![]() |
End Line Throw In
Team A has a throw in after a made (or awarded) basket and A1 chooses to pass the ball to A2 along the endline. 1) Is it legal for A2 to receive this pass after leaving the court in bounds but before touching oob? 2) Is it legal for A2 to catch the ball while it is behind the endline, but A2 has one or both feet touching in bounds?
My initial reaction is that it is legal in both for an endline throw in, but a violation in both for a spot throw in. |
Quote:
|
1. Legal throwin, but OOB on A2 as soon as she lands OOB. When A2 catches the ball in the air after having left from inbounds, the throwin ends legally. Upon landing, you now have an OOB violation.
2. Depends. If the only thing on the floor is inbounds, it's legal. If A2 is straddling the line (part in, and part out), violation. |
Quote:
?? am I correct :confused: ?? If not, I'm sure someone will let me know very quickly... Coach M, S. Hagerstown Lady Rebels. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Isn't #2 in my original post a violation of 9-2-3?
|
Quote:
|
Answering very specifically:
Quote:
If the ball is on the inbounds side of the boundary plane when A2 catches it, then so far all action is legal. You did not state what A2 did after catching the ball. If he lands OOB with the ball this is a simple OOB violation. However, he could throw a pass to another teammate prior to landing or he could request a time-out. All I know is that no violation has occurred at this point. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Main Entry: <SUP>1</SUP>till http://www.m-w.com/images/audio.gif Pronunciation: <TT>t<SUP>&</SUP>l, t&l, 'til</TT> Function: preposition Etymology: Middle English, from Old English til; akin to Old Norse til to, till, Old English til good 1 chiefly Scottish : TO 2 or 'til also til : UNTIL |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Interesting. So during a throwin by A1, B1 may reach across the boundary plane and catch the ball once it's been released, but A2 may not. I hadn't considered that before.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
10.3.11 SITUATION B: After a field goal, the score is A-55, B-54. A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 throws the ball toward A2 who also is out of bounds along the end line. B2 reaches across the end line and grabs or slaps the ball while it is in flight. Time expires close to the moment the official indicates the infraction. RULING: A technical foul is charged against B2. The remaining time or whether Team B had been previously warned for a delay-of-game situation is not a factor. No free throws are awarded as the winner of the game has been determined. (9-2-11 Penalty 3, 4) |
So it depends on the location of A2 whether or not B2 may touch the ball. Tricky.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41am. |