The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Case Play from SEC Camp (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30613-case-play-sec-camp.html)

ncaabbref Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:07am

Case Play from SEC Camp
 
Here is a good one you guys! Had some interesting answers at our HS meeting last night. Here is the play:

Player A2 in on the left wing outside the 3 point line. B2 is defending. A1 has the ball at the top of the key. B2 takes a quick peak at A1 (with the ball). As B2 rotates their head left (away from A2 to take the peak at the ball), A2 cuts left (around B2) toward the basket.

A passing lane opens and A1 makes an easy pass to A2 (on their way for an easy lay-up). A2 catches and possess the ball (on the move) with their RIGHT foot on the floor. Then, A2 takes a step with their LEFT foot toward the basket, LIFTING their right foot. (OK so far????)

Then, because A2 is not close enough to the rim for an easy lay up, A2 gets innovative and HOPS on their left foot (the right foot still never touching the floor again). A2 then lays the ball up and in for an easy left side lay-up.

You are at Lead (ball side) and have a fantastic view of the play. What would you call? Traveling (and wave off the score)? Nothing (a legal play)? Nothing (astonished that this actually happened)? Nothing (do not understand Rule 4, Section 44)? How would you back it up if questioned?

(And, YES this case play actually happened!!)

:D

bob jenkins Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:30am

Travelling. The only "argument" can be over literal parsing of the rules.

tomegun Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:30am

Travelling

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:34am

It's a travel. It might not be specifically defined as such...or at all....but the intent and purpose of the rule can't be to allow a player to pogo-hop down the court without dribbling or shooting while in player control of the ball.

Not specifically covered iow, but that's what I'd call....just off the top of my head.

M&M Guy Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:35am

I don't even work anywhere near the SEC, so I can't pretend to know what they would do. But in my game, that's a travel.

Dan_ref Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:36am

My vote....wait for it...travel.

gazebra Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:50am

travel, or as the kids would call it "ups and downs"

btaylor64 Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ncaabbref
Here is a good one you guys! Had some interesting answers at our HS meeting last night. Here is the play:

Player A2 in on the left wing outside the 3 point line. B2 is defending. A1 has the ball at the top of the key. B2 takes a quick peak at A1 (with the ball). As B2 rotates their head left (away from A2 to take the peak at the ball), A2 cuts left (around B2) toward the basket.

A passing lane opens and A1 makes an easy pass to A2 (on their way for an easy lay-up). A2 catches and possess the ball (on the move) with their RIGHT foot on the floor. Then, A2 takes a step with their LEFT foot toward the basket, LIFTING their right foot. (OK so far????)

Then, because A2 is not close enough to the rim for an easy lay up, A2 gets innovative and HOPS on their left foot (the right foot still never touching the floor again). A2 then lays the ball up and in for an easy left side lay-up.

You are at Lead (ball side) and have a fantastic view of the play. What would you call? Traveling (and wave off the score)? Nothing (a legal play)? Nothing (astonished that this actually happened)? Nothing (do not understand Rule 4, Section 44)? How would you back it up if questioned?

(And, YES this case play actually happened!!)

:D

I don't know what year of SEC camp you are talking about but since most all the guys are still of the coach Guthrie line this would be a walk because of the pro "hop" rule, therefore I would say that it is a travel cause you cannot hop off of one leg and land on the same leg. I know, I know it is a travel in any ruleset but I would bet that at camp that is the reasoning they gave.

armymanjones Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:29am

In my game it would be a travel

BktBallRef Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:00pm

Traveling in NFHS and NCAA.

truerookie Thu Jan 04, 2007 04:10pm

It's like Geico. Even a (Truerookie) can call it. Travelling!:D

Scrapper1 Thu Jan 04, 2007 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie
Even a (Truerookie) can call it.

Ok, first of all, I'm not really in love with your tone.

http://adweek.blogs.com/photos/uncat.../caveman_1.jpg

Adam Thu Jan 04, 2007 05:53pm

I seem to have lost my appetite.

rainmaker Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:04pm

(ring, ring) "It's my mom. I'll put it on speaker..."

