The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   team control during freethrow? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29822-team-control-during-freethrow.html)

ctpfive Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:06pm

team control during freethrow?
 
Does a team have team control during a freethrow? And if they do, when does that control start? Thanks in advance.

Teigan Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:07pm

Team control I do believe starts at the moment the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. And yes there is team control (Rule 4 Sec. 13 Art 6)

rainmaker Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:08pm

Rule 4-12. Especially note arts 5 and 6.

rainmaker Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Teigan
Team control I do believe starts at the moment the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. And yes there is team control

AACCHH!!! You beat me. But my post is more didactic.

Teigan Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:18pm

i saw your rules quote...and i followed your lead....threw one of my own in there

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:20pm

Soooooooo....is there team control if you put the ball at the <b>disposal</b> of the free-throw shooter but he hasn't picked it up yet?

If a teammate of the FT shooter commits a foul <b>before</b> the FT shooter picks up the ball that is at his disposal, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled?

If a teammate of the the FT shooter commits a foul <b>after</b> the FT shooter picks up the ball, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled?

Inquiring minds need to know!

Adam Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:31pm

Why would the FT be cancelled?

ctpfive Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:32pm

The 06-07 officials quiz on referee.com is saying that there is not team control during a freethrow. Quest. #11. There is team control during:
A) a throw in
B)while a pass from A1 to A2 is in flight
C)a dribble by A1
D)a free throw while the shooter is holding the ball
E)a jump ball

I chose b,c, and d. However, they are saying b and c are the only answers. Is this a mistake or am I interpreting the question wrong?

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctpfive
The 06-07 officials quiz on referee.com is saying that there is not team control during a freethrow. Quest. #11. There is team control during:
A) a throw in
B)while a pass from A1 to A2 is in flight
C)a dribble by A1
D)a free throw while the shooter is holding the ball
E)a jump ball

I chose b,c, and d. However, they are saying b and c are the only answers. Is this a mistake or am I interpreting the question wrong?

REFEREE has been known to be wrong- many times.:)

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Why would the FT be cancelled?

Who said it was?:confused:

Nobody has anwered any questions yet.

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Teigan
Team control I do believe starts at the moment the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower. And yes there is team control (Rule 4 Sec. 13 Art 6)

Is that NFHS or NCAA?:confused:

Do you have an NFHS cite?

ctpfive Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:41pm

the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctpfive
the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers

Well, then REFEREE is wrong. Again.

REFEREE is not an official rules source and never has been.

Teigan Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:45pm

NCAA page BR-79

BktBallRef Fri Dec 01, 2006 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctpfive
the answer key or solutions that referee provides does not have (D) as one of the answers

4-12-1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.


During a FT, if a player holding a live ball inbounds? You tell me, ctp5. :)

ctpfive Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:00pm

So, referee is wrong and there is in fact team control during a FT while the shooter is holding the ball. Thank you. I just expected a little more than that from a magazine like referee.

rainmaker Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctpfive
I just expected a little more than that from a magazine like referee.

Why did you?

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
4-12-1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.


During a FT, is a player holding a live ball inbounds? You tell me, ctp5. :)

Yabut, if the free thrower isn't holding a live ball, has never held a live ball, his teammates haven't held a live ball, but that live ball is at his disposal ,is theer or is there not team control?

You tell me, anybody.:)

BktBallRef Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yabut, if the free thrower isn't holding a live ball, has never held a live ball, his teammates haven't held a live ball, but that live ball is at his disposal ,is theer or is there not team control?

You tell me, anybody.:)

Does the word disposal appear in the rule?

4-12-1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.

PYRef Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:28pm

A player is in control when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

A team is in control when a player of the team is in control.

Therefore, if the ball is merely ay the disposal of the freethrower and not held or dribbled by him/her.........no team control.

PYRef Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:29pm

You beat me to it BBR

All_Heart Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Soooooooo....is there team control if you put the ball at the disposal of the free-throw shooter but he hasn't picked it up yet?

If a teammate of the FT shooter commits a foul before the FT shooter picks up the ball that is at his disposal, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled?

If a teammate of the the FT shooter commits a foul after the FT shooter picks up the ball, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled?

Inquiring minds need to know!

1) No

2) Common foul because the ball is live. Blow whistle, report foul, shoot free throws with no one in the spaces, give ball to other team for throw-in at closest spot to the foul. (If last free throw is made then they can move along the end line). (If the other team is in the bonus then shoot those free throws with players on the line)

3)Team Control Foul, FT is cancelled. If ball is in the air when foul is committed then it counts if it is made.

Am I right? Am I, Am I :p

jdw3018 Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
A team is in control when a player of the team is in control.

