The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   IAABO Refresher Test Question #58. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/3066-iaabo-refresher-test-question-58-a.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 17, 2001 07:31pm

Question #58 is generating quite a bit of discussion in another forum and I am the only one who is defending the answer on the IAABO answer key.

While A-1 is dribbling, A-2 fouls B-2 and B-3 fouls A-3 simultaneously. Both team are in the bonus. Official awards both teams A one and one and resumes play wiht the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct.

The answer key say YES, with following NFHS Rules Book citations:

R4-S19-A8: A false double foul is a situation in which there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent.

R6-S3-A3g: In all jump-ball situations toher than the start of the game and each extra period, an alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: Opponents commit simultaneous personal or technical fouls.

I added the following NFHS Rules Book citations:

R4-S19-A1: A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing a normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead.

R4-S19-A2: A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double or multiple foul.

R4-S19-A7a: A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time.

R8-S7: Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which the fouls occured.

Summary of Penalties for All Fouls: The offended player or team is awarded the following:
3. Bonus free throw:
a. For the seventh, eigth and ninth tream foul each
half, if the first free throw is succesful.
b. Beginning with the 10th team foul each half
whether or not the first free throw is succesful.


I would like to entertain comments.

Dan_ref Wed Oct 17, 2001 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Question #58 is generating quite a bit of discussion in another forum and I am the only one who is defending the answer on the IAABO answer key.
...

I would like to entertain comments.

No you're not. I already posted that I agree with you,
although I believe your argument is weakly worded. That's
my comment, consider yourself entertained. Here are 2 links
to the discussion, it gets rather thick but hang in there.

http://www.gmcgriff.com/refonline/ww...ges/19476.html

http://www.gmcgriff.com/refonline/ww...ges/19346.html

BktBallRef Wed Oct 17, 2001 08:34pm

Simultaneous fouls, go to the arrow. 6-3-3g

This is not a FDF as the fouls occur simultaneously, not one after the other. This is a poor IAABO interpretation of an NF rule.

And that's all I have to say about that.

Dan_ref Wed Oct 17, 2001 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef


And that's all I have to say about that.

HA! I bet you not! :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 18, 2001 11:07am

Dan, I agree with you that my response was somewhat poorly worded; I often tell people that because I am an engineer mathematics in my first language and English is my second language. Having said that, there was a later post that more clearly explained my position and is the position that the NFHS and NCAA takes and here it is:

"That is, if A1 fouls B1 at 10:00, and B2 fouls A2 also at 10:00, the time on the B2 foul is "before the clock started following the [A1 foul]". (Obviously, I'm ignoring the situation where the clock starts for a fraction of a second, but it isn't registered onthe display.) It soesn't matter whether the fouls occurred simultaneously or sequentially -- the definition still applies." by Bob Jenkins


BktBallRef, IAABO does not "interpret" the rules as an IAABO interpretation. The fact the fouls are by both teams are a critical factor in them being part of a false double foul. When both teams commit fouls before the clock starts after the first foul that makes the entire fouls sequence (boy, how I hated to use that word) a false double foul. R6-S3-A3g tells us who we will but the ball into play after all of the other required penalties are imposed.

rockyroad Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:45pm

Ok...I have read everything on the other board about this topic, and am afraid I have to side with Mr. DeNucci, Sr...there is no provision in the NFHS rules for a "simultaneous" personal foul, so the only rule applicable to this situation would be the false double foul rule - in theory...we can't just decide to make up our own interpretation here and call them simultaneous fouls when those don't "exist" in the rule book...

DJ

Mark Padgett Thu Oct 18, 2001 01:33pm

If all you guys who support that answer are correct, then riddle me this, Batman: what the heck is NF 4-19-7 referring to when it describes a double foul and indicates there are no free throws?

In the original post, the fouls occurred at the same time, not one, then the other before the clock started.

In your thinking, there is <i><b>no such thing </b></i> as a "double foul", only "false double fouls". Certainly, I think there is a difference and I also think I know what the difference is because I have called both.

Now, I will agree there is no such thing as a "multiple foul" - at least never in my games ;)

If a partner ever would call one of those, I would override him and then chump-slap him into the next county.

rockyroad Thu Oct 18, 2001 02:03pm

Double foul doesn't fit the original situation either, because it has to be two players fouling each other...the original situation had A2 fouling B2 and at the same time B3 fouling A3...that surely aresn't no double foul...and again, there is no provision for simultaneous personal fouls...that wasn't too hard of a riddle...

