The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Coach Ejected! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30627-coach-ejected.html)

truerookie Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:00pm

Coach Ejected!
 
Team B Head coach was ejected tonight in a JV game.

Question is: Does the assistant LOSE the coaching box too?

mplagrow Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:02pm

Since when is there an assistant's coaching box?

truerookie Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
Since when is there an assistant's coaching box?

There is no assitant coaching box. The asst took over for the ejected coach.

Does the assistant now have the right to use the box after the HC was ejected?

bigdogrunnin Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:05pm

YES! The assistant coach is restricted to his/her seat.

truerookie Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
YES! The assistant coach is restricted to his/her seat.

Ok! thanks

mplagrow Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
There is no assitant coaching box. The asst took over for the ejected coach.

Does the assistant now have the right to use the box after the HC was ejected?

Absolutely not. The assistant furthermore gets less latitude to speak than the coach had in the first place. IMHO, of course.

armymanjones Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:19pm

The assistant is now the head coach for the remainder of the game and is treated as such. He is limited to his seat seeing that a tech has been called that is directly attributed to the head coach. He however does not have a tech contributed to him for disqualification purposes. He still has two techs before he has to hit the road

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 05, 2007 03:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mplagrow
Absolutely not. The assistant furthermore gets less latitude to speak than the coach had in the first place. IMHO, of course.

The assistant coach becomes the head coach, and should receive the exact same latitude to speak as was previously granted to the former head coach. Iow, the assistant comes in with a clean slate, and his actions will determine your reactions. The only difference is the loss of coaching box privileges.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 05, 2007 05:17am

I'm not sure that I believe in the promotion of the asst coach to head coach for the remainder of the game. Perhaps the team is now simply without a head coach and is being run by the asst coach. Of course, this creates some difficulties.
1. Can anyone on the bench request a time-out?
2. Who would be charged with the direct technical foul if a DQ'd player is not replaced in 30 seconds?
3. If a DQ'd player returns to the game and participates, who would be charged with the technical foul?

Just a different perspective.

gazebra Fri Jan 05, 2007 07:36am

Those questions are exactly why the asst coach becomes the head coach for the remainder of the game. Someone has to be in charge of the squad, and the asst now assumes those duties.

Wisscott Fri Jan 05, 2007 07:49am

JV Coaching Box?
 
Just a question. Since when does a sub-varsity coach even have a coaching box.
In Wisconsin only varsity coaches have that priviledge. Once it's lost by the head coach, if he is ejected his replacement doesn't have the box.

BktBallRef Fri Jan 05, 2007 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I'm not sure that I believe in the promotion of the asst coach to head coach for the remainder of the game. Perhaps the team is now simply without a head coach and is being run by the asst coach. Of course, this creates some difficulties.
1. Can anyone on the bench request a time-out?
2. Who would be charged with the direct technical foul if a DQ'd player is not replaced in 30 seconds?
3. If a DQ'd player returns to the game and participates, who would be charged with the technical foul?

Just a different perspective.

1. Yes.
2. Yes.
3. Yes.

BktBallRef Fri Jan 05, 2007 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wisscott
Just a question. Since when does a sub-varsity coach even have a coaching box.
In Wisconsin only varsity coaches have that priviledge. Once it's lost by the head coach, if he is ejected his replacement doesn't have the box.

It's a state option as described in the rule book. As written by the NFHS, the state option allows all head coaches have coaching box privileges, no matter the level of play. Evidently, Wisconsin does their own thing, which is their choice.

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 05, 2007 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I'm not sure that I believe in the promotion of the asst coach to head coach for the remainder of the game. Perhaps the team is now simply without a head coach and is being run by the asst coach. Of course, this creates some difficulties.
1. Can anyone on the bench request a time-out?
2. Who would be charged with the direct technical foul if a DQ'd player is not replaced in 30 seconds?
3. If a DQ'd player returns to the game and participates, who would be charged with the technical foul?

Just a different perspective.

1)No
2) Nobody.
3) Nobody.

You left out that correctable or timing/scoring errors could now <b>never</b> be appealed either also.

If there's no head coach, then <b>obviously</b> none of the rules pertaining to head coaches apply any longer.

Happy now?:)

PS- you gotta know that I was kidding, folks, even though Nevada wasn't.

Old School Fri Jan 05, 2007 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I'm not sure that I believe in the promotion of the asst coach to head coach for the remainder of the game. Perhaps the team is now simply without a head coach and is being run by the asst coach. Of course, this creates some difficulties.
1. Can anyone on the bench request a time-out?
2. Who would be charged with the direct technical foul if a DQ'd player is not replaced in 30 seconds?
3. If a DQ'd player returns to the game and participates, who would be charged with the technical foul?

Just a different perspective.

1.) In the absence of no coach and no assistant coach, YES!
2.) I would just go to the bench and just get someone to replace him. However, if you go into the 30 second to replace a disqualified player (for fouling out) routine and you start the timeout clock, and we reach the end of this time period. You could enforce a technical to the bench. 2 shots and the ball back to the offended team.
3.) Charge the technical to the bench and eject the player. Player must now leave the playing area.

Questions 2 and 3 are good questions. In HS, these technicals are also team fouls to count towards the bonus. In college, this in an indirect technical to the bench, does not count towards the bonus. It gets even more interesting when you consider the captain of the team and this person has not been disqualified. Does he/she now assume the role of the assistant coach? I would say not but not sure what the rules say. This person can certainly make decisions like who goes into the game following a disqualification, calling timeouts, addressing correctable error issues, etc.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1