![]() |
Quote:
For some reason they decided during replay first look for the clock, then look for the LED, then listen for the horn. |
Quote:
Quote:
For NCAA the period ends with the red LED lights, if they are present and working, or the horn sounding if no lights. However, when judging whether a try for goal shall count or not using the monitor, the game clock showing zero has #1 priority, then the LED lights, and finally the horn. Now I also believe that the same would apply to deciding whether or not a foul took place prior to end of a period. Is that true? |
Quote:
That said, 2-5-2 tells all. To your question: 2-5-2.f. Ascertain whether a foul, at or near the expiration of time that will determine the outcome of the game (win, lose, tie), occurred before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock. 1. When it is determined that the foul occurred before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock, the official is permitted to put the exact time back on the clock as to when that foul was committed. Note: An on-screen graphic display on the monitor may be used only when the display is synchronized with the official game clock. A.R. 11. At or near the expiration of time, A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and then after the foul releases the ball for a try for goal. A1’s try is (a) successful (b) unsuccessful. RULING: When a foul and a try for goal sequentially occur at or near the expiration of time, the official shall use the monitor to determine whether the foul and the try occurred before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock. In (a), when it is determined that the foul occurred before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock but the try was not released before the reading of 0.00, the foul shall be penalized and the goal shall not count. When it can be determined with the use of the monitor, the official shall be permitted to put the exact time on the game clock as to when the foul occurred. When it is determined with the use of the monitor, that both the foul and the try occurred before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock, the foul shall be penalized and the goal shall count. When it can be determined, with the use of the monitor, the official shall be permitted to put the exact time on the game clock as to when the foul occurred. When this determination cannot be made, the official shall be permitted to put the exact time back on the game clock when it can be determined as to when the ball passed through the net. In (b), since the try was unsuccessful, the official shall use the monitor to determine whether the foul occurred before the reading of 0.00 on the game clock. When it is determined that the foul occurred before the reading of 0.00, the foul shall be penalized. When it can be determined, the officials shall be permitted to put back on the game clock the exact time as to when the foul occurred. |
Thank you Dan that is very helpful.
From the wording it looks like the game clock showing zero is again controlling in the case of a foul, not the LED lights or the horn. With the new elimination of lag time, I hope that the NFHS is smart and adopts the same ruling even in the absence of a monitor. Just substitute definite knowledge for the monitor. This way we won't get rulings such as the one from Canada that started another thread. |
Quote:
I've been "grammared'. I used infer as a synonym for conclude which my dictionary says is correct. Nevertheless, my implication was based on logical inference. |
Quote:
When the clock says 00:00 and the horn has not sounded the period is not over. In that case the officials do not go to the monitor to determine if the period ended, because it clearly by rule has not. |
Quote:
The other strange thing about that gym was the clock and scoreboards were on the sides of the court, not the ends. That's the first time I'd seen that; it took a little getting used to. |
Quote:
The listener or reader infers, the writer or speaker implies, get it? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Hypothetical Twist
Quote:
Team A is down by one point with a few seconds left in the game. B1 fouls A1 (non-shooting foul) and the clock is stopped at 0:00.0, BUT the horn has not sounded. A is awarded a throw-in. A1 inbounds to A2, who miraculously taps the ball in for a 3 point basket. The ball clearly left his hand before the horn sounded (let's ignore for the moment the physics governing impulses). The covering official signals good basket, and the R goes to check the monitor. At this point, B's coach points out that, in order to count on review, the ball must have left the hand before 0:00.0 is displayed on the couch. (The video shows that the ball left the hand before both the red light and the horn came on.) Do you: a) go with the call on the floor? b) agree with B's coach - the clock showed :00.0, so no shot? c) call me a dextering wacko for thinking up this scenario? d) think the NCAA and/or clock manufacturers should fix this? e) all of the above? (FWIW - NBA rules state that "if the ball is dead and the game clock shows :00.0, the period has ended even though the horn may not have sounded." (5.III.b)) |
Quote:
The blue is the correct call by the NCAA rules. What is in red is certainly true, but demonstrates your creativity. The pink is what needs to be done. PS The couch comes into this play due to all the therapy that you need! :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51pm. |