DJ

Dan_ref Thu Oct 18, 2001 03:01pm

Here's my thinking on this mess...

1. It's not a double foul because it's not the same 2
players fouling each other.
2. It might be a false double foul because one of the
elements of a double foul is missing, meaning both teams
shoot FT's.
3. Simultaneous foul is interesting but there's not
enough support in the book to wave off the FT's. NCAA
4.26.15 defines a simultaneous foul as exactly what happens
in this play. NCAA 6.3.1f tells us we use the AP when
simultaneous fouls occur. Nothing anywhere in the NCAA book
about NOT shooting free throws on simultaneous fouls.
(I'm quoting the NCAA book because I have an electronic
copy of it making the search easier. I believe it gives
us at least as much, maybe even more guidance than the NF
book.)

I am vey willing to be shown how I'm wrong on any of these
(except #4), so if there's a hole here please point it out.

Mark Padgett Thu Oct 18, 2001 03:14pm

Arrrgh! I hate to be wrong. I missed the part about the fouls not being by the same players. I guess that's why I should wear my glasses when I read these things.

Actually, I was having a "senior moment".

My track record isn't too bad, however. I've only been wrong three times in my life and I've been married twice. You do the math. ;)

Tim Roden Thu Oct 18, 2001 03:53pm

6.3.3g does mention simultaneous personal fouls so the answer is yes. We go to the AP arrow after the free throws because this is also false multiple. So the IAABO answer is correct.

bigwhistle Thu Oct 18, 2001 05:20pm

NCAA simultaneous personal foul administration
 
. Nothing anywhere in the NCAA book
about NOT shooting free throws on simultaneous fouls.

Dan_ref..

For a simultaneous personal foul under NCAA rules, each foul carries its own penalty, and then the alternating possession arrow is used for the resumption of play. Therefore, it is actually possible for both teams to shoot bonus free throws in this situation.

I wish that I could site the page in the rule book for you, but I do not have it with me. I am getting this information from a Foul/Penalty chart which my supervisor gave me last week.

ChuckElias Thu Oct 18, 2001 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Double foul doesn't fit the original situation either, because it has to be two players fouling each other...the original situation had A2 fouling B2 and at the same time B3 fouling A3...that surely aresn't no double foul...and again, there is no provision for simultaneous personal fouls...that wasn't too hard of a riddle...

DJ

"aresn't"? :confused:

Chuck ;)

Mark Padgett Thu Oct 18, 2001 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Double foul doesn't fit the original situation either, because it has to be two players fouling each other...the original situation had A2 fouling B2 and at the same time B3 fouling A3...that surely aresn't no double foul...and again, there is no provision for simultaneous personal fouls...that wasn't too hard of a riddle...

DJ

"aresn't"? :confused:

Chuck ;)

"Aresn't" is a metric term. Rocky is in Vancouver, WA. Sometimes he thinks he's in Vancouver, BC. ;)

BktBallRef Thu Oct 18, 2001 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Ok...I have read everything on the other board about this topic, and am afraid I have to side with Mr. DeNucci, Sr...there is no provision in the NFHS rules for a "simultaneous" personal foul, so the only rule applicable to this situation would be the false double foul rule - in theory...we can't just decide to make up our own interpretation here and call them simultaneous fouls when those don't "exist" in the rule book...
Okay Dan, you were right, I couldn't resist. :)

DJ, simulataneous fouls do most certainly exist. See 6-3-3g. I can't tell you why it's not listed in the definitions but it is listed in rule 6.

Double fouls and double technical fouls are handled the same way. Why would simulataneous personal fouls and simultaneous technical fouls be handled differently? Answer, they shouldn't. When simultaneous fouls occur, it becomes an AP situation. When simultaneous technical fouls occur, it becomes an AP situation. In neither case do you shoot FTs.

Tim, you said, "this is also false multiple." I'm sure you wrote that mistakenly, since there's a foul on each team, not two fouls on the same team.

Mark D., this is most certainly an IAABO interpretation of the play. And it is not a FDF. Why? As I've been trying to tell you for a week that these fouls occur simultaneously, not one after the other, as in a FDF.

BigWhistle, it really doesn't matter what the NCAA says as this is an NF sitch.

