The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another Travel Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30354-another-travel-question.html)

PYRef Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:11pm

Another Travel Question
 
Saw this at a girls Varsity game tonight:
A1 & B1 going for a loose ball. A1 falling down onto her back while clearly bobbling the ball. A1 does gain control of the ball against her chest when already on the floor and doesn't slide. Ref called the violation.

I didn't think this would be a travel as she wasn't holding the ball before she fell.

Lead made the call and it's possible that he didn't have a clear view of the bobble from his angle. It was definitely a quick, bang bang type of play. It was bobble, on floor, control. She wasn't laying there bobbling it while on her back.

My post isn't to question the call of the refs, they did a great job. I'm just curious if the play as I described above would constitute a travel?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:37pm

As described, it's a legal play.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
A1 does gain control of the ball against her chest when already on the floor and doesn't slide. Ref called the violation.

...Thus perpetuating another rules misconception. At least they were spared the barage of "THAT'S A TRAVEL!!!!" from the crowd.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
Saw this at a girls Varsity game tonight:
A1 & B1 going for a loose ball. A1 falling down onto her back while clearly bobbling the ball. A1 does gain control of the ball against her chest when already on the floor and doesn't slide. Ref called the violation.

I didn't think this would be a travel as she wasn't holding the ball before she fell.

Lead made the call and it's possible that he didn't have a clear view of the bobble from his angle. It was definitely a quick, bang bang type of play. It was bobble, on floor, control. She wasn't laying there bobbling it while on her back.

My post isn't to question the call of the refs, they did a great job. I'm just curious if the play as I described above would constitute a travel?

If the play happened as you describe, then it was not a travel.

BTW, Hawkeye is trying to tell you that a player is allowed to slide after gaining control of the ball while on the floor. That is not a travel either.

just another ref Thu Dec 21, 2006 01:32am

Yes, even in this day and time, with all the information available to learn the rules, (like this site for example) you still hear a lot of whistles from "good" officials on things that "look funny." You know, the kind that make the crowd, in unison, say "OHHH!" And if there is no call, you hear remarks like,
"That had to be a ....walk......or something!!"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1