The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Where is the Throw-in? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29479-where-throw.html)

Zoochy Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:32am

Where is the Throw-in?
 
(1) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. A2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while standing completely OOB along the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

(2) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. A2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while 1 foot is touching the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

(3) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. B2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while standing completely OOB along the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

(4) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. B2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while 1 foot is touching the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
(1) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. A2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while standing completely OOB along the sideline. Where is the throw-in?
Where A2 was. A2 violated not A1.

(2) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. A2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while 1 foot is touching the sideline. Where is the throw-in?
Where A2 was. A2 violated not A1.

(3) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. B2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while standing completely OOB along the sideline. Where is the throw-in?
Where B2 was. A1 did not violate.

(4) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. B2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while 1 foot is touching the sideline. Where is the throw-in?
Where B2 was. A1 did not violate.


In the first two cases, the real question is what violation did the player who stepped OOB commit 9-2-10, 9-2-12, or 9-3-2. In the final two cases 9-2-12 wouldn't apply, so the choice would be between the other two. :)

Chess Ref Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:01am

I'll take a shot at this....

1. Throw-in is where A2 caused ball to go OOB.

2. Throw-in is where A2 caused ball to go OOB.

3. Throw-in is where B2 caused ball to go OOB.

4. Throw-in is where B2 caused ball to go OOB.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
(1) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. A2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while standing completely OOB along the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

(2) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. A2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while 1 foot is touching the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

(3) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. B2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while standing completely OOB along the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

(4) A1 has a baseline throw-in near the free throw lane. B2 catches the ball, near midcourt, while 1 foot is touching the sideline. Where is the throw-in?

In all cases, the player catching the throw-in committed a violation under R9-2-10--<i>"No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass".</i>. The penalty for doing so is at the bottom of R9-2--<i>"The ball becomes dead when the violation...occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the <b>original</b> throw-in spot".</i>

Chess Ref Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:40am

After reading the dinosaur's post I change my answer and agree with his ruling......

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
In all cases, the player catching the throw-in committed a violation under R9-2-10--"No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass".. The penalty for doing so is at the bottom of R9-2--"The ball becomes dead when the violation...occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot".

Holy smokes, Batman!!!!!!! An unannounced rule change that has escaped my notice for two entire seasons!!!!

This is crazy. I was sure that I knew the proper application of this rule, so I went and checked my books. Sure enough the NFHS changed the wording in the penalty section in 2004-05 without notice. Furthermore, they reorganized the layout of the entire section (9-2) in the 2005-06 book without comment.

Here is what the penalty section said in 2003-04 prior to the change:
Penalty: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.

Compare that to what JR provided above for the 2006-07 version and you will see the difference. This clearly changes the location of the ensuing throw-in. It appears that I have been unaware that I have been administering this incorrectly for two years now.

rainmaker Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:57am

This is interesting. I would have interpreted this completely wrong, and now that I've looked through all the relevant items, I see the correct way. Thanks for the learning opprotunity. Now I've had my one new thing for the day, and I can go back to being a mindless slug, even at our rules clinic which is this evening!

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:05pm

Juulie,
I think that you should definitely point this out to Howard at your rules clinic. This is something of which the entire association should be made aware. You even have my permission to print out my previous post and show it to him. I'm very interested in what he says. I don't know if the NFHS is even aware of the consequences of their wording change. Did they just make an editorial screw-up or did they really intend to change the rule? I trust that Howard has the proper contacts to get the proper answers.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Juulie,
I think that you should definitely point this out to Howard at your rules clinic. This is something of which the entire association should be made aware. You even have my permission to print out my previous post and show it to him. I'm very interested in what he says. I don't know if the NFHS is even aware of the consequences of their wording change. Did they just make an editorial screw-up or did they really intend to change the rule? I trust that Howard has the proper contacts to get the proper answers.

Nevada, think about it. Everything falls into place now, rules-wise.

Do you consider the status of a player to be the same as where they are standing?
ANSWER:Yup.

What status does a player have when they're standing OOB?
ANSWER: Well...they're OOB.

What happens if a thrower throws a throw-in OOB without it touching a player in-bounds first?
ANSWER: You go back to the original throw-in spot.