Except a team is still in control, even though a player isn't, during passing activity, an interrupted dribble, or a loose ball.

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Except a team is still in control, even though a player isn't, during passing activity, an interrupted dribble, or a loose ball.

You can't establish team control until you establish player control though, can you?

jdw3018 Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You can't establish team control until you establish player control though, can you?

Not as far as I know. I was simply pointing out that you don't have to have player control to have team control. My post was really not germane to this thread at all. :D

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
1) No

2) Common foul because the ball is live. Blow whistle, report foul, shoot free throws with no one in the spaces, give ball to other team for throw-in at closest spot to the foul. (If last free throw is made then they can move along the end line). (If the other team is in the bonus then shoot those free throws with players on the line)

3)Team Control Foul, FT is cancelled. If ball is in the air when foul is committed then it counts if it is made.

Am I right? Am I, Am I :p

Well, #3 isn't.

I ain't saying on the others.:p

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 01, 2006 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Not as far as I know. I was simply pointing out that you don't have to have player control to have team control. My post was really not germane to this thread at all. :D

Thanks for the help.:)

just another ref Sat Dec 02, 2006 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You can't establish team control until you establish player control though, can you?


This question was left open in the thread about rolling the ball. Is it stated anywhere that team control starts only with player control? Team A inbounds the ball, and immediately, without any player catching the ball, advances up the court with a series of touch passes. By definition passing includes players batting or rolling the ball to each other. Also by definition, as stated here earlier, team control includes passing activity. So why would a foul in this situation not be a team control foul?

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 02, 2006 03:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
Is it stated anywhere that team control starts only with player control? Team A inbounds the ball, and immediately, without any player catching the ball, advances up the court with a series of touch passes. By definition passing includes players batting or rolling the ball to each other. Also by definition, as stated here earlier, team control includes passing activity. So why would a foul in this situation not be a team control foul?

case book play 4-12-6 referencing throw-ins says <i>"The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 <B>gains</b> control.</i> That means that neither player or team control has been established because either is needed to have a backcourt violation as per 9-8.

just another ref Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
case book play 4-12-6 referencing throw-ins says <i>"The throw-in ends when A2 touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 <B>gains</b> control.</i> That means that neither player or team control has been established because either is needed to have a backcourt violation as per 9-8.

But this doesn't answer the original question. In this particular situation, the point is that the count doesn't start until team control is gained. The point is not how team control is gained. This is a situation that one might never see, but the series of batted passes would seem to constitute team control, whether an individual player ever caught the ball first or not.

Zoochy Sat Dec 02, 2006 03:00pm

OK here is my thought on a foul while the ball is at the disposal of A1 but A1 has not picked up the ball. I don't care if there actually is or is not team control. Most likely it would be an Intentional foul. Players are either lined up or not lined up. If there is a foul, then no one is making a play on the ball. You probably have players pushing and/or shoving. Thus Intentional Foul. A1 would shoot the original free throw. The shoot the free throws for the Intentional foul. Ball OOB at the spot of the foul.:D

Raymond Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:55am

Nfhs...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
OK here is my thought on a foul while the ball is at the disposal of A1 but A1 has not picked up the ball. I don't care if there actually is or is not team control. Most likely it would be an Intentional foul. Players are either lined up or not lined up. If there is a foul, then no one is making a play on the ball. You probably have players pushing and/or shoving. Thus Intentional Foul. A1 would shoot the original free throw. The shoot the free throws for the Intentional foul. Ball OOB at the spot of the foul.:D

Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).

All_Heart Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If a teammate of the the FT shooter commits a foul after the FT shooter picks up the ball, is it a team control foul and the FT is cancelled?

How is this handled?

Zoochy Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).

I am well aware that the ball is 'live' when it is at the disposal of the free thrower. Whether the thrower has the ball or the ball is placed on the floor. I am just thinking that if during this time frame, then when a player commits a foul it would be Intentional in nature. So the question of 'Team Control' does not even enter into the equation.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
How is this handled?

The only thing that cancels a FT is a violation by Team A. Fouls do not cancel FTs.

Player control is established when a player is dribbling or holding a live ball inbounds. Team control is established at the same time. Batting the ball does not establish team or player control.

During a dead ball, which includes the time before the FT shooter holds the ball, any contact should be ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant. SInce the ball is dead, the foul would be technical, not personal.

Nevadaref Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Rule 6-1-2c: ...the ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Therefore, while the ball is in the officials hand(s) up until the point the free thrower has the ball at his/her disposal, the ball is dead. Contact warranting a whistle during this period would be during a "dead ball" thus a technical foul (4-19-5c).

