The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   traveling question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30399-traveling-question.html)

just another ref Fri Dec 22, 2006 05:45pm

knew somebody would say this...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
It might be good to speak in layman terms, but when talking about counts has nothing to do with what the rules says. If I land on one foot and that is your pivot feet, then you can step (or count) as many times with the other foot.

The laymen and I all seem to agree that the "count" refers to different foot or feet landing in sequence. The "moves" in question are all made while "moving." When you stop and pat the same foot over and over, it is no longer a "count." Up to now, this explanation has been very well received, and apparently, reasonably well understood, which is more than I can say for "Over the back is not a foul."

JRutledge Fri Dec 22, 2006 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The laymen and I all seem to agree that the "count" refers to different foot or feet landing in sequence. The "moves" in question are all made while "moving." When you stop and pat the same foot over and over, it is no longer a "count." Up to now, this explanation has been very well received, and apparently, reasonably well understood, which is more than I can say for "Over the back is not a foul."

I do not make the statement because of how it is received. I want them to understand that the language I use and most officials use is not related to counts. Now when I was playing I do not recall using the term counts as a part of what was or what was not a travel.

BTW, I have used to much success the comment, "Over the back is not a foul." But I usually back it up with what the rule is or "there is nothing special with the back, he was in his vertical space (or bigger and out jumped your player). The success that I have had is more about directing the conversation whether than if they like it or not. I would rather a coach to stop using a term that does not apply then worry about if they agree with me.

Peace

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 22, 2006 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pitchfork
Jurassic Referee
I'm talking about senerio #1, end dribble in the air that is clearly in the rule book . No offense JRutledge but I believe Jurassic has it crrect you can end the dribble in the air. Is that a direct quote from the rule book, Jurassic?

NFHS rule 4-44-2a(1):
<i>"A player who catches the ball while moving <b>or dribbling</b> may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a(1)-if both feet are off the floor and the player lands simultaneously on both feet, <b>either</b> foot may be the pivot".</i>

NFHS rule 4-44-3a:
<i>"After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or<b> try for goal</b>".</i>

Those are the applicable rules, pitchfork <i>verbatim</i>. NCAA rules are the same. Iow, the play as described by you is legal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1