![]() |
Coach touches ball
HS Scrimmage (I am 'C' opposite table):
Gold steals ball in paint and throws outlet pass down the middle of court. Just past half-court Blue tips ball and ball heads towards Gold bench. Blue player is chasing after ball. Ball bounces and crosses sideline in the mid-air. Gold coach catches ball after it has clearly crossed over sideline. Normal OOB call or should Gold coach/team be penalized? BTW, don't know that it matters, but I have no doubt in my mind that he grabbed the ball on-purpose to prevent any chance of Blue saving the ball. (Gold team is defending state champions and Gold coach is a former CBA player; very basketball savvy) |
I say if blue was close enough to make a play to save it, then warn the coach....other than that, i say gold ball
|
Quote:
|
Warn the coach to not interfere with the ball, and say "BLUE BALL!" Complete the throw in and move on. OH, and it doesn't matter if Larry Bird is the coach, and the team is the defending NBA Champions. Call the game, and apply the rules correctly. If a coach or player thinks that they will get preferential treatment because they are "famous," they are in the WRONG business. Just my take.
|
1-8-1 The officials shall:
ART. 1 . . . Penalize unsporting conduct by any player, coach, substitute, team attendant or follower...The officials may call fouls on either team if its supporters act in such a way as to interfere with the proper conduct of the game. Discretion must be used in calling such fouls, however, lest a team be unjustly penalized. 1-4-19 Foul ART. 14 . . . An unsporting foul is a noncontact technical foul which consists of unfair, unethical, dishonorable conduct or any behavior not in accordance with the spirit of fair play. Being 200% sure about my call, the act putting the other team at an obvious disadvantage, and the large type being key factors. |
Had a game last week where head coach of Team B requested a TO and starting walking onto the floor while one of his players was in the act of shooting a 3; I did not grant the TO; shot missed and the long rebound went right to the coach who as on the floor; he caught it - I blew my whistle and signaled Team A's ball (as if it went out of bounds) and THEN asked if he still wanted the TO. I wasn't going to T 'em since he already was wacked earlier in the game by my partner and it was a 30 point game at the time.
It never crossed my mind to whack 'em in that situation. I guess that falls into the "kill the loser with kindness" category... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
A coach goes <b>onto</b> the court, interferes with and actually <b>stops</b> play, and you <b>ignore</b> it? And the fact that he already has a "T" and you don't want to have to toss him is a factor?:confused: Give me a break!:rolleyes: |
|
Quote:
|
The reason I referenced "state champions" & "former NBA (edited: actually former CBA; only tried out for a couple NBA teams) player" was to address this:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Unless it was obvious (like coach a took a few steps before touching the ball) I have nothing. |
Without seeing it, I'd tell to coach not to interfere and move on.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49pm. |