Makes sense to me- logically. They're just treating the OOB player as being the same as the floor OOB.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
They're just treating the OOB player as being the same as the floor OOB.

And that works unless the OOB player is on the OPPOSING team! :eek:

The OOB player still caused the ball to go OOB, right? So why are we bringing the ball all the way back down the floor to the original throw-in spot?:confused:

Furthermore, what if the original throw-in was an endline running throw-in instead of a designated-spot one? If A1 makes the throw-in and B1 is the OOB player at the other end of the court who is standing with one foot OOB when he catches the ball, does Team A retain the right to run on the ensuing throw-in per 7-5-7? :confused:

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
And that works unless the OOB player is on the OPPOSING team! :eek:

The OOB player still caused the ball to go OOB, right? So why are we bringing the ball all the way back down the floor to the original throw-in spot?:confused:

Furthermore, what if the original throw-in was an endline running throw-in instead of a designated-spot one? If A1 makes the throw-in and B1 is the OOB player at the other end of the court who is standing with one foot OOB when he catches the ball, does Team A retain the right to run on the ensuing throw-in per 7-5-7? :confused:

:D <i></i>

FishinRef Wed Nov 15, 2006 01:44pm

Quote:

And that works unless the OOB player is on the OPPOSING team!

The OOB player still caused the ball to go OOB, right? So why are we bringing the ball all the way back down the floor to the original throw-in spot?

Furthermore, what if the original throw-in was an endline running throw-in instead of a designated-spot one? If A1 makes the throw-in and B1 is the OOB player at the other end of the court who is standing with one foot OOB when he catches the ball, does Team A retain the right to run on the ensuing throw-in per 7-5-7? :rolleyes:
I would think that A1 would retain the right to run the end line (7-5-7)

kycat1 Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:21pm

Spot throw in
 
This would be a spot throw in because the throw-in ends when the ball is released by A1. So 7-5-7 would not apply any more!:)

just another ref Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:22pm

This is a direct conflict, is it not?

9-2-10 says one thing, but.....

9-3-1: A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.

penalty:.....awarded to the opponents......spot nearest the violation


7-2-2 If the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside a boundary line, such player causes it to go out.



:confused:

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
This would be a spot throw in because the throw-in ends when the ball is released by A1. So 7-5-7 would not apply any more!:)

Much like your misunderstanding of the backcourt play, you are incorrect about when a throw-in ends.

Go read 4-42-5.

kycat1 Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:42pm

Sorry, I read the rule too fast. Yes the COUNT ends when the ball is released and the throw-in ends when the ball is touched by a player either inbounds or out of bounds! So rule 7-5-7 still does not apply!

Thanks for the correction.:)

I am still waiting on a reply from Mary Struckhoff (Editor of NFHS rulebook) on the backcourt rule. Everyone that I have asked (up through the state rules committee) says that my interpretation is correct. We will let Mary decide and if I am wrong I will call that backcourt play as you suggest!:D

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:48pm

Now this is getting ridiculous!!! :mad:

I just discovered that 4-42-5 was changed this season without any notice. Another freakin' unannounced change!!! What is the NFHS doing?

2005-06 Rules Book Version:
RULE 4
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.



2006-07 Rules Book Version:
RULE 4
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, another player who is either inbounds or out of bounds.


I was just about to contend that the most recent wording of the penalty section for 9-2 makes logical sense because the player who touched the ball in these examples was out of bounds thus his touching did not end the throw-in--only a touch by an inbounds player would end the throw-in (in 2005-06). So bringing the ball back to the original spot for the ensuing throw-in was starting to make sense to me. However, now they go and change the rule this year, thus that rationale doesn't work anymore.

ARRRRGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!! :mad:

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kycat1
I am still waiting on a reply from Mary Struckhoff (Editor of NFHS rulebook) on the backcourt rule. Everyone that I have asked (up through the state rules committee) says that my interpretation is correct. We will let Mary decide and if I am wrong I will call that backcourt play as you suggest!:D

Well the way they are going the NFHS might as well just change that rule too and screw me up even more! :confused: :(

My head hurts. Where is that graphic that JR always posts of the smiley face blowing up? :D

rockyroad Wed Nov 15, 2006 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Now this is getting ridiculous!!! :mad:

I just discovered that 4-42-5 was changed this season without any notice. Another freakin' unannounced change!!! What is the NFHS doing?