They are discussing a situation in which the FT shooter doesn't accept the ball or is not there due to the RPP and the ball is placed on the floor at the FT line. That is the other way to put it at the disposal of the FT shooter and make the ball live.

So, if A2 fouls B3 during this time what are you going to do? ;)

Raymond Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
They are discussing a situation in which the FT shooter doesn't accept the ball or is not there due to the RPP and the ball is placed on the floor at the FT line. That is the other way to put it at the disposal of the FT shooter and make the ball live.

So, if A2 fouls B3 during this time what are you going to do? ;)

8-1-2 reads ...placed at the disposal of the thrower OR placed on the floor...

I've scanned the rulebook but I haven't found anywhere that states the ball is live solely because RPP is being utilized. 6-1-2 is pretty specific about when a ball becomes live.

Does RPP equate to disposal?

Zoochy Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
They are discussing a situation in which the FT shooter doesn't accept the ball or is not there due to the RPP and the ball is placed on the floor at the FT line. That is the other way to put it at the disposal of the FT shooter and make the ball live.

So, if A2 fouls B3 during this time what are you going to do? ;)

Live ball. Intentional (Personal) Foul!!!!

Zoochy Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
8-1-2 reads ...placed at the disposal of the thrower OR placed on the floor...

I've scanned the rulebook but I haven't found anywhere that states the ball is live solely because RPP is being utilized. 6-1-2 is pretty specific about when a ball becomes live.

Does RPP equate to disposal?

Let's just think about the situation. If you are using RPP for either throw-in or free throw, then when do you start the 5 sec. or 10 sec. count? Once you start the count, then the ball is live. Thus, ball is placed on the floor (at the disposal). Are you starting the count?

Raymond Mon Dec 04, 2006 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
Let's just think about the situation. If you are using RPP for either throw-in or free throw, then when do you start the 5 sec. or 10 sec. count? Once you start the count, then the ball is live. Thus, ball is placed on the floor (at the disposal). Are you starting the count?

I'm looking for definitive status (live/dead) in writing (rulebook or casebook). 6-1-2 states specifcally ball becomes live when at the disposal of the thrower. 8-1-2 lists placing ball at disposal and placing ball on the floor as 2 separate acts.

I would agree with you if 8-1-2 said placed at the disposal of the thrower (including placing the ball on the floor).

Nevadaref Mon Dec 04, 2006 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
8-1-2 reads ...placed at the disposal of the thrower OR placed on the floor...

I've scanned the rulebook but I haven't found anywhere that states the ball is live solely because RPP is being utilized. 6-1-2 is pretty specific about when a ball becomes live.

Does RPP equate to disposal?

Does this help? :)

PLACING AT DISPOSAL
8.1.1 SITUATION A: A1 is awarded two free throws. After the players have had sufficient opportunity and time to take their positions for the first throw, the administering official bounces the ball to the free thrower. Did the official follow proper procedure? RULING: Yes. On free throws, the word “disposal,” is interpreted to mean that the official shall bounce the ball to the free thrower, but if the free thrower refuses to accept it, the official may place the ball on the floor at the free-throw line and begin the count. This procedure constitutes putting the ball at the free-thrower's disposal. However, in this situation, the ball becomes live when it is caught by the free thrower. (4-4-7b)

Zoochy Mon Dec 04, 2006 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I'm looking for definitive status (live/dead) in writing (rulebook or casebook). 6-1-2 states specifcally ball becomes live when at the disposal of the thrower. 8-1-2 lists placing ball at disposal and placing ball on the floor as 2 separate acts.

I would agree with you if 8-1-2 said placed at the disposal of the thrower (including placing the ball on the floor).

If Team B is not ready, then the ball is bounced to A1. Once A1 has the ball it is 'at the disposal'. Team A is not ready, then place the ball on the floor. Once ball is on the floor then it is 'at the disposal'.
I also believe page 59 in case book, Case play 8.1.1 explains it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 04, 2006 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart
How is this handled?

If the ball hasn't left the FT shooter's hands on the shot when a teammate commits the foul, the ball is dead immediately and it's a player control foul. The FT shooter then gets replacement FT(s) with no one on the lanes. If the last FT is made, the opponents get an endline throw-in as after any made FT. If the last FT is missed, the opponents get a spot throw-in at the closest spot to where the team control foul occurred.

As soon as the ball is at the disposal of the FT shooter, any foul committed by a teammate before the FT is in the air is a team control foul.

Case book play 6.7SitB.

rainmaker Mon Dec 04, 2006 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
If the ball hasn't left the FT shooter's hands on the shot when a teammate commits the foul, the ball is dead immediately and it's a player control foul.

????????????? (let's see, is that ten of them?)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1