Finally, this is fun! Glad to see things are starting to heat up! :D

Dan_ref Thu Oct 18, 2001 09:26pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:


Okay Dan, you were right, I couldn't resist. :)
Oh my God! Holy jumpin' bejeebees! Wow! Geeze Louise,
saints be praised and Good Night Irene!

Hey Brad, can I somehow get this post gilded and mounted
on a plaque?

:D

Anyway, great discussion folks and if anyone gets IAABO #58
wrong they should be made to work only girls JH games for
an entire season. :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Oct 18, 2001 09:58pm

BktBallRef this is most certainly a false doubl foul situation, please read the following, it clarifies what I have been saying:

"That is, if A1 fouls B1 at 10:00, and B2 fouls A2 also at 10:00, the time on the B2 foul is "before the clock started following the [A1 foul]". (Obviously, I'm ignoring the situation where the clock starts for a fraction of a second, but it isn't registered onthe display.) It doesn't matter whether the fouls occurred simultaneously or sequentially -- the definition still applies." by Bob Jenkins

Furthermore, this is not an IAABO interpretation, IAABO only uses NFHS/NCAA intepretations.

BktBallRef Thu Oct 18, 2001 11:17pm

Mark, first, if you're going to quote someone else, quote everything, not just what serves your purpose. here's Bob's entire post.

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins on the McGriff Basketball Board
Without taking sides in this interesting (but slowly becoming repetitive) debate, I'll point out that the bold phrase above can be read in two ways.

One is as you've read it -- the foul must occur "following the first".

The second is as Mark reads it -- it's not the sequencing of the fouls that's important, it's the time on the clock that's important.

That is, if A1 fouls B1 at 10:00, and B2 fouls A2 also at 10:00, the time on the B2 foul is "before the clock started following the [A1 foul]". (Obviously, I'm ignoring the situation where the clock starts for a fraction of a second, but it isn't registered onthe display.) It soesn't matter whether the fouls occurred simultaneously or sequentially -- the definition still applies (according to Mark).

I personally am more troubled by how this can happen. That is, if we can't have a simultaneous foul and violation (the officials must decide which occurred first), the how can we have simultaneous P fouls? Why don't we treat these instances the same?
Second, we'll just have to agree to disagree. Bob's right, this thing has become very repetitive. I don't think either one of us is going to convince the other to change his mind.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:


Okay Dan, you were right, I couldn't resist. :)
Oh my God! Holy jumpin' bejeebees! Wow! Geeze Louise,
saints be praised and Good Night Irene!

Hey Brad, can I somehow get this post gilded and mounted
on a plaque?

:D

Anyway, great discussion folks and if anyone gets IAABO #58
wrong they should be made to work only girls JH games for
an entire season. :)
There's one in every crowd. :D

Tim Roden Thu Oct 18, 2001 11:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
[Tim, you said, "this is also false multiple." I'm sure you wrote that mistakenly, since there's a foul on each team, not two fouls on the same team.

Finally, this is fun! Glad to see things are starting to heat up! :D [/B]
You are correct, I ment false double. False multiple is a slightly different animal.

Yes it is fun finally getting back into the rule book.

Just Curious Thu Oct 18, 2001 11:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
"It doesn't matter whether the fouls occurred simultaneously or sequentially -- the definition still applies." by Bob Jenkins
!?!?!?!?!?!?!Really?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

I believe there's a difference.... I don't see it as a FDF and it's definitely not a DF...... No FT's and I'm going to the arrow....

[Edited by Just Curious on Oct 19th, 2001 at 12:08 AM]

rockyroad Fri Oct 19, 2001 09:18am

Just to defend myself a little, I know that simultaneous fouls are "mentioned" in 6-3-3...I never said they weren't mentioned - I said there is no "provision" for them...in other words, there is nothing in the rule book to tell us exactly how to handle them...also, "aresn't" actually is a term we Vancouverites use to differentiate ourselves from the Canadian Vancouverites - who stole our name, by the way...we figure no one else would ever use a word like that!!