2005-06 Rules Book Version:
RULE 4
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.



2006-07 Rules Book Version:
RULE 4
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, another player who is either inbounds or out of bounds.


I was just about to contend that the most recent wording of the penalty section for 9-2 makes logical sense because the player who touched the ball in these examples was out of bounds thus his touching did not end the throw-in--only a touch by an inbounds player would end the throw-in (in 2005-06). So bringing the ball back to the original spot for the ensuing throw-in was starting to make sense to me. However, now they go and change the rule this year, thus that rationale doesn't work anymore.

ARRRRGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!! :mad:


If you really want your head to explode - check the wording on all these "unannounced changes" and compare them with the wording in the NCAA rule book...they are making changes that pretty much match the NCAA rules.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
If you really want your head to explode - check the wording on all these "unannounced changes" and compare them with the wording in the NCAA rule book...they are making changes that pretty much match the NCAA rules.

That's fine with me. I believe that the HS and College rules should be the same. It doesn't even bother me that they are making changes. What has me ticked off is that they don't bother to let anyone know that they are doing so. :mad: How are we supposed to keep up with them?

Camron Rust Wed Nov 15, 2006 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Now this is getting ridiculous!!! :mad:

I just discovered that 4-42-5 was changed this season without any notice. Another freakin' unannounced change!!! What is the NFHS doing?

2005-06 Rules Book Version:
RULE 4
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.



2006-07 Rules Book Version:
RULE 4
SECTION 42 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT
ART. 5 . . . The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, another player who is either inbounds or out of bounds.


I was just about to contend that the most recent wording of the penalty section for 9-2 makes logical sense because the player who touched the ball in these examples was out of bounds thus his touching did not end the throw-in--only a touch by an inbounds player would end the throw-in (in 2005-06). So bringing the ball back to the original spot for the ensuing throw-in was starting to make sense to me. However, now they go and change the rule this year, thus that rationale doesn't work anymore.

ARRRRGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!! :mad:

Ignoring the fact that they changed the wording for a second. Why would you even consider bringing the ball back to the original spot when the throwin is first touched by an OOB player? I could see where you're going if that player was on the same team as the thrower...sort of like throwing it directly OOB without being touched....treating it like a throwin violation.

BUT, what if the player that is OOB is on the other team. Who has actually violated? The thrower or the player touching it OOB? Of course you'll agree that it is the player who thouches the ball OOB and that location is the location of the violation (not the throwin spot).

Now, flip the situation back to the teammate of the thrower. The rule makes absolutely no distinction about what team touches the ball OOB. So, the teammate case has the same enforcement as the opponent case.

So, your rationale never worked....unless you were going to give the ball to the defending team when they were able to contact a throwin while OOB. ;)

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Ignoring the fact that they changed the wording for a second. Why would you even consider bringing the ball back to the original spot when the throwin is first touched by an OOB player?

Uh, Camron, because the new wording of the penalty section in 9-2 says to do just that. Did you read this whole thread? JR quoted the ruling.

The OOB player (doesn't matter which team) violated 9-2-10. The penalty clearly states to award the ball to the opponents at the original throw-in spot.

just another ref Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Uh, Camron, because the new wording of the penalty section in 9-2 says to do just that. Did you read this whole thread? JR quoted the ruling.

The OOB player (doesn't matter which team) violated 9-2-10. The penalty clearly states to award the ball to the opponents at the original throw-in spot.


But 9-3 says nearest the violation, so I guess you take your pick. I'm with Camron, I choose 9-3. I think this is an oversight in the book, which hopefully will be addressed in the future.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
BUT, what if the player that is OOB is on the other team. Who has actually violated? The thrower or the player touching it OOB? Of course you'll agree that it is the player who thouches the ball OOB and that location is the location of the violation (not the throwin spot).

I agree with the underlined part. I even can agree with the part in red where you state that the location of the violation is where the OOB player touched the ball. However, according to the new wording of the penalty section of 9-2 it doesn't matter. ALL THROW-IN VIOLATIONS RETURN TO THE ORIGINAL SPOT. In other words, whenever and whereever an article in 9-2 is infringed, the opponent gets the ball back at the original throw-in spot. We no longer award the ball at the nearest OOB spot to the violation. That language was changed.