Jimgolf Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:02pm

Has a pivot foot been established? Yes, per 44-2-a-2.
Then 44-3-b applies "If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

Jimgolf Fri Jan 05, 2007 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Has a pivot foot been established? NO! Per your own rule citation, the first foot to touch the floor becomes the pivot foot when the other foot touches the floor. And in the original situation, the second foot never touched. He just hopped on the same foot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ncaabbref
A2 catches and possess the ball (on the move) with their RIGHT foot on the floor. Then, A2 takes a step with their LEFT foot toward the basket, LIFTING their right foot. (OK so far????)


Right foot and left foot were different last time I looked.

Scrapper1 Fri Jan 05, 2007 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Right foot and left foot were different last time I looked.

The lesson, as always: I'm an idiot.

M&M Guy Fri Jan 05, 2007 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The lesson, as always: I'm an idiot.

Two hours have gone by, and no one is jumping to your defense. So I will jump in and help a fellow Cub fan. (Oh, wait, that doesn't necessarily refute the idiot part, does it?)

Anyway, I had the same initial impression you did after reading the post, but went back later and saw the reason for the question - the pivot foot had not yet come back down, so can we call a travel before the pivot foot comes back down? I still say yes, only because that loophole was certainly not intended by the rules committes(s). If a coach presses me on it, I'll just give him 2-3 as the reference. So there.

Raymond Fri Jan 05, 2007 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy

Anyway, I had the same initial impression you did after reading the post, but went back later and saw the reason for the question - the pivot foot had not yet come back down, so can we call a travel before the pivot foot comes back down? I still say yes, only because that loophole was certainly not intended by the rules committes(s). If a coach presses me on it, I'll just give him 2-3 as the reference. So there.

Jimgolf provided the pertinent rules reference: 4-44.3b. There is no loophole.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 05, 2007 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Jimgolf provided the pertinent rules reference: 4-44.3b. There is no loophole.

That rule reference contains the phrase "After coming to a stop ...." In the OP, the player never stopped.

That's why my first response in this thread was to the effect that the only arguement to be had on this case was some overly ANALytical parsing of the rules book.

Raymond Fri Jan 05, 2007 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That rule reference contains the phrase "After coming to a stop ...." In the OP, the player never stopped.

That's why my first response in this thread was to the effect that the only arguement to be had on this case was some overly ANALytical parsing of the rules book.

Quote:

A passing lane opens and A1 makes an easy pass to A2 (on their way for an easy lay-up). A2 catches and possess the ball (on the move) with their RIGHT foot on the floor. Then, A2 takes a step with their LEFT foot toward the basket, LIFTING their right foot. (OK so far????)

Then, because A2 is not close enough to the rim for an easy lay up, A2 gets innovative and HOPS on their left foot (the right foot still never touching the floor again). A2 then lays the ball up and in for an easy left side lay-up.
The pertinent words in 4-44-3b are [i]"and establishing a pivot foot:"
Once A2 took a step with his LEFT foot he established his RIGHT foot as the pivot and his actions are governed by 4-44-2b and 4-44-3b.

M&M Guy Fri Jan 05, 2007 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The pertinent words in 4-44-3b are [i]"and establishing a pivot foot:"
Once A2 took a step with his LEFT foot he established his RIGHT foot as the pivot and his actions are governed by 4-44-2b and 4-44-3b.

I know what you're saying, but there are some who would argue 4-44-2(b)1, then 4-44-3(a) applies.

Remember, we're both on the same side of the arguement, it's just that you feel the rule is concrete, and there are some who don't feel it's quite as obvious. Bottom line, it's still a travel in most people's books.

Raymond Fri Jan 05, 2007 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
I know what you're saying, but there are some who would argue 4-44-2(b)1, then 4-44-3(a) applies.

Remember, we're both on the same side of the arguement, it's just that you feel the rule is concrete, and there are some who don't feel it's quite as obvious. Bottom line, it's still a travel in most people's books.

I hear ya. Maybe my reply should have been: What a waste of virtual space! We need to create a Darwin award for this thread. ;)

ncaabbref Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:38pm

comon guys, I just wanted to weed out the rule book quotes!!!:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1