DJ

ChuckElias Fri Oct 19, 2001 10:33am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Anyway, great discussion folks and if anyone gets IAABO #58
wrong they should be made to work only girls JH games for
an entire season. :)
Whoa, ho, hey, hold on there, wait a minute. Has anybody actually said what the right answer is? This discussion's been going on so long I forgot what I'm supposed to give for an answer. I'm not looking forward to all those JH games :eek:

Chuck :D

Camron Rust Fri Oct 19, 2001 10:57am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Anyway, great discussion folks and if anyone gets IAABO #58
wrong they should be made to work only girls JH games for
an entire season. :)
Whoa, ho, hey, hold on there, wait a minute. Has anybody actually said what the right answer is? This discussion's been going on so long I forgot what I'm supposed to give for an answer. I'm not looking forward to all those JH games :eek:

Chuck :D
Whether it is a false double foul or just simultaneous personal fouls is ultimately of no consequence. In either case, you shoot the FTs as needed (1+1 or 2). Ball OOB with to the team with the arrow.

ChuckElias Fri Oct 19, 2001 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

Whether it is a false double foul or just simultaneous personal fouls is ultimately of no consequence. In either case, you shoot the FTs as needed (1+1 or 2). Ball OOB with to the team with the arrow.

Great, thanks. Now, uh, what was the question, again? ;)

Chuck

Dan_ref Fri Oct 19, 2001 12:08pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Anyway, great discussion folks and if anyone gets IAABO #58
wrong they should be made to work only girls JH games for
an entire season. :)
Whoa, ho, hey, hold on there, wait a minute. Has anybody actually said what the right answer is? This discussion's been going on so long I forgot what I'm supposed to give for an answer. I'm not looking forward to all those JH games :eek:

Chuck :D
Why not? You're more likely to see this sitch in a JH
game! And you'll know exactly what to do! :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Oct 19, 2001 01:01pm

Why is the foul situation in Question #58 a false double foul?

We really need to go back in history a little bit before the double foul definition was modified. Until a few years ago the definition of a double foul was what is now the definition of a double personal foul. The double foul definition was split into double personal foul and double technical foul because too many officials were forgetting that contact fouls when the ball is live are personal fouls.

The classic example of this was while A1 was dribbling the ball, A2 and B2 traded punches. There were officials that were charging these as flagrant technical fouls and awarding free throws to both teams. This was not correct. These fouls were flagrant personal fouls and because the fouls were personal foul this was a double foul and no free throws are shot for a double foul.

The NFHS and NCAA decided to modify the definition and thus was born the double personal foul and the double technical foul. But the definition for a false double foul stayed the same. Before the double foul definition was modified, what is now defined as a double technical foul was considered a false double foul because the double foul definition was what is now the double personal foul definition.

When the word double precedes the word foul in basketball it means that there are fouls committed by both teams during the time between the first foul or fouls were committed by either team and before the clock starts after the first foul or fouls were committed by either team.

The fact that there are fouls by both teams means that the situation is either a double (personal or technical) foul situation or a false double foul situation. There cannot be an overall foul situation where there are fouls by both teams during the time frame defined in the false double foul definition that is not either a double foul or a false double foul situation.

One must also remember that in a false double foul situation you can have any combination of the following types of fouls:

a) double personal foul,
b) simultaneous personal fouls,
c) double technical foul,
d) simultaneous technical fouls,
e) multiple fouls, and/or
d) false multiple fouls.

ChuckElias Fri Oct 19, 2001 01:40pm

Are you sure?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.


while A1 was dribbling the ball, A2 and B2 traded punches. There were officials that were charging these as flagrant technical fouls and awarding free throws to both teams. This was not correct. These fouls were flagrant personal fouls

Are you sure about this? Isn't exchanging punches considered fighting? Isn't fighting a flagrant technical foul, even if the ball is live? I'm pretty sure your assessment of the above situation is incorrect.

Chuck

Dan_ref Fri Oct 19, 2001 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Why is the foul situation in Question #58 a false double foul?...


Oh man, my head hurts. :rolleyes:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Oct 19, 2001 01:57pm

Re: Are you sure?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.


while A1 was dribbling the ball, A2 and B2 traded punches. There were officials that were charging these as flagrant technical fouls and awarding free throws to both teams. This was not correct. These fouls were flagrant personal fouls

Are you sure about this? Isn't exchanging punches considered fighting? Isn't fighting a flagrant technical foul, even if the ball is live? I'm pretty sure your assessment of the above situation is incorrect.

Chuck


The following rule references cover the situation I described:

NFHS R4-S18: Fighting is a flagrant act and can occur when the ball is dead or live. Fighting includes, but is not limited to combative acts such as:
A1: An attempt to strike, punch or kick an opponent with a fist, hands, arms, legs or feet regardless of whether contact is made.
A2: An attempt to instigate a fight by committing an unsporting act toward an oppoenent that causes an oppoonent to retaliate by fighting.

