The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3 Seconds in the paint (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29781-3-seconds-paint.html)

jcarter Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:55am

3 Seconds in the paint
 
Wanting to get more opinions. This is in NFHS rules, I have been a licensed official for a handfull of years but this is the first year I have really started to pursue moving up and improving on my game.

Had a situation in rec ball, no arguing by anyone it just came up in a conversation after the game and I wanted to find out for sure if I was correct or not. I have talked to my assingor but I wanted to get more opinions on it.

Situation: A1 in the front court with the ball, A2 is in the paint, where he has been all night pushing a 3 second+ call every time down the court. A1 dribbles to about the free throw line and goes up for a try at a goal. No one blocks the shot but it was one of those where i believe he was actually making a try for the goal, the ball only makes it about halfway to the rim and drops. A2 then grabs the ball and puts it in for a goal.

B1, during a stop in the clock comes over and respectfully asks what my opinion was on calling 3 seconds on A2. I stated that in my opinion my 3 second count resets as soon as the ball left A1 hands on the attempted try.

I am trying to find out if this is correct or not, If i am correct on my thinking then no problem, if I am not correct then A2 was in the lane way to long.

Thanks for your input.

Raymond Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:08am

Nfhs...
 
Team control continues until the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

A player shall not remain for three (3) seconds in that part of his/her free-throw lane... while the ball is in control of his/her team...

If you consider A1 as making a legimate shot attempt then your 3-second would terminate while ball was in flight and a new count would start when A2 gains control of the ball.

cmckenna Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:08am

Well there is no player control or team control on a shot so if you were at 2 seconds when the shot was released, the count ends.... And the count would not start again unless a player from A gained control on the rebound or miss....

IREFU2 Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Team control continues until the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

A player shall not remain for three (3) seconds in that part of his/her free-throw lane... while the ball is in control of his/her team...

If you consider A1 as making a legimate shot attempt then your 3-second would terminate while ball was in flight and a new count would start when A2 gains control of the ball.

I concur. Give me a call when you get a chance.

jcarter Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:27am

Thanks for the input, I was sure I had the call correct but i was having a hard time finding it in the rules book. That helps tremendously.

Thank you

Junker Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:31am

Where did you find a rec league that has players "respectfully" questioning a call?:D Sorry, I just had to ask. Good no call in my opinion.

jcarter Thu Nov 30, 2006 01:03pm

I completely understand that statement, but here in NW Indiana we have a couple of towns with very respectful rec leagues. Yes we get an occasional technical but for the most part the players show the officials the respect they deserve.

I probably should not have said that now we will have an inrush of refs! :D

Junker Thu Nov 30, 2006 01:14pm

Only if they are going to pay me mileage.

Adam Thu Nov 30, 2006 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
Only if they are going to pay me mileage.

Go visit the scenes from Hoosiers, Jeff, and deduct the mileage from your taxes. :)

HawkeyeCubP Thu Nov 30, 2006 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcarter
Thanks for the input, I was sure I had the call correct but i was having a hard time finding it in the rules book. That helps tremendously.

Thank you

jcarter - FYI - Team Control is in 4-12-2 & 3, and Three Seconds is in 9-7-1.

Mregor Sat Dec 02, 2006 08:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jcarter
Situation: A1 in the front court with the ball, A2 is in the paint, where he has been all night pushing a 3 second+ call every time down the court.

Try this...Keep moving RED (or WHITE, GOLD, GREEN...well, you get the point).

Mregor


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1