The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF
I believe that the official blow the whistle to stop the clock and gave KU the ball with a throw in at the POI. I don't think that they called anything...
That is what the official on the game did. What are the opinions of those here about handling it this way?



Dexter, rainmaker has the correct NFHS case book play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
The player went down due to the contact - but there would not have been a traveling call since the player didn't pick up the ball - he did gain control on the floor - The official blew the whistle and gave the ball back to Kansas - there was a short discussion betweet the center and trail.
The sideline is tight there but they blew a rule on this one.
In general I did not think this crew had a very good day on the floor overall.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
I did not see the game (I was calling one). The contact with the player OOB caused A1 to go down. Would there not be a foul here??? IF the sub was "inbounds," could that not be considered 6 players on the court, hence a T for too many players? Where was the EXACT location of the sub, and HOW did A1 contact him? Sounds like the crew missed this one IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
The sub was out of bounds about six inches
The Kansas player was driving along the sideline and his foot was out of bounds and made contact with the subsititute going to the table.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 05, 2006, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Here is my take on the sitch -

Another interesting play in the game -
Near the 12:00 mark in the 1st half, a USC bench player (B6) was up to check-in to the game. KU, A1, dribbling up the sideline, was unintentionally tripped by B6, and fell with the ball. A1 could have either been called for a travel or OOB violation, as it was hard to tell which happened first. Officials saw the incident and were aware of what happened.

B6 was OOB and A1 was not OOB before the trip.

Officials gave the ball to KU for a throw-in.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd trip by coach ggk Baseball 11 Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:37am
trip rec's jeffb Football 12 Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:54am
Definition of a Trip aepitaz Baseball 11 Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:45pm
U-Trip Balls Dukat Softball 6 Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:18am
Trip/or no trip? J_Biz Lacrosse 2 Mon May 14, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1