The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   live ball contact- technical foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29963-live-ball-contact-technical-foul.html)

refnjoe Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:26am

live ball contact- technical foul?
 
Anyone else see the Kentucky v. Chattanooga?

At one point, there was a technical foul called on Kentucky pointguard Derrick Jasper, reportedly for pushing off against Kevin Bridgewaters. I thought perhaps there was more to it, but if there was taunting or anything of that nature, it wasn't evident in the replays.

The announcers seemed to indicate that the T was just for the contact, which didn't seem flagrant.

Anyway, I wondered about the rule. As I understand it, you can't have a T for contact during a live ball- it could be ruled as intentional or flagrant, but not a T? Is there a difference under NCAA rules?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
Anyone else see the Kentucky v. Chattanooga?

At one point, there was a technical foul called on Kentucky pointguard Derrick Jasper, reportedly for pushing off against Kevin Bridgewaters. I thought perhaps there was more to it, but if there was taunting or anything of that nature, it wasn't evident in the replays.

The announcers seemed to indicate that the T was just for the contact, which didn't seem flagrant.

Anyway, I wondered about the rule. As I understand it, you can't have a T for contact during a live ball- it could be ruled as intentional or flagrant, but not a T? Is there a difference under NCAA rules?

There's no difference in this example.

just another ref Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:54am

Didn't see it, first I've heard of it, but I'm gonna go out on a limb and say the announcers made a mistake.

refnjoe Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:07am

My first thought was that the announcers made a mistake, and perhaps the call was intentional foul. But the officially clearly signaled a T.

If the announcers got the reason for the call wrong, so has the media...

If it wasn't for the contact, I don't know what it was for.

btaylor64 Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:04am

Who got the ball? the offended team or did they go to POI? Cause if it was contact and their was a T given then it was an intentional technical and the offended team receives the ball at the division line.

refnjoe Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:44am

Chattanooga received the ball- I'm not questioning if the call was a technical- the signal and the mechanics clearly confirmed that was the call.

My question is about the rule, particularly whether I misunderstood the rule before, or whether there is something different in NCAA rules that would permit a technical foul for liveball contact.

Oh, and what pray-tell, is an "intentional technical" as you say ?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
Chattanooga received the ball- I'm not questioning if the call was a technical- the signal and the mechanics clearly confirmed that was the call.

My question is about the rule, particularly whether I misunderstood the rule before, or whether there is something different in NCAA rules that would permit a technical foul for liveball contact.

Oh, and what pray-tell, is an "intentional technical" as you say ?

Intentionally (but not flagrantly) contacting an opponent while the ball is dead (or words substantially to that effect). It applies only to NCAAM (not NCAAW). The definition is in the rule book.

refnjoe Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:37pm

Thanks bob jenkins.

So, is there anything in the rule book that would permit that call for LIVE ball contact?

Nevadaref Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnjoe
So, is there anything in the rule book that would permit that call for LIVE ball contact?

Nope. The official probably got it wrong. It happens frequently. It also happened during the Cal/Kansas State game on the flagrant.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1