NFHS R4-S19-A1: A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead.

NFHS R4-219-A4: A flagrant foul may be a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct. It may or may not be intentional. If personal it involves, but is not limited to violent contact such as striking, kicking and kneeing. If technical, it involves dead-ball contact or noncontact at any time which is extreme or persistent, vulgar or abusive conduct. Fighting is a flagrant act.


Also, the definition of fighting is a relatively new addition to the rules book.

ChuckElias Fri Oct 19, 2001 10:38pm

Now, I'm not sure
 
Mark, interesting references. I can see why you'd say these were personal. But I looked up fighting in the NF rulebook, and I'm almost sure it was listed under player technicals in Rule 10. I'm going to have to go back and double check. Good references tho.

Chuck

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Oct 19, 2001 10:57pm

Chuck:

You are correct about NFHS R10-S3-A10, but the definition of a personal foul takes precedence in defining what is and is not a personal foul. Another point that should be remembered that may not be apparent is that you can have only one person charged with fighting. A player's actions can be to instigate a fight and if the victim does not retaliate then only one person is charged with fighting.

It should be noted that because the NFHS does not have specific game suspension penalties for fighting like the NCAA, the definition for fighting really has no impact on the players who are charged with fighting but do have an impact on substitutes and other bench personal with regard to penalties during the game.

ChuckElias Sat Oct 20, 2001 07:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Chuck:

You are correct about NFHS R10-S3-A10, but the definition of a personal foul takes precedence in defining what is and is not a personal foul.

Not that it's really critical (b/c whether it's a flagrant personal or flagrant technical, the player is ejected), but why would you say that the "personal" definition "takes precedence"? I'm pretty sure that the Rule 10 reference is explicit. A player is charged with a flagrant technical foul when -- he is charged with fighting. This seems pretty clear. Why would a much more complicated explanation have precedence?

Quote:


Another point that should be remembered that may not be apparent is that you can have only one person charged with fighting. A player's actions can be to instigate a fight and if the victim does not retaliate then only one person is charged with fighting.

I agree completely, but this isn't the case in the example you cited. You talked about two players exchanging punches. So while I agree with your point above, I'm not sure why you made it. What were you trying to get at?

Chuck

bob jenkins Sat Oct 20, 2001 09:16am

Re: Now, I'm not sure
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Mark, interesting references. I can see why you'd say these were personal. But I looked up fighting in the NF rulebook, and I'm almost sure it was listed under player technicals in Rule 10. I'm going to have to go back and double check. Good references tho.

Chuck

It is listed there -- that's just to cover the swing-and-miss scenario. Live ball, swing-and-hit is a personal foul. Dead ball, swing-and-hit is a T (it could have been covered under 10-3-9).

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Oct 20, 2001 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Chuck:

You are correct about NFHS R10-S3-A10, but the definition of a personal foul takes precedence in defining what is and is not a personal foul.

Not that it's really critical (b/c whether it's a flagrant personal or flagrant technical, the player is ejected), but why would you say that the "personal" definition "takes precedence"? I'm pretty sure that the Rule 10 reference is explicit. A player is charged with a flagrant technical foul when -- he is charged with fighting. This seems pretty clear. Why would a much more complicated explanation have precedence?

Quote:


Another point that should be remembered that may not be apparent is that you can have only one person charged with fighting. A player's actions can be to instigate a fight and if the victim does not retaliate then only one person is charged with fighting.

I agree completely, but this isn't the case in the example you cited. You talked about two players exchanging punches. So while I agree with your point above, I'm not sure why you made it. What were you trying to get at?

Chuck


In this case the personal foul definition takes precedence over the R10-S3-A10, because there are only two types of fouls: personal and technical.

Personal fouls are contact fouls when the ball is live (I have not forgotten the airborne shooter provision, I just want to keep it simple. All other fouls are technical fouls.

Joel Poli Tue Oct 23, 2001 10:11am

If it is a FDF, Why do we use the AP?
 
If it is a FDF, Why do we use the AP?

Dave King Tue Oct 23, 2001 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

Whether it is a false double foul or just simultaneous personal fouls is ultimately of no consequence. In either case, you shoot the FTs as needed (1+1 or 2). Ball OOB with to the team with the arrow. [/B]
I'll preface this by saying "this ain't gonna ever happen"...

