The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29487-questions.html)

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Art. 13. A player who legally enters the game during a dead ball may leave
the game during that same dead-ball period without penalty.

Ok, I see your point. My reference wasn't the ONLY rule to discuss coming BACK into or out of the game.

But Art. 13 doesn't apply, because it's not the same dead-ball period. He shot two free throws before being subbed out again.

Jay R Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:37am

So you're writing the CABO CIS Men's Exam are you? I have my copy as well. Pick up a rule book instead letting someone else to the work for you.


J

SmokeEater Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:09am

I will have to dissagree with you again Scrapper. Hey your living up to your name....LOL

The clock has not started again, therefore still the same dead ball period.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
The clock has not started again, therefore still the same dead ball period.

The clock status (running / not running) and the ball status (live / dead) are two completely different things. You can have either one without the other. Further, neither affects the play in question.

SmokeEater Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The clock status (running / not running) and the ball status (live / dead) are two completely different things. You can have either one without the other. Further, neither affects the play in question.

True, symantics being everything, I stand corrected. And your position to this would be what Bob / anyone else who has ositioned themselves as enlightened individuals on this board. Not being rude just wondering why not many others have input yet.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
The clock has not started again, therefore still the same dead ball period.

Just to add on to what Bob J said. The ball becomes live when the free throw shooter gets it for the first free throw. The ball becomes dead after the first free throw. It becomes live again when he receives it for the second free throw and becomes dead again after the second free throw. So we actually have 2 live/dead cycles during the stopped-clock interval in question.

But as bob also said, it doesn't really matter for the question. :) Does 3-4-12 prohibit A6 from exiting the game? That's the question. Is there any rule that prohibits A6 from exiting the game? Maybe that's a better question.

SmokeEater Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Just to add on to what Bob J said. The ball becomes live when the free throw shooter gets it for the first free throw. The ball becomes dead after the first free throw. It becomes live again when he receives it for the second free throw and becomes dead again after the second free throw. So we actually have 2 live/dead cycles during the stopped-clock interval in question.

But as bob also said, it doesn't really matter for the question. :) Does 3-4-12 prohibit A6 from exiting the game? That's the question. Is there any rule that prohibits A6 from exiting the game? Maybe that's a better question.

Reference?

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Reference?

For what, Smoke? I'm not understanding your question.

SmokeEater Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:28am

For ball becoming live on Technical Free throws. I can find references for when it does or does not become dead. Nothing about it becoming live on Free throws. I may be missing something here.

nvm, i found it. 6-1-4

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
For ball becoming live on Technical Free throws. I can find references for when it does or does not become dead. Nothing about it becoming live on Free throws. I may be missing something here.

NCAA 6-1-4c. NFHS 6-2c.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 16, 2006 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater
True, symantics being everything, I stand corrected. And your position to this would be what Bob

I guess I thought the question had been reasonably clearly answered. A player can leave the game at almost any time. There are no "the clock must run" restrictions on this (as there are on an individual entering the game).

SmokeEater Thu Nov 16, 2006 02:25pm

Thank You, I agree totally.

jallen Wed Dec 13, 2006 01:38pm

ans
 
In the rules you talk of, any one can shoot technicals
In 2, the answer is no but a warning is given
in 3 yes
in 4 no
in 8 no because he entered the court already


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1