![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Well, it's settled then. Only one applicable rule citation:
4-23-3c After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. Additionally, Which player first committed to leaving his vertical space? Defender Which player made a stupid play? Defender Which player made the best basketabll play? Shooter Reward the shooter. If this OP is a foul on the shooter....if airborne shooter and airborne defenders share equally the right to a landing spot (...no rule citation here was supplied here, by the way), then please don't let the defenders of this world know. Because we'll have guarding players jumping up and out of vertical in front of driving shooters like a flea circus. Yikes! |
|
|||
Quote:
And what if the shooter leaves his feet first? Is it still a foul on the shooter if the defender moves under him? Great logic. |
|
|||
Still about verticality and LGP...
I think this play, with all of the rules citations and everything, should still be judged by determining LGP and verticality.
Did the defender jump straight up, or out towards the shooter's fake position? Once doing that, did the defender forfeit his/her legal gaurding position? Did the shooter initiate contact by throwing body into the defender, or did the shooter simply slide to an unoccupied spot on the floor where the defender was jumping forward to? Looks to me as if the defender jumped out towards the shooter, forfeiting LGP, and the shooter moved to a spot on the floor, not into the defender. Two shots.
__________________
Nature gave men two ends - one to sit on and one to think with. Ever since then man's success or failure has been dependent on the one he used most. -- George R. Kirkpatrick |
|
|||
Quote:
If a player jumps forward to grab a rebound, would you call a foul on him if an opponent moved under him from the side after the player had left his feet? There's no LGP involved in this play, is there? If a dribbler and a defender are running down the floor in established straight-line paths side-by-each, can the dribbler veer to the side and force the defender out of his straight-line path legally because the defender didn't have LGP? The same concept in both case is used to make the call. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Move Up? | Hartsy | Basketball | 30 | Fri Jul 29, 2005 08:54pm |
Mechanics...should I move? | Little Jimmy | Softball | 4 | Sun May 08, 2005 10:31am |
I said move! | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:55am |
NFL "football move" | emceemc | Football | 3 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 03:44pm |
Move up? | refjef40 | Softball | 7 | Tue Apr 01, 2003 05:38pm |