Anyway, what if this happens when A is in the bonus and
B is not; and the Arrow favors "A"?
Does "A" get 1+1 plus the ball? "B" gets NOTHING???.

I've read all of Mark D's rules citations, and while I respect his (and others) opinion of the play, I still say its not a FDF. Obviously, they do not have a Rule 4 definition for "Simultaneous personal Fouls", which is what this is.

Q#58 says the fouls happened simultaneously. An FDF is when a second foul occurs before the clock starts FOLLOWING (read AFTER -- or AT A DIFFERENT TIME than) the first.

In an FDF, each foul carries its own penalty. Which of the 2 seperate fouls in Q #58 includes a throw-in as part of its penalty?.... And again, if "A" is in the bonus and has the arrow, and B is not, what does "B" get out of it? They're not even getting their throw-in (for A's foul).

I'll quit posting on this now...
Somebody make an addendum to 4.19 !!!!



Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 23, 2001 09:19pm

The foundation for simultaneous personal fouls being false double fouls.
 
It took some time but I have foundation for simultaneous personal fouls being double fouls.

The NFHS and NCAA Men’s Rules Committee, for the 1980-81 season, added two center jump situations (the center jump has now been superceded by the alternating possession arrow). These two situations are simultaneous personal fouls and simultaneous technical fouls, and can be found in the 2001-02 rules books at:

NFHS: R6-S3-A3g

NCAA Men’s and Women’s: R6-S3-A1f.

Quoting from the NFHS 1980-81 Comments on the above rule change:

Addition of Two Center Jump Situations (R6-S2-A3, R6-S2-A4). The false double foul rule was revised over a three-year period. The rule is now clearly written and easy to understand and administer. The present coverage can result in two instances where a center jump is required following administration of free throws. If the fouls involved in the last penalty of a false double foul are simultaneous personal or simultaneous technical fouls by opponents (but not on each other) a center jump must follow the free throw administration. It would not be fair to allow play to continue as normal following a made or missed free throw at either end of the court. It would also have been true that with simultaneous personal fouls and neither team in the bonus, if there were no jump ball, one team would be awarded the ball out-of-bounds. The two additions clarify that a center jump is required in these two instances, so neither team is given an advantage.

Dave King Wed Oct 24, 2001 08:43am

Good god man...WHY do you have a 1980-81 rule book???

You would think that this procedure would be included in, oh, I don't know, A CURRENT RULE BOOK....

NF: How about a Rule 4 Def. for a simultaneous personal foul, along with a definitive penalty admin?

What I still don't agree with is the penalty admin with one team in the bonus and the other not. The NF as gone to great lengths with the other simultaneous/double situations to make sure that one team does not overly "profit" from these situations. If A is in bonus, and has the arrow, and B is not in the bonus, this situation could produce a 4 or 5 point swing (or more) for team A.

I don't think they're being consistent on this one...

I tip my hat to Mark on his perseverance...

dk

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Oct 24, 2001 10:18am

The penalty administration for simultaneous personal fouls is really quite equal.

First: Simultaneous personal fouls are a false double foul (I know, I know, but I am quite stubborn and correct on this one). Remember the word double means fouls by both teams.

Second: Only in a double foul (and not a false) are free throw not shot, no matter what type of fouls are committed are committed by the two opponents (flagrant, intentional). In a false double foul the penalties for each foul must be carried out. The center jump (AP arrow nearest the spot of the foul) is just a way to put the ball into play after the penalty of the last foul.

In all of the following plays the ball is live, Team A has the AP arrow when A1 fouls B1 at the same time B2 fouls A2.

Play 1: Both fouls are common fouls and neither team is in the bonus. Team A gets the AP throw-in.

Play 2: Both fouls are common fouls and Team A is in the bonus and Team B is not. A2 shoots free throws and then Team A gets the AP throw-in.

Play 3: Both fouls are common fouls and Team B is in the bonus and Team A is not. B1 shoots free throws and then Team A gets the AP throw-in.

Play 4: Both fouls are common fouls and and both teams are in the bonus. B1 shoots free throws, then A2 shoots free throws, and then Team A gets the AP throw-in.

Play 5: A1's fouls is intentional or flagarant and B2's is common and neither team is in the bonus. B1 shoots free throws and then Team A gets the AP throw-in.

I think you can see where I am going with these examples. Nothing would change if Team B had the AP arrow except that if both teams were going to shoot free throws you would have B1 shoot free throws last.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1