![]() |
Tennessee/Texas 5sec. call
On a throw in situation should the official blow his whistle on the hand signal of the 5th sec. or just after?
|
What difference does it make? Saw the play, it was a great call.
To answer your question, the violation occurs as soon as the count hits 5; not shortly after. |
It does not make any difference. The ball is already dead before the whistle is blown anyway.
Peace |
More Than
Quote:
From the 2006-07 NCAA rulesbook: Rule 6 Section 5. Dead Ball Art. 1. The ball shall become dead or remain dead when: ... g. Any floor violation (Rules 9-3 through 9-13) occurs, there is basket interference or goaltending (Rule 9-16) or there is a free-throw violation by the free-thrower’s team (Rule 9-1). Rule 9 Section 5. Throw-in Art. 1. The thrower-in shall not: ... d. Consume more than five seconds from the time the throw-in starts until the ball is released. |
Saw the play, he made the right call, and it was a GREAT call! I don't know of many officials who would have made that call, and wrong though it is, a lot would have reset their count when the new thrower stepped out of bounds. I am a BIG U. of TEXAS fan, and it was a good game (even though Texas' youth and inexperience showed up with 15 minutes to go in the second half). I thought the officials did a good job.
|
Quote:
Thanks. |
I'm not sure which play bigdogrunnin is talking about, but with Tennessee had just scored on the huge three (about 30 feet away) to take a one point lead. Texas brought the ball to half court and called time-out. On the ensuing throw-in, TN played outstanding defense and TX couldn't get the ball in. You can see the official's count, and right after he hits 5, TX player attempts to call time-out; too late. The official raises his hand and extends his fingers (presumably with a whistle blowing, but you can't hear it.)
|
The play I was talking about was after a made basket by Tennessee later in the second half. Texas player is going to inbound the ball and has it in his hands. Official starts count. The Texas player decides he isn't going to inbound the ball and places is back on the floor, the official is at two in his 5-second count. A second Texas player comes and grabs the ball, and the official is at 3. 4. 5. TWEET! 5-second violation on the throw in.
What I meant, is I know a lot of officials that will reset their 5-second count when the second player obtains the ball. I thought the official did a great job in this instance. Hope that helps. |
I missed that one. The announcers made a comment that made me think maybe they'd already done it once earlier; now it makes sense. You're right that a lot of newer refs would have restarted their count; but a college ref should know better, especially at D1. The one I saw was with about 18 seconds left in regulation.
|
I'd like to hear people's opinion on the game tying basket by Texas with 1 second left in regulation. Looked like a PC foul to me. (The official had a no call).
|
I thought the ball was released before contact. Even with a foul, the basket would have counted. I also thought maybe the defender was flopping before contact, but I didn't have a good angle. :)
|
Quote:
Quote:
With that being said, at that point in the game, good no call. The offensive player did not try to drive thru his shot, he pulled up for the jumper, incidental contact, again, good no-call. The referees let the players decide. Good game to watch! Happy Holidays |
I doubt it had anything to do with being too deep in the lane. both players were 10 feet away from the hoop. I still thought it was a good call.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
2-7-9 . . . Silently and visibly counting seconds to administer the throw-in (7-6), free-throw (8-4; 9-1-3), backcourt (9-8) and closely-guarded (9-10) rules. This is important because of all the video taping of games these days. When a coach sends a copy of the tape to the league office of you swinging your arm only four times, but calling a five second violation, you're in trouble. When a coach sends one that shows you swinging your arm six times, but still NOT calling a five second violation, you're screwed! Your arm swings are your official count. |
Quote:
I don't know if I agree that your arm count takes presidence. My count is always in my head, and the reason is such. I give the ball to the thrower-in, and I accidently drop my whistle. I got one arm up to hold the clock, and the other arm needs to retrieve the whistle and put it back in my mouth, during this time, the count remains in my head even though I may have missed a couple of seconds with my arm movement and consequently only show 3 arm movements for the violation. In counting 10 seconds, sometimes I forget to start the count, and start my count at 2 or 3, however much time I think has elapse from the time the ball was put in play to now. I sync my cadence with the clock, really useful with a shot clock because if I'm at 5, and the shot clock shows 30, I know I'm in sync with the time cadence. |
I would tend to agree with NR. Your count and arm swings should always be coordinated. If you start your arm swing late, then you start your count late. Coaches, the good ones anyway, are looking at you and talking to their players. If you are counting in your head, but do not give a VISIBLE count as well, you put the team and that player at a disadvantage. And yes, I understand that by starting your count late that you put the other team at disadvantage as well, but I would rather have a visible advantage for a team than an invisible disadvantage. (does that make sense?)
As for having a lot of other things to do . . . well, every official on the floor has a lot of stuff to do and a lot of things to worry about. That is why we learn to "multi-task." |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Another example: Shot clock reads 23 and my hand count is 9, or shot clock reads 27 and my hand count is 10. Am I not going to call a violation because my count doesn't match the shot clock? In as much as possible I agree that the arm count should match the invisible count, but it is not an absolute. Hopefully, this type of thing won't determine the outcome of a game, if called, but continued mismatch of arm and invisible count, could show some inconsistency in officiating mechanics. |
Quote:
Is this really what coaches and evaluators look at? If they were concerned about whether the violation, or lack of one, was proper, wouldn't they time the play to check? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As for the shot clock (or game clock), if your count is FAST, adjust the speed of your count from that point forward to accomodate the discrepancy. EVERY evaluator and assignor I have ever had has told me, it is always a good idea to be "a little" slow on your counts. It you start a count "a little" late, then you are already slow, and continue from there. JMO |
Quote:
However, I will also admit that I have never heard of a review of a 5 second call, or an evaluator looking at a tape to determine if it was a correct 5 second call violation based on the referee arm strokes. Never heard of that and I've never heard of a game coming down to a backcourt or 5 second throw in call violation. If the coach is worried about the fact the referee only showed 4 strokes of the arm and called a 5 second violation, he/she should probably be officiating and not coaching, and guaranteed, this coach is going to get out coached. |
Quote:
|
Old school,
You are correct. WE ALL forget or get caught up with other aspects of our duties at different times. I am sure I have implied that I am perfect when it comes to counts, but believe, I am NOT. I guess I should say, "an official should ALWAYS try . . ." As for games coming down to 5-second counts, or BC counts. I have had at least 4-5 in the past 2 years come down to just that. And, when a coach is pressing looking for that call, or the offensive coach is checking the count to see if a TO needs to be called, I want to be "johnny-on-the-spot!" As for coaches calling assignors or sending in tapes . . . I had a coach do that to one of my partners last season. He called our assignor and scratched the official because he wasn't consistently visible on his counts, and the coach didn't like it. It happened in a game that wasn't close (10-12 points), and he won, but I guess he had a point to make. Just thought I would share. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34pm. |