on your side of the floor), the lead should have been in the process of rotating to give you help on the ball side anyway (which would have meant that you were becoming the T and your overbearing T should have been becoming the C anyway).

GoodwillRef Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
If the ball started in your primary and all the action with the ball happen in your primary, the C better make the call when it is obvious. It would be very hard pressed for a T to make a call they did not see or did not know why something happen. The T has this as their primary, but that does not mean that the C never can make this call.

Another situation that would be common for the C to make a call is when the ball is near half court on a press or trap, if the ball handler steps on the line or near the line (on the C's side especially), I do not expect the T to look through bodies and make this call.

Peace


JRut,

This is a great point, the "C" can't run away when we have trap at the division line.

ocreferee Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by iref4him
I am working on a 3-man crew. I am the C and the ball is in my primary just above the free throw circle extended. A1 is dribbling the ball with lots of pressure from B1. The ball deflects off of B1's foot and then goes off A1's foot into the back court. (THE BALL WAS IN MY PRIMARY). A1 goes to get the ball in the backcourt. I whistle the over and back. The T comes over and explains to me that over and back is his call to make and he did not see the ball go off of A1. He wants to give the ball back to A. I asked him where he was looking? I thought the ball was in my primary. He said it was, but he has the responsibility and it is his primary to call over and back. I said I am not going to argue with you, but the ball was in my primary and it did go off of A1 last. He then invoked the I am the Referee for this game, it's A's ball. I believe C can make an O&B call. Does anyone else?? Or am I mistaken.

(By the way, we gave the ball back to A and discussed the situation at halftime. He wouldn't back down from his position. I had a whole another half to work and did not want any animosity on the floor.)

You made the right call, it was in your primary. I made an over and back call from the same position (C) last night as the ball was quickly passed across the division line and then the player decided to pass it back to the guard in the backcourt (all within 5 feet of my sideline).

We discussed it at halftime and the entire crew was happy with the double whistle we ended up having.

Mark Dexter Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:54pm

If you're absolutely sure of it (and you were) and you saw it, call the backcourt violation. As the trail official, I'll take any help I can get from the C with regards to the ball being tipped or not tipped, even if this means the C coming up to me after I call a violation and saying it shouldn't be one.

Also, I agree fully with Rut about the C helping out on a halfcourt line trap on the side opposite from the T. This is a great pre-game topic, as your crew can discuss help situations and your general philosophies about rotation.

Rich Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
If the ball started in your primary and all the action with the ball happen in your primary, the C better make the call when it is obvious. It would be very hard pressed for a T to make a call they did not see or did not know why something happen. The T has this as their primary, but that does not mean that the C never can make this call.

Another situation that would be common for the C to make a call is when the ball is near half court on a press or trap, if the ball handler steps on the line or near the line (on the C's side especially), I do not expect the T to look through bodies and make this call.

Peace

I've had a ball tipped by B into the backcourt on my side and I'll give a "tipped ball" signal to my T partner, who knows me well enough to look in my direction in this situation.

When it comes to lines, we all have more to look at than that -- so someone with definite knowledge is always welcome.

truerookie Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
I have no problem with you making this call in your primary. The T should have just left it alone.

If I am visualizing this correctly (and there was at least 2 more players on your side of the floor), the lead should have been in the process of rotating to give you help on the ball side anyway (which would have meant that you were becoming the T and your overbearing T should have been becoming the C anyway).

Z, totally agree with what you said. There is a whole lot of ball watching going on.;) A rotation should have be in the process by the lead which in turn would have prevented this scenerio.:cool:

Raymond Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
I have no problem with you making this call in your primary. The T should have just left it alone.

If I am visualizing this correctly (and there was at least 2 more players on your side of the floor), the lead should have been in the process of rotating to give you help on the ball side anyway (which would have meant that you were becoming the T and your overbearing T should have been becoming the C anyway).

You beat me to it z-man.

Rich Tue Jan 09, 2007 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef
JRut,

This is a great point, the "C" can't run away when we have trap at the division line.

And actually, this is where the C needs to force a rotation.

JRutledge Tue Jan 09, 2007 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
And actually, this is where the C needs to force a rotation.

You also have to have a Lead Official that recognizes a trap and rotates. That is the problem with a C forcing a rotation. All officials have to adjust.

Peace

jeffpea Tue Jan 09, 2007 02:39pm

In the original situation, ask the T - "is your goal to get the call right? or is your goal to only have the covering official make the call?"

The whole reason why officials exist is to correctly apply and administer the rules of the game.......which rule in the rulebook prevents an official from correctly calling this situation backcourt?

Rich Tue Jan 09, 2007 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
You also have to have a Lead Official that recognizes a trap and rotates. That is the problem with a C forcing a rotation. All officials have to adjust.

Peace

They always adjust, sooner or later ;)

JRutledge Tue Jan 09, 2007 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
They always adjust, sooner or later ;)

That depends on who you work with. The one way to solve this problem is to talk about this in pre-game. Then you can at least talk about this issue.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1