That is what I was flipping out about back in post #6 of this thread. If you skipped it go read it again.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
But 9-3 says nearest the violation, so I guess you take your pick. I'm with Camron, I choose 9-3. I think this is an oversight in the book, which hopefully will be addressed in the future.

The player may be violating 9-3, but in legalistic terms he also may not be. Here is the mental leap that you have to take.

If this were a normal play during the course of the game, with a live ball that was thrown from inbounds, then only 9-3 would apply to the situation and the ruling would be simple. However, this play clearly occurs DURING A THROW-IN and there are specific provisions that govern the thrown-in. They are listed in 9-2. One of them is 9-2-10.

Now the case could very well be made that during the throw-in those provisions are the ones that have priority and the other rules which may conflict with them are temporarily suspended until the throw-in ends. It is like having a special subset of rules that are only in effect for a very short amount of time. Using that way of thinking the player is not committing an OOB violation per 9-3, rather he is breaking a throw-in rule, specifically 9-2-10, and we need to enforce the penalty for that.

Viewed in that way, there is no conflict between the two rules. 9-3 simply doesn't apply to this situation. It would begin to apply only after the throw-in has ended.

just another ref Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The player may be violating 9-3, but in legalistic terms he also may not be. Here is the mental leap that you have to take.

If this were a normal play during the course of the game, with a live ball that was thrown from inbounds, then only 9-3 would apply to the situation and the ruling would be simple. However, this play clearly occurs DURING A THROW-IN and there are specific provisions that govern the thrown-in. They are listed in 9-2. One of them is 9-2-10.

Now the case could very well be made that during the throw-in those provisions are the ones that have priority and the other rules which may conflict with them are temporarily suspended until the throw-in ends. It is like having a special subset of rules that are only in effect for a very short amount of time. Using that way of thinking the player is not committing an OOB violation per 9-3, rather he is breaking a throw-in rule, specifically 9-2-10, and we need to enforce the penalty for that.

Viewed in that way, there is no conflict between the two rules. 9-3 simply doesn't apply to this situation. It would begin to apply only after the throw-in has ended.


If this was the intent, it would have been easy to list the exception in 9-3.
Since this was not done, it seems to leave the door open to individual interpretation. I believe that in this case 9-3 is the logical answer.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 05:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
If this was the intent, it would have been easy to list the exception in 9-3.
Since this was not done, it seems to leave the door open to individual interpretation. I believe that in this case 9-3 is the logical answer.

So you are going to ignore the rule that is specific to throw-ins in favor of one that is not? I don't believe that Mr. Spock would be happy with you. :)

just another ref Wed Nov 15, 2006 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
So you are going to ignore the rule that is specific to throw-ins in favor of one that is not? I don't believe that Mr. Spock would be happy with you. :)

The Mr. Spock I know says it is more logical to continue to enforce the rule the way it has been since stardate <a long time ago> than it is to change and do something based on a new rule which is not only in conflict with the old, but also, in and of itself, does not make sense.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 15, 2006 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
The Mr. Spock I know says it is more logical to continue to enforce the rule the way it has been since stardate than it is to change and do something based on a new rule which is not only in conflict with the old, but also, in and of itself, does not make sense.

By that logic, you wouldn't enforce any new rule the NFHS wrote. For example, the team control foul.

Look, on the one hand you have a rule that is clearly for throw-ins on the other hand you have a rule that doesn't say that it is for throw-ins. The two conflict. You ask yourself, "Was this a throw-in play?" You certainly answer yes. It looks like you ought to apply the rule for throw-ins.

You don't have to like the new rule, you don't have to believe that it makes sense, but you do have to admit that it is that it is indeed the rule and that it is your job to enforce it.

Camron Rust Thu Nov 16, 2006 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Uh, Camron, because the new wording of the penalty section in 9-2 says to do just that. Did you read this whole thread? JR quoted the ruling.

The OOB player (doesn't matter which team) violated 9-2-10. The penalty clearly states to award the ball to the opponents at the original throw-in spot.

You are correct. I've been pretty busy lately and have read entire threads....I should have on this one.

I can't imagine why this would be the case. It is fully inconsistent with all other OOB situations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1