![]() |
Quote:
2) That's irrelevant. The player standing OOB that <b>first</b> touched the throw-in committed a violation as per rule 9-2-10. The listed penalty for that violation is a throw-in to the opponents at the <b>original throw-in spot</b>. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Btw, please note that Mr. Webb did not consider rule 9-2-10 as one of the references he gave to support his interpretation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Iow, R9-3 is simply an irrelevant rules reference imo. |
Quote:
|
JR cites 9-2-10 to say this is a throw-in violation. But other rules just as clearly state otherwise.
7-6-1 requires: The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. That is exactly what happened. The throw-in was made to another player and was touched -- out of bounds -- which is exactly what this rule allows. This makes it a legal throw-in; not a throw-in violation. Since the throw-in was legal, we need to look elsewhere for a violation. That elsewhere is 9-3-1, (causing the ball to go OOB). Also, we need to look at how this change occurred. It was "snuck in" without notice in 2004-05. And I am told (and have shared with this group) by a member of the Rules Committee, that this was not the intent of the change. If the Fed actually wanted to change the rule for this violation and bring the ball back to the original throw-in spot, I suggest that it would have included this as a "major editorial change." As much as I enjoy this exercise, my bottom line is that the rule is not nearly as clear as JR suggests. Given that, I have to follow the interpretation from my rules experts. |
Quote:
Lemme help you out--"The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so <font color = red>it touches or is touched by another player(in bounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched</font>". And does 7-6-1 specify a throw-in spot for that violation? But...... where does the penalty for 9-2-2 state that the subsequent throw-in after the violation shall go? All together now.......:D |
Good grief, rule 9-2-10 is perfectly clear. “No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.” How much clearer can it be? Maybe the Fed meant this to only apply to members of the thrower’s team; but we don’t know this. Until they clarify otherwise (I would even take a case play) I have to apply this as written. Original spot, as it’s a throwin violation on the defense.
As such, if it happens during an AP throwin; the arrow stays put. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm. |